Skip to content
THORNE Vitamin C 1,000 mg, Ascorbic Acid Supplement, 60 Capsules
Product analysis · Thorne

THORNE Vitamin C 1,000 mg, Ascorbic Acid Supplement, 60 Capsules

Ascorbic acid · Capsule

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
5/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 21/25
$19.00Amazon
CapsuleFormat
1,000 mgDaily dose
60 capsulesPack size
$0.32Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence85/100
21 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality50/100
10 points contributed · weighting 20
Value26/100
5 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose context & clarity45/100
7 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency50/100
5 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency55/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Recognised certification

Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page says: "This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms." NSF registry independently lists "Thorne® Vitamin C 1,000 mg" as a finished product under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF International
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:53

Dose & value

Vitamin C form
Ascorbic acidCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Serving size
1 capsule
Pack size
60 capsules
Servings per day
1
Price per day
$0.32
Price last checked
2026-09-13 09:20:19

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Vitamin C formulation details

Comparison form
Ascorbic acid
Chemical form as disclosed
Ascorbic acid
Vitamin C / serving (mg)
1000
Vitamin C / day (mg)
1000
Pack size as labelled
Not disclosed
Recommended serving / frequency
1 capsule
Comparison basis for a serving range
Not disclosed
Tablets, capsules, gummies, grams or ml / serving
1
Time-release claim (yes / no / unknown)
no
Liposomal claim (yes / no / unknown)
no
Bioflavonoids included / amount
no
Rose hips included / amount
no
Acerola included / amount
no
Zinc included / amount
no
Other active ingredients
Not disclosed
Sugars / sweeteners
Not disclosed
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Vegan

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Not disclosed — check the current label
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Not disclosed — check the current label

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Thorne
Legal company
Not recorded
Manufacturing model
Not recorded
Manufacturing location
Not recorded

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
11/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg (listing detail page id=1415634)
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:22
$0.12per day
$31.19per pack
Compare alternative

Nature Made Chewable Vitamin C 1000 mg per Serving, 90 Tablets, Orange Flavor, 45 Day Supply

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
7/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
4/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made product page states: "USP Verified and from #1 pharmacist recommended vitamin and supplement brand.*" and "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." USP’s own verification program page explains that USP is an independent third-party organization and that through comprehensive auditing, reviewing, and testing it verifies dietary supplements.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
USP
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:23:19
$0.26per day
$11.89per pack
Compare alternative

NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 w/ Rose Hips, Sustained Release, 250 Tabs

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
20/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Canada’s Quality & Safety page states: “Our state-of-the-art, in-house laboratories test everything from raw ingredients to finished products to ensure that what’s on the label is in the bottle or package,” and its Seals & Certifications page states: “NOW® is audited and certified by Intertek as having met the Supplement Safety & Compliance Initiative (SSCI) benchmarks.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:33:13
$0.06per day
$15.67per pack