Skip to content
Stronger today.
Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options.
A healthier you.

Vitamin C Supplements

Compare US vitamin C products by actual daily vitamin C, disclosed form, serving, price and testing status. Understand 1,000 mg doses, liposomal claims and what the evidence says about colds.

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.

20products compared
3forms compared
$0.06 – $0.50per day
3with verified testing evidence

Our Top Picks for Vitamin C

View all Vitamin C products
Best Overall

Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
11/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg (listing detail page id=1415634)
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:22
$0.12per day
$31.19per pack
Best Tested

Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
11/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg (listing detail page id=1415634)
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:22
$0.12per day
$31.19per pack
Cheapest Per Day

NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 w/ Rose Hips, Sustained Release, 250 Tabs

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
20/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Canada’s Quality & Safety page states: “Our state-of-the-art, in-house laboratories test everything from raw ingredients to finished products to ensure that what’s on the label is in the bottle or package,” and its Seals & Certifications page states: “NOW® is audited and certified by Intertek as having met the Supplement Safety & Compliance Initiative (SSCI) benchmarks.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:33:13
$0.06per day
$15.67per pack

Compare Vitamin C Products

20 products

Compare actual vitamin C per daily serving. US adult RDAs: 75 mg for women and 90 mg for men; labeling Daily Value: 90 mg. Adult upper limit: 2,000 mg from all sources. Pregnancy, lactation and smoking change needs. Badges describe total-intake context, not a personal supplement target. Read the dose guide ↓

Vitamin C product comparison
#ProductVitamin C formDaily dosePrice/dayTestingScore
1Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable CapsulesSolgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable Capsules250 capsulesNot disclosedCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.12per day$31.19 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg (listing detail page id=1415634)
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:22
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
11/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
2Nature Made Chewable Vitamin C 1000 mg per Serving, 90 Tablets, Orange Flavor, 45 Day SupplyNature Made Chewable Vitamin C 1000 mg per Serving, 90 Tablets, Orange Flavor, 45 Day SupplyPack count needs reviewNot disclosedTablet1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.26per day$11.89 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made product page states: "USP Verified and from #1 pharmacist recommended vitamin and supplement brand.*" and "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." USP’s own verification program page explains that USP is an independent third-party organization and that through comprehensive auditing, reviewing, and testing it verifies dietary supplements.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
USP
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:23:19
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
7/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
4/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
3THORNE Vitamin C 1,000 mg, Ascorbic Acid Supplement, 60 CapsulesTHORNE Vitamin C 1,000 mg, Ascorbic Acid Supplement, 60 Capsules60 capsulesAscorbic acidCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.32per day$19.00 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page says: "This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms." NSF registry independently lists "Thorne® Vitamin C 1,000 mg" as a finished product under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF International
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:53
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
5/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
4NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 w/ Rose Hips, Sustained Release, 250 TabsNOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 w/ Rose Hips, Sustained Release, 250 Tabs250 tabletsNot disclosedTabletTime-release claimed1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.06per day$15.67 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Canada’s Quality & Safety page states: “Our state-of-the-art, in-house laboratories test everything from raw ingredients to finished products to ensure that what’s on the label is in the bottle or package,” and its Seals & Certifications page states: “NOW® is audited and certified by Intertek as having met the Supplement Safety & Compliance Initiative (SSCI) benchmarks.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:33:13
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
20/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
5NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 with 100 mg of Bioflavonoids, 250 Veg CapsNOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 with 100 mg of Bioflavonoids, 250 Veg Caps250 capsulesNot disclosedCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.07per day$18.50 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Certificate of Analysis page states: "A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:27:55
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
18/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
6Nature Made Vitamin C 500 mg Tablets for Daily Immune Support, 100 Count, 100 Day SupplyNature Made Vitamin C 500 mg Tablets for Daily Immune Support, 100 Count, 100 Day Supply100 tabletsNot disclosedTablet500 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.07per day$6.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
USP Verified Products registry lists "Nature Made Vitamin C 500 Mg Tablets" under Brand: Nature Made and Supplement Type: Vitamin, and the Nature Made quality page states the brand has "third-party verification" from USP.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:36:15
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
19/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
721st Century Vitamin C 1000mg Prolonged Release Tablets, 110 Count21st Century Vitamin C 1000mg Prolonged Release Tablets, 110 Count110 tabletsAscorbic acidTabletTime-release claimed1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.09per day$9.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: “All our raw material vendors go through our strict vendor certification program…” and “Our formulas go through intensive ingredient analysis, material testing and physical trials…” plus the product page says “All of our products undergo rigorous testing…”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:08:29
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
16/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
8Nutricost Vitamin C with Rose Hips 1025mg (1000mg C + 25mg Rose Hips), 240 CapsulesNutricost Vitamin C with Rose Hips 1025mg (1000mg C + 25mg Rose Hips), 240 Capsules240 capsulesNot disclosedCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.07per day$17.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutricost product page states: “Third-Party Tested †” and “Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle. †”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:27:01
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
17/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
9NatureWise Vitamin C 1000mg Capsules – Extra Strength Vegan, USA Manufactured, 120 Capsules, 120-Day SupplyNatureWise Vitamin C 1000mg Capsules – Extra Strength Vegan, USA Manufactured, 120 Capsules, 120-Day Supply120 capsulesNot disclosedCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.09per day$10.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NatureWise product page says “NSF Certified Gluten Free” and “Third Party Tested.” NSF’s public listing page for NatureWise products confirms several NatureWise items are NSF-listed, but not this Vitamin C 1000 mg capsule.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:20:14
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
15/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
4/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
10Ester-C Vitamin C 1000 mg Coated Tablets, 120 CountEster-C Vitamin C 1000 mg Coated Tablets, 120 Count120 tabletsCalcium ascorbateTablet1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.12per day$14.12 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing images/text show an NSF Certified Gluten-Free badge and the text "Solgar's KOF-K certification #k-1250" on the product image, but I did not independently verify a matching certification entry on the certifier's own registry.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:25:19
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
12/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
11NutriFlair Liposomal Vitamin C 1700mg, 180 CapsulesNutriFlair Liposomal Vitamin C 1700mg, 180 Capsules180 capsulesNot disclosedCapsuleLiposomal claimed1,700 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.12per day$20.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NutriFlair product page says: “Our finished products are further tested and certified by a third-party lab for quality, purity, and potency.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:12:48
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
13/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
12Nature Made Extra Strength Vitamin C 1000 mg Tablets, 100 Count, 100 Day SupplyNature Made Extra Strength Vitamin C 1000 mg Tablets, 100 Count, 100 Day Supply100 tabletsNot disclosedTablet1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.10per day$9.50 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:34:48
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
14/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
13SOLARAY Vitamin C 1000 mg, Time Release Capsules with Rose Hips & Acerola, 275 VegCapsSOLARAY Vitamin C 1000 mg, Time Release Capsules with Rose Hips & Acerola, 275 VegCaps275 capsulesNot disclosedCapsuleTime-release claimed1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.13per day$35.29 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon title says "Lab Verified" and Solaray's own Quality page says "We source our own raw materials and triple-test every lot" and "we confirm identity, potency, and purity, and screen for contaminants like heavy metals and pesticides."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:11:52
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
9/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
14Pure Encapsulations Ascorbic Acid Capsules, 1,000 mg Vitamin C, 250 CapsulesPure Encapsulations Ascorbic Acid Capsules, 1,000 mg Vitamin C, 250 Capsules250 capsulesAscorbic acidCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.22per day$54.50 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Pure Encapsulations’ own site says only that products are “high-quality, pure ingredients backed by verifiable science” and NSF shows a GMP facility listing for the company, but I did not find any independent product-level test/certification for this specific Ascorbic Acid product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:21:45
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
8/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
15NATURELO Vitamin C 500 mg, Organic Acerola Cherry Extract + Bioflavonoids, Vegan, 90 CapsulesNATURELO Vitamin C 500 mg, Organic Acerola Cherry Extract + Bioflavonoids, Vegan, 90 Capsules90 capsulesFood-derivedCapsule500 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.28per day$24.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:10:38
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
6/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
16Emergen-C Vitamin C 1000mg Immune Support Powder, Orange, 90 PacketsEmergen-C Vitamin C 1000mg Immune Support Powder, Orange, 90 PacketsPack weight not disclosedNot disclosedPowder1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.37per day$33.72 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer FAQ says: "All EMC products are gluten free... Our products have been tested by an independent third party laboratory that has verified our products to be under 20 parts per millions of gluten and therefore meeting the definition of gluten free."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:14:53
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
4/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
4/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
17Metagenics Ultra Potent-C 1000, Antioxidant Immune Support, 90 TabletsMetagenics Ultra Potent-C 1000, Antioxidant Immune Support, 90 Tablets90 tabletsNot disclosedTablet1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.44per day$39.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Metagenics’ Quality page says: “Our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals, microbial contaminants, pesticides, and more” and “every ingredient and finished product undergoes rigorous testing to ensure it meets our uncompromising standards.” The Ultra Potent-C 1000 product page also says “Ultra Potent-C® 1000 Vitamin C - 9.69% Trust Score - Metagenics,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certification registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:13:36
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
2/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
18nutrazul Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets, Orange Flavor, 60 Count (Pack of 3 x 20)nutrazul Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets, Orange Flavor, 60 Count (Pack of 3 x 20)60 effervescentsNot disclosedEffervescent1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.42per day$24.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:15:53
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
3/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
19SIGNIFY NATURE Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets with Zinc, 20 CountSIGNIFY NATURE Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets with Zinc, 20 Count20 effervescentsNot disclosedEffervescent1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.50per day$9.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
British Vita product page for the same Signify Nature Vitamin C 1000mg + Zinc effervescent tablets says: "MADE IN THE USA, GPM & 3RD PARTY TESTED - PREMIUM QUALITY ASSURANCE: Trust in Signify Nature's commitment to quality. Our Vitamin C with Zinc is crafted in the USA under Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP). Rest easy knowing that our ingredients undergo rigorous Third-Party Testing to ensure the highest standards of purity, quality, and potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:18:04
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
0/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
20Solgar Ester-C Plus 1000 mg Vitamin C (Ascorbate Ester), 60 CapsulesSolgar Ester-C Plus 1000 mg Vitamin C (Ascorbate Ester), 60 Capsules60 capsulesCalcium ascorbateCapsule1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL$0.47per day$28.19 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:23:00
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
1/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
#1

Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg, 250 Vegetable Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
11/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Solgar Vitamin C 1000 mg (listing detail page id=1415634)
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:22
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
250 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.12per day$31.19 per pack
#2

Nature Made Chewable Vitamin C 1000 mg per Serving, 90 Tablets, Orange Flavor, 45 Day Supply

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
7/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
4/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made product page states: "USP Verified and from #1 pharmacist recommended vitamin and supplement brand.*" and "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." USP’s own verification program page explains that USP is an independent third-party organization and that through comprehensive auditing, reviewing, and testing it verifies dietary supplements.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
USP
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:23:19
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
2 tablets
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack count needs review

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.26per day$11.89 per pack
#3

THORNE Vitamin C 1,000 mg, Ascorbic Acid Supplement, 60 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
5/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Ascorbic acidCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page says: "This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms." NSF registry independently lists "Thorne® Vitamin C 1,000 mg" as a finished product under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF International
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:29:53
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.32per day$19.00 per pack
#4

NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 w/ Rose Hips, Sustained Release, 250 Tabs

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
20/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Canada’s Quality & Safety page states: “Our state-of-the-art, in-house laboratories test everything from raw ingredients to finished products to ensure that what’s on the label is in the bottle or package,” and its Seals & Certifications page states: “NOW® is audited and certified by Intertek as having met the Supplement Safety & Compliance Initiative (SSCI) benchmarks.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:33:13
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
250 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.06per day$15.67 per pack
#5

NOW Supplements, Vitamin C-1,000 with 100 mg of Bioflavonoids, 250 Veg Caps

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
18/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods Certificate of Analysis page states: "A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:27:55
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
250 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.07per day$18.50 per pack
#6

Nature Made Vitamin C 500 mg Tablets for Daily Immune Support, 100 Count, 100 Day Supply

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
19/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedTablet
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
USP Verified Products registry lists "Nature Made Vitamin C 500 Mg Tablets" under Brand: Nature Made and Supplement Type: Vitamin, and the Nature Made quality page states the brand has "third-party verification" from USP.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:36:15
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.07per day$6.99 per pack
#7

21st Century Vitamin C 1000mg Prolonged Release Tablets, 110 Count

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
16/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: “All our raw material vendors go through our strict vendor certification program…” and “Our formulas go through intensive ingredient analysis, material testing and physical trials…” plus the product page says “All of our products undergo rigorous testing…”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:08:29
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
110 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.09per day$9.99 per pack
#8

Nutricost Vitamin C with Rose Hips 1025mg (1000mg C + 25mg Rose Hips), 240 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
17/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutricost product page states: “Third-Party Tested †” and “Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle. †”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:27:01
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
240 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.07per day$17.95 per pack
#9

NatureWise Vitamin C 1000mg Capsules – Extra Strength Vegan, USA Manufactured, 120 Capsules, 120-Day Supply

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
15/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
4/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NatureWise product page says “NSF Certified Gluten Free” and “Third Party Tested.” NSF’s public listing page for NatureWise products confirms several NatureWise items are NSF-listed, but not this Vitamin C 1000 mg capsule.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:20:14
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.09per day$10.99 per pack
#10

Ester-C Vitamin C 1000 mg Coated Tablets, 120 Count

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
12/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Calcium ascorbateTablet
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing images/text show an NSF Certified Gluten-Free badge and the text "Solgar's KOF-K certification #k-1250" on the product image, but I did not independently verify a matching certification entry on the certifier's own registry.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:25:19
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.12per day$14.12 per pack
#11

NutriFlair Liposomal Vitamin C 1700mg, 180 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
13/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedCapsuleLiposomal claimed
Daily dose
1,700 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NutriFlair product page says: “Our finished products are further tested and certified by a third-party lab for quality, purity, and potency.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:12:48
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
180 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.12per day$20.99 per pack
#12

Nature Made Extra Strength Vitamin C 1000 mg Tablets, 100 Count, 100 Day Supply

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
14/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:34:48
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.10per day$9.50 per pack
#13

SOLARAY Vitamin C 1000 mg, Time Release Capsules with Rose Hips & Acerola, 275 VegCaps

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
9/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon title says "Lab Verified" and Solaray's own Quality page says "We source our own raw materials and triple-test every lot" and "we confirm identity, potency, and purity, and screen for contaminants like heavy metals and pesticides."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:11:52
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
275 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.13per day$35.29 per pack
#14

Pure Encapsulations Ascorbic Acid Capsules, 1,000 mg Vitamin C, 250 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
8/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Ascorbic acidCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Pure Encapsulations’ own site says only that products are “high-quality, pure ingredients backed by verifiable science” and NSF shows a GMP facility listing for the company, but I did not find any independent product-level test/certification for this specific Ascorbic Acid product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:21:45
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
250 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.22per day$54.50 per pack
#15

NATURELO Vitamin C 500 mg, Organic Acerola Cherry Extract + Bioflavonoids, Vegan, 90 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
6/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Food-derivedCapsule
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:10:38
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.28per day$24.95 per pack
#16

Emergen-C Vitamin C 1000mg Immune Support Powder, Orange, 90 Packets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
4/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
4/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedPowder
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer FAQ says: "All EMC products are gluten free... Our products have been tested by an independent third party laboratory that has verified our products to be under 20 parts per millions of gluten and therefore meeting the definition of gluten free."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:14:53
Formulation & serving details
Format
Powder
Serving
1 packet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack weight not disclosed

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.37per day$33.72 per pack
#17

Metagenics Ultra Potent-C 1000, Antioxidant Immune Support, 90 Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
2/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Metagenics’ Quality page says: “Our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals, microbial contaminants, pesticides, and more” and “every ingredient and finished product undergoes rigorous testing to ensure it meets our uncompromising standards.” The Ultra Potent-C 1000 product page also says “Ultra Potent-C® 1000 Vitamin C - 9.69% Trust Score - Metagenics,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certification registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:13:36
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.44per day$39.95 per pack
#18

nutrazul Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets, Orange Flavor, 60 Count (Pack of 3 x 20)

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
3/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedEffervescent
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:15:53
Formulation & serving details
Format
Effervescent
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 effervescents

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.42per day$24.99 per pack
#19

SIGNIFY NATURE Vitamin C 1000mg Effervescent Tablets with Zinc, 20 Count

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
0/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
3/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Not disclosedEffervescent
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
British Vita product page for the same Signify Nature Vitamin C 1000mg + Zinc effervescent tablets says: "MADE IN THE USA, GPM & 3RD PARTY TESTED - PREMIUM QUALITY ASSURANCE: Trust in Signify Nature's commitment to quality. Our Vitamin C with Zinc is crafted in the USA under Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP). Rest easy knowing that our ingredients undergo rigorous Third-Party Testing to ensure the highest standards of purity, quality, and potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:18:04
Formulation & serving details
Format
Effervescent
Serving
1 tablet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
20 effervescents

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.50per day$9.99 per pack
#20

Solgar Ester-C Plus 1000 mg Vitamin C (Ascorbate Ester), 60 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
1/20
Dose context & clarity
7/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
6/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vitamin C form
Calcium ascorbateCapsule
Daily dose
1,000 mgAbove US RDAs · below UL
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 07:23:00
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.47per day$28.19 per pack

One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.

Vitamin C forms & claims explained

Separate the ingredient from delivery and marketing claims. Unknown form remains unknown; do not fill a gap from the product title.

Ascorbic acid

Standard vitamin C

Compare
Actual vitamin C in mg
Check
Complete serving

NIH ODS describes supplemental ascorbic acid as having equivalent bioavailability to naturally occurring food vitamin C.

Buffered vitamin C

Mineral ascorbates

Examples
Calcium or sodium ascorbate
Also check
Additional mineral amounts

A buffered claim does not remove dose-related safety considerations or establish better health outcomes.

Liposomal vitamin C

Delivery claim

Compare
Vitamin C, not total blend mass
Evidence
Product and outcome specific

A study of absorption is not proof that every liposomal product prevents more illness. See the evidence section.

Time-release vitamin C

Release claim

Check
Recorded serving and instructions
Do not infer
Longer protection from illness

The term describes an intended delivery pattern. It does not establish a clinical advantage in this comparison.

Bioflavonoids, rose hips and acerola

Additional ingredients

Compare
Declared vitamin C amount
Separate
Other plant or extract weights

A 1,025 mg headline may combine 1,000 mg vitamin C with 25 mg rose hips. Read each amount separately.

Vitamin C dosage: US RDAs and 1,000 mg products

NIH ODS reference tables give adult RDAs of 90 mg for men and 75 mg for women; pregnancy uses 85 mg and lactation 120 mg. People who smoke need 35 mg more per day. The labeling Daily Value is 90 mg.

Amount Adult comparison context
75–90 mg RDA scale; the exact requirement depends on life stage and smoking.
1,000 mg Above the adult RDAs, below the UL when considered alone.
2,000 mg Adult upper limit from food and supplements combined; not a target.

The table badges compare the product’s daily serving with total-intake references. Include other supplements and food when assessing your intake. Children have different limits; this is an adult comparison.

Vitamin C benefits and liposomal claims

MedlinePlus describes vitamin C’s roles in collagen formation, wound repair and iron absorption. Those nutritional functions do not establish that a high-dose capsule improves skin appearance in someone with adequate intake. Topical serums are different products with different evidence.

Liposomal versus regular vitamin C

A US trial from Colorado State University found greater circulating vitamin C after its liposomal formulation than after unencapsulated oral vitamin C, but similar protection in an experimental ischemia–reperfusion measure. It was not a trial of fewer colds or better skin. The study disclosed industry funding and a commercial interest.

Match a claim to the actual product

The formulation, dose and outcome need to match. A delivery claim in an Amazon title does not verify the contents of the bottle or transfer a study result to every brand.

Vitamin C evidence by goal

Evidence by goal
GoalEvidence strengthWhat was assessedTypical study contextMain limitation
Adequate nutrition / deficiencyEstablished roleVitamin C intakeDiet or an appropriate supplementNot a high-dose optimization target
Preventing ordinary coldsNo prevention benefit for most peopleRegular supplemental vitamin CPopulation and conditions matterImmune support is not prevention proof
Shortening a coldSmall benefit with regular useStudies differ in doseStarting after symptoms is differentNot a cure or reason to megadose
Liposomal deliverySome absorption evidenceSpecific studied formulationsSurrogate outcomesBetter clinical outcomes not established here
Skin and collagen claimsNutritional role is establishedOral intake differs from serum useBaseline intake mattersDo not transfer topical claims
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail

NCCIH reports that regular vitamin C does not prevent colds in most people, though it may shorten them slightly. Starting only after symptoms appear has not shown a consistent benefit. Findings in people under extreme physical stress do not establish a general megadose recommendation.

When to take vitamin C

Use the label instructions

Choose a consistent routine that fits the product. This comparison does not establish that morning, night or fasting is best. If a product causes stomach discomfort, reassess the dose and discuss persistent symptoms.

Powders and effervescents

Use the specified measure or packet and dilution instructions. Check serving count, added sodium, sugars and sweeteners rather than assuming every dissolved product is equivalent.

Vitamin C side effects and excessive intake

Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Vitamin C - see the full detail below for why.
  • Kidney disease, recurrent kidney stones or known high urinary oxalate
  • Hemochromatosis or another iron-overload condition
  • Cancer treatment, several high-dose supplements or persistent gastrointestinal symptoms

NIH ODS identifies diarrhea, nausea and stomach cramps with excessive intake. Chronic high doses can worsen iron overload in hereditary hemochromatosis. Kidney conditions warrant individualized advice.

A 1,700 mg product leaves only 300 mg before the adult UL is reached from all other sources. Being below the UL does not guarantee freedom from side effects. Check combined intake; do not double a serving just because you feel a cold starting.

Vitamin C, iron and medicines

NIH ODS advises people receiving chemotherapy or radiation to discuss antioxidant supplements with their oncology team. Interactions are treatment-specific; a supplement should not be added as a cancer treatment.

MedlinePlus explains that vitamin C helps absorb nonheme iron. That is not a reason to add iron without an indication. Read iron, zinc and other ingredients separately in “immune” blends.

Food sources and low-intake risk

MedlinePlus lists fruit and vegetables such as citrus, peppers, broccoli and berries as sources. Prolonged very low intake can cause scurvy; unusual bleeding gums, bruising or poor healing need assessment rather than an assumed supplement diagnosis.

NIH ODS identifies smoking, restricted food variety and some medical conditions as reasons intake or status may need attention. Food access and tolerability matter more than a “for men” or “for women” label.

Vitamin C labels and quality checks

Testing review pending means the detailed product evidence review is unfinished. While testing is pending, it is excluded and the score is provisional. It does not mean a product failed testing or that no evidence exists.

FDA does not approve supplements for safety and effectiveness before sale. Check the exact product and lot behind a quality claim.

A useful report identifies the product, batch, laboratory, date, methods and results. Ingredient identity, measured content and contaminant testing answer different questions. A raw-material certificate is not automatically evidence for the bottle you buy. See how we verify testing.

Look for measured vitamin C content for the finished product. A plant extract’s weight or a liposomal blend’s weight cannot substitute for the actual nutrient amount. Check allergens and added ingredients, especially in powders and effervescents.

Vitamin C blood tests: when results need context

Mayo Clinic Laboratories uses plasma ascorbic acid testing to investigate deficiency. Its current reference interval is 0.4–2.0 mg/dL; this is that laboratory’s interval, not a universal target.

Preparation affects the result

Mayo requires a fasting specimen and special sample handling. Recent vitamin intake can increase the measured concentration. Follow your own laboratory’s instructions and disclose supplements.

A test needs a clinical question

Interpret the result with symptoms, diet and the supplied range. This page does not recommend routine vitamin C screening or repeated tests to chase a higher number.

Testing evidence in this comparison

A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.

Testing review pending0
Recognised certification3
Verified independent evidence0
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed12
No public evidence located5

What does vitamin c cost?

Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.

$0.06Lowest daily cost
$0.13Median daily cost
$0.50Highest daily cost

Price insights

Shown only where the underlying product data is reliable.

Buffered
$0.12/day
Lowest daily cost: bufferedEster-C Vitamin C 1000 mg Coated Tablets, 120 Count

Your questions, answered

Can I take 1,000 mg vitamin C every day?

It is well above adult RDAs but below the UL by itself. Need, total intake and tolerability still matter; see US dose context.

Does vitamin C prevent colds?

Regular supplements do not prevent colds in most people. See the cold evidence.

Is liposomal vitamin C better?

Absorption findings do not automatically establish better health outcomes. See the study and its limits.

Is buffered vitamin C safer at high doses?

A buffered claim does not remove upper-limit or medical considerations. See buffered forms.

Should I take vitamin C with iron?

It can support nonheme iron absorption, but iron should have a reason for use. See combinations and interactions.

Do skin-serum studies prove benefits from vitamin C tablets?

No. Topical and oral products need their own evidence; see benefit context.

Sources & methodology

Read our methodology and how we verify testing.

Page updated12 Sep 2026
Editorial review2026-09-13
Product evidenceSee individual records