Skip to content
Stronger today.
Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options.
A healthier you.

Magnesium Supplements

Compare US magnesium supplements by form, elemental daily dose, price and testing status. Understand glycinate versus citrate, sleep evidence and the US supplemental upper limit.

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.

16products compared
10forms compared
$0.06 – $1.31per day
1with verified testing evidence

Our Top Picks for Magnesium

View all Magnesium products
Best Overall

Pure Encapsulations Magnesium Glycinate 120mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Certificate of Analysis for "Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate)" showing Report Number 4321342-0, Report Date 14-Dec-2023, and testing by Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison / Food Integrity Innovation-Madison; result: Magnesium 121 mg/serving.
Laboratory
Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
50331761
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:32:55
Active form
Glycinate
Daily dose
120 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
$0.30per day
$27.00per pack
Best Tested

Pure Encapsulations Magnesium Glycinate 120mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Certificate of Analysis for "Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate)" showing Report Number 4321342-0, Report Date 14-Dec-2023, and testing by Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison / Food Integrity Innovation-Madison; result: Magnesium 121 mg/serving.
Laboratory
Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
50331761
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:32:55
Active form
Glycinate
Daily dose
120 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
$0.30per day
$27.00per pack
Cheapest Per Day

Vitamatic Magnesium Citrate 500mg per Serving – 180 Vegetarian Capsules (Provides 150 mg Elemental) – Added B6

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Vitamatic product page use marketing-only language such as "Lab Tested" and "GMP" / "Made in a GMP-compliant Facility," but I found no independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:34:25
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
150 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
$0.06per day
$9.99per pack

Compare Magnesium Products

16 products

Compare elemental magnesium, not compound weight. A 1,420 mg bisglycinate compound can supply 200 mg elemental magnesium. The rest is the accompanying compound. Use the declared elemental amount; do not infer it from a generic conversion percentage. Read the dose guide ↓

Magnesium product comparison
#ProductActive formDaily dosePrice/dayTestingScore
1Pure Encapsulations Magnesium Glycinate 120mgPure Encapsulations90 capsulesGlycinate120 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.30per day$27.00 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Certificate of Analysis for "Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate)" showing Report Number 4321342-0, Report Date 14-Dec-2023, and testing by Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison / Food Integrity Innovation-Madison; result: Magnesium 121 mg/serving.
Laboratory
Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
50331761
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:32:55
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
2NOW Supplements, Magnesium Citrate, Enzyme Function, 120 Veg CapsNOW FoodsPack count needs reviewCitrate400 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.21per day$8.21 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW’s own product imagery says: “Intertek GMP certification means that every aspect of the NOW supplement manufacturing process has been audited, including our laboratory/testing methods (for stability, potency, and product formulation).” The product page also shows: “This bottle is made from 100% PCR (post-consumer recycled) resin.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:36:16
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
3Vitamatic Magnesium Citrate 500mg per Serving – 180 Vegetarian Capsules (Provides 150 mg Elemental) – Added B6Vitamatic180 capsulesCitrate150 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.06per day$9.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Vitamatic product page use marketing-only language such as "Lab Tested" and "GMP" / "Made in a GMP-compliant Facility," but I found no independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:34:25
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
4KAL Magnesium Glycinate with BioPerineKAL240 capsulesBisglycinate200 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.22per day$13.29 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "Every batch third-party tested for purity and potency. What you read on the label is what is in the tub." Product page also says "UK made, batch tested" and "Certified facilities, every batch."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:28:20
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
5Doctor’s Best Magnesium Glycinate Lysinate 200mgDoctor’s Best240 tabletsGlycinateAlbion TRAACS200 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.20per day$23.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:40:47
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
6VIVI Youth Magnesium Citrate 230mg Elemental 120 Capsules, 60-Day SupplyVIVI YouthPack count needs reviewCitrate230 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.10per day$5.98 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page says "Lab Tested" and the Vitacost listing says "GMP Quality Assured" / "Made With B6 & Oxide" for Vitamatic, Magnesium Citrate with B6, 180 Vegetarian Capsules, but I found no independently verifiable third-party lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:38:33
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
7Nature Made Magnesium Citrate 250mg SoftgelsNature Made120 softgelsCitrate250 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.29per day$17.33 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made says many products are “verified by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP), an independent organization that sets rigorous standards for purity, potency, and manufacturing,” and that products meeting USP standards display the USP seal.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:39:19
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
8Life Extension Magnesium Caps 500mgLife Extension100 capsulesOxideCitrateOxide, Citrate, Succinate500 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.35per day$34.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Life Extension says: "We are happy to provide a summary of the reports we receive from the contract manufacturers and the independent laboratories that test both our raw materials and final products. We can do this for every supplement, from our best-sellers down to our niche formulations."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:34:16
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
9NatureBell Pure Magnesium Glycinate 500mg Per Serving (90mg Elemental), 240 Veggie CapsulesNatureBell240 capsulesGlycinate90 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.08per day$19.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NatureBell product page says the product is "3rd party lab tested for safety and potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:35:21
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
10NOW Foods Magnesium Citrate 400mgNOW Foods240 capsulesCitrate400 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.29per day$23.19 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:41:35
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
11Natural Vitality Calm Magnesium Citrate PowderNatural VitalityPack weight not disclosedCitratefrom magnesium carbonate + citric acid325 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.72per day$35.79 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says "TESTED FOR QUALITY" and "Every Natural Vitality product is produced under strict cGMP protocols established by the FDA. Our comprehensive quality control system monitors each production phase to ensure consistent excellence."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:31:58
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
12Garden of Life Dr. Formulated Whole Food Magnesium PowderGarden of LifePack weight not disclosedWhole-food chelate (organic brown rice protein magnesium chelate)350 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.29per day$24.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
NSF International public dietary supplement listings show Garden of Life magnesium powder products, including "Garden of Life Magnesium Raspberry" and "Garden of Life Magnesium Orange," under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:30:33
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
13Jarrow Formulas MagMind Magnesium L-ThreonateJarrow Formulas90 capsulesL-ThreonateMagtein144 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$1.31per day$39.31 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:37:25
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
14Nature’s Bounty Magnesium 500mgNature’s Bounty100 tabletsOxide500 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.10per day$10.16 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:36:38
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
15Magnesium Citrate 800mg, 112mg Elemental, Regularity + Sleep, 180 CapsulesDouble Wood SupplementsPack count needs reviewCitrate112 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.17per day$14.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:39:42
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
16Nested Naturals Magnesium Glycinate ChelateNested Naturals120 capsulesGlycinateAlbion TRAACS buffered100 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)$0.49per day$29.56 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:29:15
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
#1

Pure Encapsulations Magnesium Glycinate 120mg

Pure Encapsulations

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Glycinate
Daily dose
120 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Certificate of Analysis for "Pure Encapsulations Magnesium (glycinate)" showing Report Number 4321342-0, Report Date 14-Dec-2023, and testing by Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison / Food Integrity Innovation-Madison; result: Magnesium 121 mg/serving.
Laboratory
Eurofins Food Chemistry Testing Madison
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
50331761
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:32:55
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule with meals (up to 4)
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.30per day$27.00 per pack
#2

NOW Supplements, Magnesium Citrate, Enzyme Function, 120 Veg Caps

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
400 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW’s own product imagery says: “Intertek GMP certification means that every aspect of the NOW supplement manufacturing process has been audited, including our laboratory/testing methods (for stability, potency, and product formulation).” The product page also shows: “This bottle is made from 100% PCR (post-consumer recycled) resin.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:36:16
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
3 capsules
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack count needs review

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.21per day$8.21 per pack
#3

Vitamatic Magnesium Citrate 500mg per Serving – 180 Vegetarian Capsules (Provides 150 mg Elemental) – Added B6

Vitamatic

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
150 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Vitamatic product page use marketing-only language such as "Lab Tested" and "GMP" / "Made in a GMP-compliant Facility," but I found no independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:34:25
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
180 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.06per day$9.99 per pack
#4

KAL Magnesium Glycinate with BioPerine

KAL

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Bisglycinate
Daily dose
200 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "Every batch third-party tested for purity and potency. What you read on the label is what is in the tub." Product page also says "UK made, batch tested" and "Certified facilities, every batch."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:28:20
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
4 capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
240 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.22per day$13.29 per pack
#5

Doctor’s Best Magnesium Glycinate Lysinate 200mg

Doctor’s Best

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
GlycinateAlbion TRAACS
Daily dose
200 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:40:47
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
2 tablets daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
240 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.20per day$23.99 per pack
#6

VIVI Youth Magnesium Citrate 230mg Elemental 120 Capsules, 60-Day Supply

VIVI Youth

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
230 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page says "Lab Tested" and the Vitacost listing says "GMP Quality Assured" / "Made With B6 & Oxide" for Vitamatic, Magnesium Citrate with B6, 180 Vegetarian Capsules, but I found no independently verifiable third-party lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:38:33
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack count needs review

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.10per day$5.98 per pack
#7

Nature Made Magnesium Citrate 250mg Softgels

Nature Made

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
250 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made says many products are “verified by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP), an independent organization that sets rigorous standards for purity, potency, and manufacturing,” and that products meeting USP standards display the USP seal.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:39:19
Formulation & serving details
Format
Softgel
Serving
2 softgels daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 softgels

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.29per day$17.33 per pack
#8

Life Extension Magnesium Caps 500mg

Life Extension

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
OxideCitrateOxide, Citrate, Succinate
Daily dose
500 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Life Extension says: "We are happy to provide a summary of the reports we receive from the contract manufacturers and the independent laboratories that test both our raw materials and final products. We can do this for every supplement, from our best-sellers down to our niche formulations."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:34:16
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily (1-3/day suggested)
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.35per day$34.99 per pack
#9

NatureBell Pure Magnesium Glycinate 500mg Per Serving (90mg Elemental), 240 Veggie Capsules

NatureBell

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Glycinate
Daily dose
90 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NatureBell product page says the product is "3rd party lab tested for safety and potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:35:21
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
240 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.08per day$19.95 per pack
#10

NOW Foods Magnesium Citrate 400mg

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
400 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:41:35
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
3 veg capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
240 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.29per day$23.19 per pack
#11

Natural Vitality Calm Magnesium Citrate Powder

Natural Vitality

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citratefrom magnesium carbonate + citric acid
Daily dose
325 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says "TESTED FOR QUALITY" and "Every Natural Vitality product is produced under strict cGMP protocols established by the FDA. Our comprehensive quality control system monitors each production phase to ensure consistent excellence."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:31:58
Formulation & serving details
Format
Powder
Serving
1 serving (2 tsp) in water daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack weight not disclosed

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.72per day$35.79 per pack
#12

Garden of Life Dr. Formulated Whole Food Magnesium Powder

Garden of Life

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Whole-food chelate (organic brown rice protein magnesium chelate)
Daily dose
350 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
NSF International public dietary supplement listings show Garden of Life magnesium powder products, including "Garden of Life Magnesium Raspberry" and "Garden of Life Magnesium Orange," under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:30:33
Formulation & serving details
Format
Powder
Serving
1 tsp daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack weight not disclosed

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.29per day$24.99 per pack
#13

Jarrow Formulas MagMind Magnesium L-Threonate

Jarrow Formulas

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
L-ThreonateMagtein
Daily dose
144 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:37:25
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
3 capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$1.31per day$39.31 per pack
#14

Nature’s Bounty Magnesium 500mg

Nature’s Bounty

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Oxide
Daily dose
500 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:36:38
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.10per day$10.16 per pack
#15

Magnesium Citrate 800mg, 112mg Elemental, Regularity + Sleep, 180 Capsules

Double Wood Supplements

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
Citrate
Daily dose
112 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:39:42
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules (400mg each)
Servings/day
1
Pack size
Pack count needs review

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.17per day$14.95 per pack
#16

Nested Naturals Magnesium Glycinate Chelate

Nested Naturals

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Active form
GlycinateAlbion TRAACS buffered
Daily dose
100 mgBelow recommended rangeRecommended: 310–420 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:29:15
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.49per day$29.56 per pack

One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.

Magnesium forms explained

The current US set contains citrate and glycinate. Other forms below provide label context, not a ranking of unlisted products. The evidence section links to the supporting US sources.

Citrate

Magnesium salt

On the label
Read the elemental amount
Different use
Also sold as a laxative medicine

A supplement capsule and a bowel-preparation liquid are different products; follow the correct instructions.

Bisglycinate (Glycinate)

A glycine-associated form

Label terminology
Glycinate and bisglycinate commonly appear
Check blends
Read all named magnesium ingredients

Do not assume a sleep or gentle-on-stomach claim establishes superiority for every product.

Oxide

Magnesium salt

Compare
Elemental amount per serving
Evidence context
Absorption differs between salts

High compound magnesium content does not itself establish high absorbed intake.

L-Threonate

Another magnesium form

Read both figures
Compound mass and elemental magnesium
Current coverage
Not represented in the US comparison

A brain-health label alone does not establish better clinical outcomes than other forms.

Malate

A malic-acid-associated form

Compare
Declared elemental amount
Current coverage
Not represented in the US comparison

Do not infer an energy or muscle benefit from the form name.

Taurate

A taurine-associated form

Compare
Elemental magnesium and other actives
Current coverage
Not represented in the US comparison

A heart-health claim needs its own evidence.

Hydroxide

Magnesium salt also used in medicines

Check
Supplement Facts versus Drug Facts
Use
Follow the specific product instructions

Do not copy a laxative or antacid serving into a daily supplement routine.

Magnesium dosage: read the elemental amount

NIH ODS lists these US RDAs: total intake from food and supplements, not a supplement prescription.

Adults Men Women
19–30 years 400 mg/day 310 mg/day
31 years and older 420 mg/day 320 mg/day

During pregnancy the adult RDA is 350 mg at ages 19–30 and 360 mg at ages 31–50. Lactation uses the corresponding nonpregnant adult amounts. These references differ from the 420 mg labeling Daily Value.

The 350 mg distinction

The adult upper limit is 350 mg/day from supplements and medications; it excludes naturally occurring food magnesium. The table’s 200–400 mg context badge is not this limit. A 400 mg supplement can receive that badge while exceeding the US limit. NIH safety guidance.

Compound weight versus elemental dose

Use the magnesium amount in Supplement Facts. In the current data, one product headlines 800 mg citrate but declares 112 mg elemental magnesium. Compare the 112 mg amount; do not add the two numbers. A blend total cannot establish an individual form’s share.

Magnesium glycinate vs citrate, oxide and threonate

NIH ODS reports that citrate and some other soluble forms tend to be absorbed more completely than oxide. Absorption findings do not establish one best treatment for sleep or anxiety.

The glycinate card explains the naming. The five US rows do not provide a direct retail comparison with threonate or oxide. An absent form should not be treated as a tested loser. Match the full serving and any additional active ingredients before comparing price.

Magnesium benefits: sleep, cramps and anxiety

Evidence by goal
GoalEvidence strengthWhat was assessedTypical study contextMain limitation
SleepUncertainDifferent preparationsSmall or low-quality studiesNo universal best form or bedtime dose
Night leg crampsGenerally little short-course benefitDifferent preparationsClinical reviews; some conflicting longer findingsNot proof that every cramp is a deficiency
ConstipationA distinct medicinal useMagnesium citrateLaxative directionsNot the same as routine nutrition support
Anxiety or brain performanceNo ranking established hereNo product-specific proofClaims need separate clinical evidenceA form name or nutrient role is insufficient
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail

Sleep

NCCIH finds insufficient rigorous evidence to establish magnesium for sleep disorders. This includes popular “sleepy girl mocktail” claims; a bedtime drink is not a validated treatment.

Cramps

American Family Physician finds little support for short courses for night cramps, with limited conflicting longer-course evidence. Pregnancy and unexplained cramps require their own context.

Constipation is a different question

MedlinePlus describes magnesium citrate as a saline laxative, including use before procedures. Its drug instructions should not be generalized to the nutritional supplements above.

When to take magnesium: morning or before bed?

The sleep evidence does not establish one ideal number of minutes before bed. Choose a practical schedule consistent with the label and medication-spacing advice. A form’s marketing name does not determine its best time of day.

Follow the correct instructions

Read capsule, powder and medicinal-liquid directions separately. Measure the complete serving and avoid substituting one scoop or capful from a different product.

Do not stack bedtime products blindly

Check magnesium already present in multivitamins, electrolyte mixes, antacids and laxatives. Include those sources when discussing total supplemental intake with a clinician.

Magnesium side effects and safe-dose context

Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Magnesium - see the full detail below for why.
  • Kidney disease or reduced kidney function
  • Medicines that interact with magnesium or affect its level
  • Pregnancy, persistent bowel symptoms or a clinician-directed high-dose regimen

NIH ODS describes diarrhea, nausea and abdominal cramping with high supplemental intakes. Extremely high amounts can have serious effects; impaired kidney function increases concern about magnesium accumulation. A lower dose may still cause symptoms, and a green comparison pill is not a safety certificate.

For laxative use, MedlinePlus advises medical attention to persistent bowel changes and kidney disease. Do not use this table to design bowel preparation or treat repeated unexplained symptoms.

Magnesium interactions, vitamin D and zinc

NIH ODS identifies interactions with tetracycline/quinolone antibiotics and oral bisphosphonates; diuretics and proton-pump inhibitors can affect magnesium status. Ask a pharmacist for spacing specific to your medicine.

Vitamin D, zinc or B6 in a combination is an additional ingredient to assess, not an automatic benefit. Include duplicates from other products. The comparison records disclosed amounts and does not assume an unspecified blend provides a useful dose.

Magnesium foods and who may need more attention

NIH ODS identifies nuts, seeds, legumes, whole grains and leafy greens as useful food sources. Older adults, people with gastrointestinal disease or type 2 diabetes, and those with long-term alcohol dependence can be at greater risk of inadequate status.

Low food intake, a blood-test abnormality and symptoms such as poor sleep are different starting points. Review the likely cause instead of assuming a high-dose supplement is the answer. This is an adult comparison; children’s needs and limits differ.

How we assess magnesium quality

Testing review pending means the detailed product evidence review is unfinished. While testing is pending, it is excluded and the score is provisional. It does not mean a product failed testing or that no evidence exists.

FDA does not approve supplements for safety and effectiveness before sale. Check the exact product and lot behind a quality claim.

A useful report identifies the product, batch, laboratory, date, methods and results. Ingredient identity, measured content and contaminant testing answer different questions. A raw-material certificate is not automatically evidence for the bottle you buy. See how we verify testing.

For magnesium, verify the elemental amount and serving size, each named salt in a blend, and any additional active ingredients. A certificate showing compound weight alone cannot establish the elemental dose on the label.

Magnesium deficiency and blood testing

MedlinePlus explains that blood magnesium can be normal despite low body stores. Results need medical history and other tests; they are not a direct measurement of every tissue.

Use your laboratory’s report

US reports may use mg/dL or mmol/L. Read the reported unit and interval together. Do not compare a number to a range copied from another unit system.

A result does not pick a form

An abnormal result cannot tell you which retail glycinate or citrate product to buy. Discuss kidney function, medicines and the possible cause with your clinician; do not infer a dose from symptoms alone.

Testing evidence in this comparison

A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.

Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence1
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed8
No public evidence located7

What does magnesium cost?

Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.

$0.06Lowest daily cost
$0.26Median daily cost
$1.31Highest daily cost

Your questions, answered

Is glycinate better than citrate for sleep?

The available US evidence summaries do not establish a universal winner. See sleep evidence.

Is 400 mg magnesium safe every day?

The US adult upper limit from supplements and medications is 350 mg/day. A 400 mg product exceeds it even if the table badge shows a common range. See dose context.

Why does a 500 mg product provide less magnesium?

The headline may be compound weight. Use elemental magnesium in Supplement Facts; see label arithmetic.

Can I use citrate for constipation?

Medicinal citrate has separate instructions and cautions. Read the laxative distinction and the actual drug label.

How long before bed should I take it?

No universal timing window is established here. See timing and medication spacing.

Does magnesium help night cramps?

Evidence is generally unconvincing for short courses, with some conflicting longer-course findings. See the clinical review.

Can a normal blood test rule out low magnesium stores?

Not by itself. See test limitations.

Sources & methodology

Read our methodology and how we verify testing.

Page updated11 Sep 2026
Editorial review2026-09-13
Product evidenceSee individual records