Skip to content
Stronger today.
Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options.
A healthier you.

Ashwagandha Supplements

Compare US ashwagandha products by actual extract, daily dose, price and testing status. Understand KSM-66 and Sensoril labels, stress and sleep evidence, and safety considerations.

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.

18products compared
2forms compared
$0.06 – $1.00per day
1with verified testing evidence

Our Top Picks for Ashwagandha

View all Ashwagandha products
Best Overall

NatureWise Ashwagandha for Stress (KSM-66 blend)

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Product page states: 'Every batch of Ashwagandha KSM-66® is independently tested by a third-party laboratory...' and the downloadable Certificate of Analysis names AGROLAB LUFA GmbH and says the sample code 'Ashwagandha KSM-66' was examined for the listed parameters.
Laboratory
AGROLAB LUFA GmbH
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:21:17
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
$0.38per day
$22.99per pack
Best Tested

NatureWise Ashwagandha for Stress (KSM-66 blend)

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Product page states: 'Every batch of Ashwagandha KSM-66® is independently tested by a third-party laboratory...' and the downloadable Certificate of Analysis names AGROLAB LUFA GmbH and says the sample code 'Ashwagandha KSM-66' was examined for the listed parameters.
Laboratory
AGROLAB LUFA GmbH
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:21:17
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
$0.38per day
$22.99per pack
Cheapest Per Day

Horbaach Ashwagandha Max Strength

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says: "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC: Our product has gone through rigorous checks and has been thoroughly tested to acquire all necessary approvals to be certified Organic by the prestigious Soil Association." Horbaach's own site also says: "We put our products to the test..." and "test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards," but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certificate/registry entry or COA for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:22:25
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
4,500 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
$0.06per day
$7.79per pack

Compare Ashwagandha Products

18 products

Compare actual extract mass and disclosed withanolides. Raw-herb equivalents are marketing figures, not interchangeable extract doses. Daily amounts use the recorded label serving. Badges use extract-specific study ranges where available; otherwise they compare actual extract mass with a 250–600 mg/day reference. That numerical reference does not establish equivalent effects between extracts. Read the dose guide ↓

Ashwagandha product comparison
#ProductExtract / typeDaily doseWithanolides/dayPrice/dayTestingScore
1NatureWise Ashwagandha for Stress (KSM-66 blend)NatureWise60 capsulesKSM-66 · Root only600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.38per day$22.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Product page states: 'Every batch of Ashwagandha KSM-66® is independently tested by a third-party laboratory...' and the downloadable Certificate of Analysis names AGROLAB LUFA GmbH and says the sample code 'Ashwagandha KSM-66' was examined for the listed parameters.
Laboratory
AGROLAB LUFA GmbH
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:21:17
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
2Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract (600mg) 60 Capsules | 5% Withanolides & BioPerineNutricost60 capsulesKSM-66600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day30.0 mg/day$0.25per day$14.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutricost product page says: “Third-Party Tested †” and “Third-Party Tested † Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:32:46
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
22/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
3Horbaach Ashwagandha Max StrengthHorbäach120 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only4,500 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.06per day$7.79 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says: "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC: Our product has gone through rigorous checks and has been thoroughly tested to acquire all necessary approvals to be certified Organic by the prestigious Soil Association." Horbaach's own site also says: "We put our products to the test..." and "test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards," but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certificate/registry entry or COA for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:22:25
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
4Vitamatic KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract + BioperineVitamatic60 capsulesKSM-66 · Root only1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.50per day$14.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product is "Lab Tested" and the brand says it is "committed to quality, ensuring that all products meet rigorous safety and efficacy standards."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:14:29
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
5Sports Research Organic Ashwagandha 600mg w/KSM-66, 90 Count, 90 ServingsSports Research90 capsulesKSM-66600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.37per day$32.95 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page for Organic Ashwagandha says “Third Party Tested Certified” and also lists “Third Party Tested” under quality badges.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:30:47
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
6BioSchwartz KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1200mgBioSchwartz120 capsulesKSM-66 · Root only1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.62per day$36.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
BioSchwartz FAQ includes the testing-related question “Are your products tested for purity & quality?” but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certification page for the specific BioSchwartz KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1200mg product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:15:35
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
7Physician’s Choice KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1000mgPhysician’s Choice60 capsulesKSM-66 · Root only1,000 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day50.0 mg/day$1.00per day$29.97 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "At Physician’s Choice, our mission is to ensure everyone has access to safe, high-quality supplements that actually work. We research and produce innovative products that are science-backed and always third-party tested for potency and purity."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:22:04
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
8Pure Encapsulations Ashwagandha, 120 Capsules, 500 mg KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root ExtractPure Encapsulations120 capsulesKSM-66500 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.43per day$52.00 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Pure Encapsulations product PDF says: "Tested for solvents, pesticides, heavy metals and microbial contaminants, as are all Pure Encapsulations herbal extracts."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:28:16
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
9Solaray Ashwagandha Vital Extracts 470mgSolaray60 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only470 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day7.1 mg/day$0.35per day$20.79 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Solaray’s product page says: “We source our own raw materials and triple-test every lot” and “15,000 tests per month verify ingredient potency and purity,” plus “Passed Testing for Heavy Metals,” “Passed Testing for Microbials,” and “Passed Testing for Contaminants.” It also says the facility is “certified by NSF,” but I did not find an independent registry page confirming this specific ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:18:01
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
10Organic India Ashwagandha 800mgOrganic India90 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only800 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.50per day$22.39 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Organic India’s certifications page states: “We have Organic Certifications from Control Union and SGS as per USDA, EU and NPOP Organic Standards” and includes a Non-GMO Project link (“Click Here -> http://www.nongmoproject.org/find-non-gmo/search-participating-products/search/?brandId=2047s”). However, I did not find an independently verifiable registry page confirming this specific Ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:17:12
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
11Nature Made Ashwagandha Capsules 125mg for Stress Support, Sensoril Ashwagandha, 60 Capsules, 60 Day SupplyNature Made60 capsulesSensoril · Root + leaf125 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.28per day$16.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made’s own product page says: “Our quality standards are industry-leading, from ingredient sourcing and manufacturing to third-party verification of our products.” It also says the Ashwagandha Capsules are “formulated with clinically studied SENSORIL® Ashwagandha to reduce stress.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:31:51
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
12Zhou Nutrition AshwagandhaZhou Nutrition60 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.62per day$18.69 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Zhou Nutrition’s Quality page says: “Triple Tested Supplements… Before every product gets to you, it has been lab tested three times… No Skip Lot Testing. We test every batch, every time. Composite Testing… Identity, Purity, Potency. We test each ingredient and product to make sure it’s authentic, clean, and active.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:13:05
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
13Force Factor Essentials Ashwagandha 600mgForce Factor60 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.33per day$19.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:12:25
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
14Bronson Ashwagandha Extra Strength with BioPerineBronson120 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only150 mg extractBelow typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.17per day$9.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer certifications page says: "From raw materials to finished batches, Bronson supplements undergo numerous laboratory tests to ensure quality standards are met. We offer a variety of products that are laboratory tested..."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:19:16
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
15NOW Supplements, Ashwagandha 450 mg (Standardized Extract), 90 Veg CapsNOW Foods90 capsulesGeneric extract · Plant part undisclosed900 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.19per day$8.64 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA site states: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.” The Amazon listing also shows a NOW image saying “by conducting 31,000 quality tests each month” and an Intertek GMP certification graphic, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA or registry entry for this exact ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:33:28
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
16Youtheory AshwagandhaYoutheory60 capsulesKSM-66 · Root only1,000 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.83per day$24.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:20:36
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
17Himalaya USDA Organic Ashwagandha Root, 670 mg, 60 Day Supply, 60 CapletsHimalaya60 tabletstablet290 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.38per day$22.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Himalaya USA product page says: "every lot passes more than 25 tests for identity, purity, and safety, including seven tests for microbial safety. DNA-based plant identification confirms only authentic Ashwagandha root is used". It also says the product is "USDA Organic" and "Non-GMO Project Verified," but I did not verify a product-specific registry entry for this item.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:29:21
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
13/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
18Gaia Herbs Ashwagandha Root 350mgGaia Herbs60 capsulesGeneric extract · Root only350 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/dayNot disclosed$0.84per day$25.29 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product is made to 'modern quality standards' and the brand page says it uses 'scientific validation' and 'testing its therapeutic property,' but I did not find any independent, product-specific purity/potency certification, COA, or third-party lab report for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:23:21
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
#1

NatureWise Ashwagandha for Stress (KSM-66 blend)

NatureWise

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Product page states: 'Every batch of Ashwagandha KSM-66® is independently tested by a third-party laboratory...' and the downloadable Certificate of Analysis names AGROLAB LUFA GmbH and says the sample code 'Ashwagandha KSM-66' was examined for the listed parameters.
Laboratory
AGROLAB LUFA GmbH
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:21:17
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.38per day$22.99 per pack
#2

Nutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract (600mg) 60 Capsules | 5% Withanolides & BioPerine

Nutricost

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
22/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
30.0 mg/day
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutricost product page says: “Third-Party Tested †” and “Third-Party Tested † Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:32:46
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.25per day$14.95 per pack
#3

Horbaach Ashwagandha Max Strength

Horbäach

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
4,500 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says: "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC: Our product has gone through rigorous checks and has been thoroughly tested to acquire all necessary approvals to be certified Organic by the prestigious Soil Association." Horbaach's own site also says: "We put our products to the test..." and "test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards," but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certificate/registry entry or COA for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:22:25
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.06per day$7.79 per pack
#4

Vitamatic KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract + Bioperine

Vitamatic

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product is "Lab Tested" and the brand says it is "committed to quality, ensuring that all products meet rigorous safety and efficacy standards."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:14:29
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 veggie capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.50per day$14.99 per pack
#5

Sports Research Organic Ashwagandha 600mg w/KSM-66, 90 Count, 90 Servings

Sports Research

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page for Organic Ashwagandha says “Third Party Tested Certified” and also lists “Third Party Tested” under quality badges.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:30:47
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.37per day$32.95 per pack
#6

BioSchwartz KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1200mg

BioSchwartz

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
BioSchwartz FAQ includes the testing-related question “Are your products tested for purity & quality?” but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certification page for the specific BioSchwartz KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1200mg product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:15:35
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.62per day$36.99 per pack
#7

Physician’s Choice KSM-66 Ashwagandha 1000mg

Physician’s Choice

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
1,000 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
50.0 mg/day
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "At Physician’s Choice, our mission is to ensure everyone has access to safe, high-quality supplements that actually work. We research and produce innovative products that are science-backed and always third-party tested for potency and purity."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:22:04
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 veggie capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$1.00per day$29.97 per pack
#8

Pure Encapsulations Ashwagandha, 120 Capsules, 500 mg KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract

Pure Encapsulations

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66
Daily dose
500 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Pure Encapsulations product PDF says: "Tested for solvents, pesticides, heavy metals and microbial contaminants, as are all Pure Encapsulations herbal extracts."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:28:16
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.43per day$52.00 per pack
#9

Solaray Ashwagandha Vital Extracts 470mg

Solaray

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
470 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
7.1 mg/day
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Solaray’s product page says: “We source our own raw materials and triple-test every lot” and “15,000 tests per month verify ingredient potency and purity,” plus “Passed Testing for Heavy Metals,” “Passed Testing for Microbials,” and “Passed Testing for Contaminants.” It also says the facility is “certified by NSF,” but I did not find an independent registry page confirming this specific ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:18:01
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 VegCap daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.35per day$20.79 per pack
#10

Organic India Ashwagandha 800mg

Organic India

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
800 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Organic India’s certifications page states: “We have Organic Certifications from Control Union and SGS as per USDA, EU and NPOP Organic Standards” and includes a Non-GMO Project link (“Click Here -> http://www.nongmoproject.org/find-non-gmo/search-participating-products/search/?brandId=2047s”). However, I did not find an independently verifiable registry page confirming this specific Ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:17:12
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1-2 capsules any time of day
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.50per day$22.39 per pack
#11

Nature Made Ashwagandha Capsules 125mg for Stress Support, Sensoril Ashwagandha, 60 Capsules, 60 Day Supply

Nature Made

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Sensoril · Root + leaf
Daily dose
125 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made’s own product page says: “Our quality standards are industry-leading, from ingredient sourcing and manufacturing to third-party verification of our products.” It also says the Ashwagandha Capsules are “formulated with clinically studied SENSORIL® Ashwagandha to reduce stress.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:31:51
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.28per day$16.99 per pack
#12

Zhou Nutrition Ashwagandha

Zhou Nutrition

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
1,200 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Zhou Nutrition’s Quality page says: “Triple Tested Supplements… Before every product gets to you, it has been lab tested three times… No Skip Lot Testing. We test every batch, every time. Composite Testing… Identity, Purity, Potency. We test each ingredient and product to make sure it’s authentic, clean, and active.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:13:05
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.62per day$18.69 per pack
#13

Force Factor Essentials Ashwagandha 600mg

Force Factor

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
600 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:12:25
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 vegetable capsule daily with a meal
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.33per day$19.99 per pack
#14

Bronson Ashwagandha Extra Strength with BioPerine

Bronson

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
150 mg extractBelow typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer certifications page says: "From raw materials to finished batches, Bronson supplements undergo numerous laboratory tests to ensure quality standards are met. We offer a variety of products that are laboratory tested..."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:19:16
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 capsules daily with a meal
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.17per day$9.99 per pack
#15

NOW Supplements, Ashwagandha 450 mg (Standardized Extract), 90 Veg Caps

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Plant part undisclosed
Daily dose
900 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA site states: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.” The Amazon listing also shows a NOW image saying “by conducting 31,000 quality tests each month” and an Intertek GMP certification graphic, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA or registry entry for this exact ashwagandha product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:33:28
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule
Servings/day
2
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.19per day$8.64 per pack
#16

Youtheory Ashwagandha

Youtheory

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
KSM-66 · Root only
Daily dose
1,000 mg extractAbove typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:20:36
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 vegetable capsules daily with water
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.83per day$24.99 per pack
#17

Himalaya USDA Organic Ashwagandha Root, 670 mg, 60 Day Supply, 60 Caplets

Himalaya

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
13/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
tablet
Daily dose
290 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Himalaya USA product page says: "every lot passes more than 25 tests for identity, purity, and safety, including seven tests for microbial safety. DNA-based plant identification confirms only authentic Ashwagandha root is used". It also says the product is "USDA Organic" and "Non-GMO Project Verified," but I did not verify a product-specific registry entry for this item.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:29:21
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 caplet
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.38per day$22.99 per pack
#18

Gaia Herbs Ashwagandha Root 350mg

Gaia Herbs

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
12/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Extract / type
Generic extract · Root only
Daily dose
350 mg extractWithin typical rangeTypical: 250–600 mg/day
Withanolides/day
Not disclosed
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product is made to 'modern quality standards' and the brand page says it uses 'scientific validation' and 'testing its therapeutic property,' but I did not find any independent, product-specific purity/potency certification, COA, or third-party lab report for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:23:21
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
2 vegan liquid phyto-capsules daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.84per day$25.29 per pack

One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.

Ashwagandha extracts explained

Start with the preparation, then the amount. The branded-extract cards in the evidence section explain the labels used in this comparison.

Reading an extract label

Three separate measurements

Extract mass
The actual ingredient per serving
Standardization
A declared marker percentage or amount

A root-equivalent number describes starting material, not additional extract. Missing percentages stay unknown; neither a botanical name nor a capsule count fills that gap.

Ashwagandha dosage: compare the actual extract

Why there is no universal dose

NIH ODS describes studies using different preparations and amounts. A sleep study of KSM-66 used 600 mg/day; a Shoden study used 120 mg/day. These examples are not interchangeable doses or personal recommendations. There is no established nutritional RDA or universal upper intake level for this botanical.

Decode a 3,000 mg headline

If 300 mg of a 10:1 extract is described as equivalent to 3,000 mg of root, the capsule still contains 300 mg of extract. This illustrative calculation does not confirm the contents of any product. Do not add both figures together.

Read the complete serving

A two-capsule serving containing 600 mg supplies 300 mg per capsule only if the label specifies equal capsules. Where 5% withanolides is explicitly declared for that 600 mg extract, the arithmetic is 30 mg. A higher marker percentage is not proof of better results.

How the range badges work: Compare actual extract per day, after multiplying the serving amount by the recorded servings per day. KSM-66, Sensoril and Shoden use their own published-study ranges. Other extracts use a 250–600 mg/day extract-mass reference: below, within or above describes that numerical comparison only. It does not establish research equivalence, effectiveness or a recommended intake. Plant part, concentration and the preparation studied still matter.

Branded extracts and the evidence

KSM-66

A branded root extract used in some trials. Match the actual daily amount and standardization to the study; the trademark does not verify this retail bottle.

Sensoril

A branded root-and-leaf extract. Its specifications and study doses differ from root-only preparations; compare its own evidence.

Shoden

Another root-and-leaf extract studied at smaller extract masses. A smaller milligram number is not automatically a weak dose.

Generic extract

An unbranded preparation can still disclose useful detail. Check the plant part, extraction and marker information instead of assuming equivalence to a named extract.

NIH ODS compares the preparations used in studies. A US government review can summarize research conducted abroad; it does not mean each trial was conducted in Americans or that the government endorses a brand.

Ashwagandha benefits: stress, sleep and the evidence

Evidence by goal
GoalEvidence strengthWhat was assessedTypical study contextMain limitation
Perceived stressPromising, short-termVarious extractsSmall studies over weeksNot proof of treating an anxiety disorder
SleepSmall potential benefitDifferent extractsLimited adult trialsNot a universal sleep remedy
Cortisol and weight lossDifferent outcomesExtract studiesSome hormone measurementsA cortisol change does not demonstrate fat loss
Testosterone and fertilityLimited evidenceSelected preparationsSelected populationsNo general male or female fertility recommendation
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail

NIH ODS describes small studies suggesting improvements in stress and sleep. The evidence does not establish which retail product is best. NCCIH considers anxiety evidence unclear, notes limited testosterone/sperm findings, and finds insufficient evidence for menopause or female infertility. Treat these as separate questions rather than one broad “hormone balance” claim.

A comparison score evaluates recorded product information. It does not quantify symptom improvement or validate a cortisol, weight-loss or fertility promise.

When to take ashwagandha and how long it takes

Research summarized by NIH ODS commonly assessed outcomes after several weeks, including 6–8 weeks for stress. This does not establish an immediate calming effect, a guaranteed response date or an ideal clock time.

Morning or evening?

Follow the label and consider tolerability. Do not assume all extracts need the same schedule or use drowsiness as a reason to drive while impaired.

Continuous use or cycling?

A seller’s cycling schedule is not proof of long-term safety. Discuss continued use if symptoms persist instead of escalating the dose or combining several stress products.

Ashwagandha side effects and safety

Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Ashwagandha - see the full detail below for why.
  • Pregnancy or breastfeeding: avoid use
  • Thyroid or autoimmune disorders, planned surgery, or hormone-sensitive prostate cancer
  • Existing liver disease or medicines with possible interactions

NCCIH reports possible drowsiness, stomach upset, diarrhea and vomiting; longer-term safety beyond approximately three months is uncertain. It advises avoidance in pregnancy and breastfeeding and cautions against use with thyroid/autoimmune disorders or before surgery.

Liver symptoms deserve attention

NIH LiverTox documents uncommon but potentially serious liver injury, sometimes beginning weeks after starting. Avoid use with advanced liver disease. Stop and seek medical advice for yellow skin or eyes, dark urine or marked itching; do not restart after a suspected liver reaction without clinical advice.

Ashwagandha interactions and combinations

NCCIH identifies potential interactions with thyroid medicines, sedatives, anticonvulsants, immunosuppressants, diabetes medicines and blood-pressure drugs. Ask a pharmacist to review the full list of medicines and supplements.

Check stress blends for additional ashwagandha, melatonin or other active ingredients. The ashwagandha dose alone cannot characterize a combination’s effects. Record the whole serving rather than treating a proprietary blend’s total weight as pure extract.

Ashwagandha for men and women

An adult considering a product for stress or sleep can use the evidence and safety sections to weigh the limited potential benefit. Persistent anxiety or sleep disruption deserves assessment rather than relying on a comparison ranking.

“For men,” “for women” and “over 50” describe marketing audiences, not proven dose categories. Fertility concerns and pregnancy planning need appropriate care; this page does not establish a hormone-treatment protocol.

Testing, sourcing and label transparency

Testing review pending means the detailed product evidence review is unfinished. While testing is pending, it is excluded and the score is provisional. It does not mean a product failed testing or that no evidence exists.

FDA does not approve supplements for safety and effectiveness before sale. Check the exact product and lot behind a quality claim.

A useful report identifies the product, batch, laboratory, date, methods and results. Ingredient identity, measured content and contaminant testing answer different questions. A raw-material certificate is not automatically evidence for the bottle you buy. See how we verify testing.

For ashwagandha, look for botanical identity, plant part, extract mass and the method behind a withanolide claim. A source trademark and independent finished-product testing are separate matters.

Cortisol tests: what a result can tell you

MedlinePlus explains that cortisol testing may use blood, saliva or urine and helps investigate adrenal or pituitary problems. Timing, stress, exercise and medicines can affect results; one measurement cannot diagnose the cause.

No target “stress score”

A supplement-related cortisol change in a study does not establish a number everyone should aim for. Do not select a dose from a home test or a weight-loss advertisement.

Give the clinician the full context

Share the product, serving and start date, particularly if thyroid or liver tests are being interpreted. Follow the laboratory’s preparation instructions and do not stop prescribed medicines on your own.

Testing evidence in this comparison

A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.

Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence1
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed14
No public evidence located3

What does ashwagandha cost?

Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.

$0.06Lowest daily cost
$0.38Median daily cost
$1.00Highest daily cost

Price insights

Shown only where the underlying product data is reliable.

Withanolides disclosed
$0.25/day
Cheapest with disclosed withanolidesNutricost KSM-66 Ashwagandha Root Extract (600mg) 60 Capsules | 5% Withanolides & BioPerine
Branded extract
$0.43/day
Median branded-extract price

Your questions, answered

Is 3,000 mg of ashwagandha a high dose?

It may describe root equivalent rather than actual extract. Read the dose decoder before comparing it with a study.

Is KSM-66 better than Sensoril?

The preparations differ. The extract cards explain what to match; a larger milligram amount does not settle the comparison.

Does lowering cortisol mean losing weight?

No such conclusion follows from a hormone marker alone. See the evidence by goal.

How long does ashwagandha take to work?

Studies usually assess outcomes over weeks. This is not a guaranteed response time; see timing and duration.

Can women take ashwagandha while trying to conceive?

Do not use this comparison as fertility advice. Avoid it during pregnancy and discuss pregnancy planning with your clinician. See safety.

Can I take it with thyroid medication?

Potential interactions matter. Ask your pharmacist or prescriber before combining them; see interactions.

Should I test cortisol before taking it?

This page does not recommend routine cortisol screening for supplement selection. Testing should answer a clinical question; see blood-test context.

Sources & methodology

Read our methodology and how we verify testing.

Page updated11 Sep 2026
Editorial review2026-09-13
Product evidenceSee individual records