Skip to content
Thorne Calcium 250mg – Capsules
Product analysis · Thorne

Thorne Calcium 250mg – Capsules

Other calcium salt · Capsule

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 20/20
$28.00Amazon
CapsuleFormat
500 mgDaily dose
120 capsulesPack size
$0.47Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence100/100
20 points contributed · weighting 20
Ingredient/formulation quality90.7/100
23 points contributed · weighting 25
Value61/100
12 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency97/100
15 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency97/100
10 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Recognised certification

Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF registry page lists 'Thorne® Calcium' under NSF/ANSI Standard 173 Dietary Supplements, with finished product entries for 'Thorne® Calcium' at two facilities. Thorne’s own page also states: 'This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants...'
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF International
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:02:28

Dose & value

Calcium form
Other calcium saltCapsuleDimaCal dicalcium malate
Daily dose
500 mgWithin recommended rangeTypical: 300–1,000 mg/day
Serving size
1 capsule
Pack size
120 capsules
Servings per day
2
Price per day
$0.47
Price last checked
2026-09-26 17:04:06

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Calcium formulation details

Comparison form
Other calcium salt
Calcium compound as labelled
DimaCal dicalcium malate
Vitamin D per serving (mcg)
Not disclosed
Magnesium per serving (mg)
Not disclosed
Standardisation / purity as labelled
Not disclosed
Named ingredient
Not disclosed
Elemental calcium per serving as labelled
250 mg per serving
Serving as labelled
1 capsule
Daily amount (mg, single direction only)
500
Other active ingredients
None declared
Pack size as labelled
120 capsules
Recommended serving / frequency
Take 1 capsule two times daily
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Not disclosed

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Not disclosed
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
None declared

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Thorne
Legal company
Thorne HealthTech, Inc.
Manufacturing model
In-house
Manufacturing location
United States (Summerville, SC)

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Jarrow Formulas BoneUp 1000mg – Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for Ultra BoneUp® states: "IGEN™ Certified" and "This product has PASSED because it does not contain detectable amounts of genetically engineered GMO proteins and genes included in the IGEN™ testing panel."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 15:54:41
$0.58per day
$23.24per pack
Compare alternative

21st Century Calcium 600mg – Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: “For over 30 years, 21st Century Vitamins has provided trusted vitamins and supplements… From sourcing the finest ingredients to rigorous testing and production processes, we ensure that every product meets our stringent quality benchmarks.” It also lists “ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Certified Lab” and “USP standards for heavy metals,” but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA or registry entry for this calcium product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:03:38
$0.03per day
$11.99per pack
Compare alternative

Nature Made Calcium 600mg – Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made’s product page states “United States Pharmacopeia (USP) Verified” and “USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process.” USP’s own Quality Supplements registry lists “Nature Made Calcium 600 mg with Vitamin D3 Tablets” as a USP Verified Product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:07:54
$0.05per day
$11.24per pack