Skip to content
NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 500 EPA/250 DHA
Product analysis · NOW Foods

NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 500 EPA/250 DHA

Fish oil · Softgel

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
9/20
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 3/25
$27.19Amazon
SoftgelFormat
750 mg EPA + DHADaily dose
180 softgelsPack size
$0.15Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence12.8/100
3 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality45/100
9 points contributed · weighting 20
Value64/100
13 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency90/100
14 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency55/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency70/100
7 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods has a public "Certificate of Analysis" portal and a "Third Party Testing | Comprehensive Testing" page, but I could not access a product-specific COA or registry entry for the exact Amazon product. The only independently readable registry result found was for a different product: "NOW Ultra 97% Omega-3 Fish Oil" on Nutrasource, not the exact "Ultra Omega-3 500 EPA / 250 DHA" listing.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:27:21

Dose & value

Source / form
Fish oilSoftgel
Daily dose
750 mgEPA 500 mg · DHA 250 mgSupplemental dose · below 4 g
Serving size
1 softgel, 1-2x daily with food
Pack size
180 softgels
Servings per day
1
Price per day
$0.15
Price last checked
2026-09-15 12:50:07

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Omega-3 formulation details

Oil source / comparison type
Fish oil
Oil form (TG / rTG / EE / phospholipids), if disclosed
Fish oil (molecularly distilled, enteric-coated)
Source oil / serving (mg)
Not disclosed
Total omega-3 / serving (mg), if disclosed
750
EPA / serving (mg)
500
DHA / serving (mg)
250
EPA + DHA / serving (mg)
750
EPA / day (mg)
500
DHA / day (mg)
250
EPA + DHA / day (mg)
750
EPA + DHA / source oil (%)
Not disclosed
EPA:DHA ratio
Not disclosed
Species / source detail
Fish oil
Capsules or ml / day on comparison basis
1
Pack size as labelled
180 softgels
Recommended serving / frequency
1 softgel, 1-2x daily with food
Comparison basis for a serving range
Not disclosed
Other omega-3 fatty acids
Not disclosed
Vitamin A / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Vitamin D / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
None separately listed
Flavour
Unflavored
Capsule / shell material
Fish gelatin softgel
Allergen statement
Amazon allergen information: Fish
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Not disclosed
Sustainability claim (unverified)
Not disclosed
Testing / purity claim (unverified)
Not yet researched
Oxidation evidence review status
Not yet researched
Contaminant evidence review status
Not yet researched

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Amazon allergen information: Fish
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
None separately listed

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
NOW Foods
Legal company
NOW Health Group, Inc.
Manufacturing model
In-house
Manufacturing location
United States (Bloomingdale, IL; Sparks, NV)

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

NOW Supplements, Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA, 200 Softgels

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
9/20
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for NOW Ultra 97% Omega-3 Fish Oil shows IFOS Testing Results and a product page for NOW Foods under the NOW brand registry.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:55:17
$0.07per day
$14.27per pack
Compare alternative

Sports Research Omega-3 Fish Oil 1250mg from Wild Alaska Pollock, 90 Count

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
11/20
Value
7/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page says "Third Party Tested Certified" and "IFOS 5-Star Certified"; Nutrasource registry page for "Omega-3 Fish Oil Triple Strength 1250mg MSC-C-55162" confirms this Sports Research fish oil product is in the IFOS program and shows batch/lot entries with "IFOS™ Testing Results."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:56:07
$0.32per day
$28.87per pack
Compare alternative

Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3 2500mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/20
Value
3/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
3/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Viva Naturals product page says “Third Party Certified” and “IFOS Certified”; Nutrasource’s registry page for “Triple Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil” confirms IFOS testing results for specific lots, and the IFOS report for batch SG26050703 shows pass results.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:24:06
$0.73per day
$32.99per pack