Skip to content
Thorne Biotin 8 mg 8000mcg – Capsules
Product analysis · Thorne

Thorne Biotin 8 mg 8000mcg – Capsules

Not disclosed · Capsule

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 9/20
$28.00Amazon
CapsuleFormat
Daily dose not confirmedDaily dose
60 capsulesPack size
$0.47Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence45/100
9 points contributed · weighting 20
Ingredient/formulation quality73.6/100
18 points contributed · weighting 25
Value45/100
9 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency73.6/100
11 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency86.2/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Thorne’s product page for Biotin states: “This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:35:03

Dose & value

Formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
8,000–16,000 mcgWithin recommended rangeTypical: 7,000–13,000 mcg/day
Serving size
1 capsule
Pack size
60 capsules
Servings per day
Not disclosed
Price per day
$0.47
Price last checked
2026-09-26 18:59:07

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Biotin formulation details

Comparison form
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients (summary)
Not disclosed
Standardisation / purity as labelled
Not disclosed
Named ingredient
Not disclosed
Biotin per serving as labelled
8000 mcg per serving
Serving as labelled
1 capsule
Daily amount (mcg, single direction only)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
None declared
Pack size as labelled
60 capsules
Recommended serving / frequency
Take 1 capsule one to two times daily
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Not disclosed

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Not disclosed
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
None declared

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Thorne
Legal company
Thorne HealthTech, Inc.
Manufacturing model
In-house
Manufacturing location
United States (Summerville, SC)

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Sports Research Biotin 10,000 mcg 10000mcg – Softgels

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
NSF Certified for Sport registry entry for Sports Research® (product listing shown as "Creatine Monohydrate Unflavored" with brand Sports Research® and website www.sportsresearch.com) confirms a Sports Research product is certified in NSF's own registry.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:36:48
$0.17per day
$19.95per pack
Compare alternative

Nutricost Biotin 10,000 mcg 10000mcg – Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutricost product page says: “Nutricost Biotin is Non-GMO, Gluten Free, and 3rd Party Tested” and “Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:38:03
$0.05per day
$11.12per pack
Compare alternative

Sports Research Biotin 5,000 mcg 5000mcg – Softgels

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing image/text shows “Non-GMO Verified,” “Vegan Certified,” and “Third Party Tested”; NSF registry independently confirms a Sports Research product listing with NSF Certified for Sport® (though for Creatine Monohydrate Unflavored, not this biotin product). For this biotin product specifically, Sports Research’s own product page says “Third Party Tested Certified” and shows an NSF logo, but I did not find an NSF registry page for this exact biotin item.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 16:21:49
$0.15per day
$17.95per pack