Skip to content
Image unavailable
Product analysis · NOW Foods

NOW Iron Complex 27 mg

Bisglycinate · Tablet

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/20
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 3/25
TabletFormat
27 mgDaily dose
100 tabletsPack size
Price/day
No current offer in UKCompare alternatives

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence12.8/100
3 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality100/100
20 points contributed · weighting 20
Value50/100
10 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency75/100
11 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency55/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency50/100
5 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods COA portal: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:34:37

Dose & value

Iron form
BisglycinateTablet
Daily dose
27 mgelemental ironAbove NHS supplement advice
Serving size
1 tablet daily
Pack size
100 tablets
Servings per day
1
Price per day
Price last checked
Not disclosed

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Iron formulation details

Iron comparison form
Bisglycinate
Iron ingredient as disclosed
Ferrous bisglycinate
Elemental iron / serving (mg)
27
Elemental iron / day (mg)
27
Compound mass / serving (mg), if separately disclosed
135
Vitamin C included (yes / no / unknown)
yes
Vitamin C / serving (mg)
50
Vitamin C / day (mg)
50
Folate included (yes / no / unknown)
yes
Folate / serving (micrograms)
200
B12 included (yes / no / unknown)
yes
B12 / serving (micrograms)
50
Pack size as labelled
100 tablets
Recommended serving / frequency
1 tablet daily
Units or ml / serving
1
Comparison basis
Not disclosed
Label use context
daily
Other active ingredients
Folate 340 mcg DFE (200 mcg folic acid); B12 50 mcg; dong quai 100 mg; red raspberry leaf 100 mg
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Dietary label status
Vegan (listing claim)

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Ingredients & suitability

Vegan Vegetarian

Excipients
Supplement FactsServing Size:1 TabletServings Per Container:100DescriptionAmount per Serving% Daily ValueVitamin C (as Ascorbic Acid) 50 mg 56% Folate 340 mcg DFE (200 mcg folic acid) 85% Vitamin B-12 (as Cyanocobalamin) 50 mcg 2083% Iron (elemental) (from 135 mg Ferrous Bisglycinate)(Ferrochel™) 27 mg 150% Organic Dong Quai (Angelica sinensis) (Rhizome/Root) 100 mg † Daily Value not established. Red Raspberry (Rubus idaeus) (Leaf) 100 mg † Daily Value not established. † Daily Value not established.Other Ingredients: Microcrystalline Cellulose, Stearic Acid (vegetable source), Croscarmellose Sodium, Maltodextrin (non-GMO), Vegetarian Coating [hypromellose (cellulose), stearic acid (vegetable source), sunflower lecithin, triethyl citrate, sunflower oil], Silicon Dioxide and Magnesium Stearate (vegetable source). Not manufactured with wheat, gluten, soy, milk, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nut or sesame ingredients. Produced in a GMP facility that processes other ingredients containing these allergens. Caution: For adults only. Not intended for pregnant/nursing women. Consult physician if taking medication or have a medical condition. Keep out of reach of children. Warning: Accidental overdose of iron-containing products is a leading cause of fatal poisoning in children under 6. Keep this product out of the reach of children. In case of accidental overdose, call a doctor or poison control center immediately. Natural color variation may occur in this product. Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients. Store in a cool, dry place after opening. Ferrochel™ and the Albion Gold Medallion design are trademarks of Balchem Corporation or its subsidaries. Family owned since 1968.
Allergens
Not disclosed — check the current label
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Folate 340 mcg DFE (200 mcg folic acid); B12 50 mcg; dong quai 100 mg; red raspberry leaf 100 mg

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
NOW Foods
Legal company
NOW Health Group, Inc.
Manufacturing model
In-house
Manufacturing location
United States (Bloomingdale, IL; Sparks, NV)

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • The current record does not support a daily cost calculation.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Zipvit Iron Bisglycinate 14 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/20
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Zipvit product page says: “120% LABEL ACCURACY 4/4 TESTS PASSED 1/1 CLAIMS VERIFIED INDEPENDENTLY LAB TESTED SEE LAB RESULTS.” The page also shows no actual lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product in the materials I found.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:45:20
£0.03per day
£9.99per pack
Compare alternative

Incite Nutrition Iron Bisglycinate 28 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/20
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says "we have all our products manufactured to the highest GMP standards to ensure quality and freshness" and the Amazon image says "CERTIFIED QUALITY & PURITY". These are claims, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party test/certification record for this specific product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:11:39
£0.05per day
£8.99per pack
Compare alternative

Nu U Nutrition Iron Complex 14 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
17/20
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: “We work tirelessly to identify and test the supplements that really work” and “we ensure every product is created using the highest quality ingredients…” but I found no independently verifiable COA/lab report for this specific iron product and no registry confirmation of a certification for it.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:36:50
£0.06per day
£9.97per pack