Together Health Organic Ashwagandha
- Testing & evidence
- 14/25
- Ingredient/formulation quality
- 18/20
- Value
- 20/20
- Dose transparency
- 14/15
- Manufacturer transparency
- 6/10
- Label/ingredient transparency
- 5/10
The US version of The Supplement Compare is currently being prepared and will be available soon.
Compare ashwagandha supplements by actual extract dose, KSM-66 and other extracts, daily cost and testing evidence. Read the research on benefits, sleep and side effects below.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.
Compare actual extract mass and disclosed withanolides. Raw-herb equivalents are marketing figures, not interchangeable extract doses. Daily amounts use the recorded label serving. Badges use extract-specific study ranges where available; otherwise they compare actual extract mass with a 250–600 mg/day reference. That numerical reference does not establish equivalent effects between extracts. Read the dose guide ↓
| # | Product | Extract / type | Daily dose | Withanolides/day | Price/day | Testing | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Together Health Organic Ashwagandha270 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 500 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | 25.0 mg/day | £0.10per day£27.21 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 2 | WeightWorld Ashwagandha KSM-66 1500mg Tablets180 tablets | KSM-66 · Root only | 150 mg extractBelow commonly studied range | 7.5 mg/day | £0.06per day£9.98 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 3 | Alpha01 Ashwagandha Extract 10,000mg120 capsules | Generic extract · Plant part undisclosed | 500 mg extractWithin extract reference range | 25.0 mg/day | £0.11per day£12.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 4 | VitaBright Organic Ashwagandha KSM-66 5500mg90 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 550 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | 27.5 mg/day | £0.20per day£17.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 5 | Simply Supplements Ashwagandha Extract 5000mg + B6 & B12120 capsules | Generic extract · Root only | 5,000 mg extractAbove extract reference range | 70.0 mg/day | £0.26per day£15.49 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 6 | Bulk Ashwagandha KSM-66 500mg30 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 500 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | 25.0 mg/day | £0.27per day£7.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 7 | Nutravita Organic Ashwagandha KSM-66 6000mg60 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 500 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | Not disclosed | £0.24per day£14.24 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 8 | Nutricost Ashwagandha 600mg120 capsules | Generic extract · Root only | 600 mg extractWithin extract reference range | Not disclosed | £0.12per day£14.95 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 9 | Jamieson Ashwagandha Ultra Strength 6000mg60 capsules | Generic extract · Root only | 600 mg extractWithin extract reference range | Not disclosed | £0.14per day£8.47 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 10 | Love Life Supplements Organic Ashwagandha KSM-66 600mg60 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 600 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | 30.0 mg/day | £0.48per day£28.95 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 11 | MySuperfoods Organic Ashwagandha KSM-66 7200mg60 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 600 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | Not disclosed | £0.17per day£9.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 12 | Puresport Ultra Ashwagandha KSM-6660 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 500 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | 25.0 mg/day | £0.83per day£25.00 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 13 | NATROCEUTICS Ashwagandha BioActive Shoden 35% Withanolides60 capsules | Shoden · Root + leaf | 120 mg extractWithin commonly studied range1 capsule/day comparison; label permits 1–2 (120–240 mg/day). | 35% stated | £0.35per day£20.92 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 14 | WeightWorld Ashwagandha Gummies 1200mg120 gummies | Generic extract · Root only | 40 mg extractBelow extract reference range | Not disclosed | £0.29per day£17.48 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 15 | Time Health Ashwagandha 10% Withanolides60 capsules | Generic extract · Plant part undisclosed | 500 mg extractWithin extract reference range | 50.0 mg/day | £0.25per day£14.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 16 | Myprotein Ashwagandha KSM-66 500mg90 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 500 mg extractWithin commonly studied range | Not disclosed | £0.21per day£18.78 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 17 | Solgar Ashwagandha Root Extract60 capsules | Generic extract · Root only | 300 mg extractWithin extract reference range | 4.5 mg/day | £0.25per day£15.00 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 18 | New Leaf Products Ashwagandha KSM-66 1200mg TabletsPack count needs review | KSM-66 · Root only | 100 mg extractBelow commonly studied range | Not disclosed | £0.06per day£9.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 19 | SS Sport Supplies Organic Ashwagandha 1200mg with KSM-66 & Turmeric120 capsules | KSM-66 · Root only | 100 mg extractBelow commonly studied range | 5.0 mg/day | £0.17per day£9.99 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
| 20 | Pure Encapsulations Ashwagandha High Potency 500mg60 capsules | Generic extract · Plant part undisclosed | 500 mg extractWithin extract reference range | Not disclosed | £0.51per day£30.30 per packBuy Nowon Amazon | Testing evidence
| Why this score?
|
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Some sellers headline a large "raw-herb equivalent" figure calculated from a concentrated extract, rather than the actual extract weight in the capsule. Both numbers can be true at once - they're just answering different questions. Here's a real example from this comparison:
These two figures should not be compared directly with a product that states, say, 500mg of actual root powder - a raw-equivalent number is a calculation back to the unconcentrated herb, not a measure of how much material is actually in the capsule. In our comparison table, we show the actual extract mass first for this reason.
The extract used affects the research behind a product and what dose is comparable. Capsule, tablet and gummy are just delivery formats - use the Form filter above to narrow by those; the extract is what actually determines standardisation and studied dose.
Branded, root-only extract
A branded extract used in published trials. Match the extract, plant part, dose and outcome rather than assuming every KSM-66 product has been clinically tested
Branded, root + leaf extract
Uses both root and leaf, so its research base and standardisation are not directly comparable to root-only extracts
Branded, root + leaf extract
Formulated for low-dose, high-potency use; studies typically use far smaller mg amounts than root-only extracts
Unbranded / manufacturer's own extract
Harder to compare against published research, since the plant part, extraction method and standardisation may not match any studied formulation
Start with the actual extract in the recorded serving. A raw-root equivalent, extract ratio and withanolide percentage describe different things. Our decoder above keeps them separate; the comparison does not convert a marketing headline into material inside a capsule.
| Preparation studied | Daily amount in an example trial | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| KSM-66 root extract | 600 mg over eight weeks | Match the preparation and population, not just the milligrams. |
| Shoden root-and-leaf extract | 120 mg over six weeks | A smaller extract mass does not mean the same concentration. |
NIH ODS describes these sleep trials. These are study examples, not universal dosing instructions or proof that a retail product matches the tested material.
For a gummy, powder or capsule, check the amount in the full daily serving, plant part and declared standardisation. If the withanolide basis is unclear, the comparison leaves it uncalculated. More milligrams or a higher percentage is not a clinical outcome.
How the range badges work: Compare actual extract per day, after multiplying the serving amount by the recorded servings per day. KSM-66, Sensoril and Shoden use their own published-study ranges. Other extracts use a 250–600 mg/day extract-mass reference: below, within or above describes that numerical comparison only. It does not establish research equivalence, effectiveness or a recommended intake. Plant part, concentration and the preparation studied still matter.
Ashwagandha (Withania somnifera) has a growing evidence base, concentrated mostly in stress, anxiety and sleep outcomes, with generally shorter trial durations than better-established supplements.
Some preparations may help stress and insomnia, but the evidence for anxiety remains unclear. Trials often use specific extracts, small samples and short follow-up; their findings do not transfer automatically to every retail product. See the NCCIH source in the references below.
Moderate evidence: Modest improvements in sleep quality, exercise recovery and cortisol levels are reported across several trials, though sample sizes are often small and some trials are funded by extract manufacturers.
Weaker or mixed evidence: Testosterone and fertility-related claims, cognitive/focus benefits, and general "adaptogen" claims are supported by a smaller and more inconsistent body of research.
Long-term use beyond 8-12 weeks has little published safety or efficacy data, so continuous year-round use has not been well studied.
As with any herbal extract, the strength of evidence for a specific product depends on whether it uses the same branded extract, plant part and dose as the studies behind these findings - a generic, non-standardised extract at a different dose is not automatically supported by the same evidence base.
| Goal | Evidence strength | What was assessed | Typical study context | Main limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stress and cortisol | Promising short-term findings | Several root and root/leaf extracts | Small trials over several weeks | Different preparations; cortisol change is not a diagnosis or treatment target |
| Sleep | Modest benefit; evidence limited | KSM-66 and Shoden | Five-trial review in adults | Small evidence base; findings do not validate every retail product |
| Anxiety | Unclear overall | Different preparations | Trials differ in participants and measures | Stress findings should not be treated as proof for an anxiety disorder |
Trials summarised by NIH ODS suggest possible reductions in perceived stress and cortisol. Preparations and populations differ. A lower research measurement does not establish that someone has “high cortisol” or needs a supplement.
A systematic review of five trials found a modest overall improvement, with greater effects in people with insomnia. The evidence base was small and adverse-event reporting limited. It does not establish the best retail brand or long-term benefit.
NCCIH describes the anxiety evidence as unclear. Persistent anxiety or insomnia needs appropriate assessment; comparison scores do not measure treatment effectiveness.
There is no universal best time established by the studies reviewed by NIH ODS. Studies usually evaluated daily use over weeks, rather than an immediate effect after one capsule. Check the product instructions and review whether continuing is useful; do not assume every product has the same onset.
The sleep review cannot establish that taking it immediately before bed is better than another time. See the safety section before choosing a routine.
Possible effects include drowsiness, stomach upset, diarrhoea and vomiting. Rare liver-injury cases have been reported. Long-term safety remains uncertain. NCCIH safety guidance.
Stop taking it and seek medical advice if jaundice or other concerning liver symptoms develop. NIH ODS reviews the reported liver cases.
The FSA’s June 2026 response summary describes further risk assessment following its evidence call. That process is not a product safety endorsement.
Potential interactions include thyroid medicines, sedatives, anticonvulsants, immunosuppressants and medicines for diabetes or blood pressure. Ask a pharmacist to check the actual combination; do not change prescribed doses yourself. NCCIH interaction guidance.
If comparing ingredients for sleep, read the separate magnesium sleep evidence. Check overlapping ingredients and costs across your products; adding ingredients together does not establish a combined benefit.
Evidence for testosterone and sperm quality in men is limited. Evidence is insufficient for menopause or female infertility. Neither establishes a general need for a “men’s” or “women’s” formulation. NCCIH evidence summary.
Compare the preparation and dose against the particular goal. Pregnancy and breastfeeding are safety exclusions, not reasons to select a different brand.
Look for plant identity, plant part, assay method and a report tied to the product or batch. A branded extract claim does not verify the contents of the finished product. “No public evidence located” means the research did not locate accessible evidence; it does not mean the product failed a test.
The FSA’s 2025/26 targeted retail survey found labelling problems and some contaminant issues among sampled ashwagandha products. This is context for checking reports, not a finding about any named product in our comparison. We have not used it to change individual testing statuses.
Read how our comparisons work and the evidence required for verified testing.
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Current UK comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
Shown only where the underlying product data is reliable.
Some preparations show promise for stress and sleep; results differ by extract and study. The benefits table and cited studies separate these findings from the less certain anxiety evidence.
There is no single amount that makes different extracts equivalent. Compare the actual extract and serving with the dose guide; the example study amounts are not personal instructions.
The available sleep studies do not establish a universal best clock time. Read the timing evidence and its limitations, then check the product label and safety guidance.
Studies commonly assess outcomes over weeks. They do not guarantee an immediate or identical response to every supplement. See the study-duration context.
They are different branded preparations. Compare plant part, standardisation and actual extract amount in the extract cards; their milligram amounts are not interchangeable.
Gummy and capsule describe the format. Read how much extract the whole serving supplies, whether standardisation is declared, and what else is included. Use the Form filter to inspect the available products.
The safety panel covers common adverse effects, rare liver reports and who should avoid it, with links to NIH guidance.
Read our methodology and how we verify testing.