Skip to content
21st Century Iron 65 mg
Product analysis · 21st Century

21st Century Iron 65 mg

Sulfate · Tablet

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
8/20
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
8/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 3/25
$5.65Amazon
TabletFormat
65 mgDaily dose
120 tabletsPack size
$0.05Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence12.8/100
3 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality40/100
8 points contributed · weighting 20
Value94/100
19 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency50/100
8 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency50/100
5 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency50/100
5 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "For over 30 years, 21st Century Vitamins has provided trusted vitamins and supplements by upholding the highest standards of quality in every product we offer. From sourcing the finest ingredients to rigorous testing and production processes, we ensure that every product meets our stringent quality benchmarks." Also: "Our formulas go through intensive ingredient analysis, material testing and physical trials..." and "ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Certified Lab" is listed on the company 'Our Difference' page, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA, lab report, or registry entry for this specific iron product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:18:44

Dose & value

Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
65 mgelemental ironAbove adult upper limit
Serving size
1 tablet daily
Pack size
120 tablets
Servings per day
1
Price per day
$0.05
Price last checked
2026-09-16 12:09:41

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Iron formulation details

Iron comparison form
Sulfate
Iron ingredient as disclosed
Ferrous sulfate
Elemental iron / serving (mg)
65
Elemental iron / day (mg)
65
Compound mass / serving (mg), if separately disclosed
325
Vitamin C included (yes / no / unknown)
no
Vitamin C / serving (mg)
Not disclosed
Vitamin C / day (mg)
Not disclosed
Folate included (yes / no / unknown)
no
Folate / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
B12 included (yes / no / unknown)
no
B12 / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Pack size as labelled
120 tablets
Recommended serving / frequency
1 tablet daily
Units or ml / serving
1
Comparison basis
Not disclosed
Label use context
daily
Other active ingredients
Not disclosed
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Dietary label status
Vegan (listing claim)

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Ingredients & suitability

Vegan Vegetarian

Excipients
Stearic acid, croscarmellose sodium, cellulose, silicon dioxide. Contains <2% of: artificial colors (fd&c yellow #5, fd&c blue #1), magnesium stearate, peg, polyvinyl alcohol, talc, titanium dioxide.No added sugar, yeast, preservatives or artificial flavors.
Allergens
Not disclosed — check the current label
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Not disclosed — check the current label

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
21st Century
Legal company
Not recorded
Manufacturing model
Not recorded
Manufacturing location
Not recorded

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Thorne Iron Bisglycinate 25 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/20
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page states: "It is NSF Certified for Sport®, ensuring rigorous testing for quality and the absence of substances banned by major athletic organizations" and NSF’s own registry page for "Thorne® Iron Bisglycinate" confirms the product is certified, listing Brand: Thorne®, Product Type: Mineral, Package Size: 60, Serving Size: 1 capsule, and multiple lot numbers.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:58
$0.27per day
$16.00per pack
Compare alternative

NOW Iron 18 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/20
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA portal states generally that “Strength Testing” guarantees the product contains exactly what is on the label, and that NOW uses a science-based program to test raw materials and finished products for microbial and heavy metals contaminants. However, the specific COA page I could access was for Peppermint Oil (SKU 7495), not NOW Iron 18 mg, and I did not find an independently verifiable COA or certification page for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:28:51
$0.08per day
$9.13per pack
Compare alternative

NOW Iron Complex 27 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
3/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
20/20
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods COA portal: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:34:37
$0.09per day
$8.56per pack