Skip to content
Stronger today.
Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options.
A healthier you.

Iron Supplements

Compare iron supplements by dose, form, price, testing, ingredients and manufacturer transparency.

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.

18products compared
8forms compared
$0.04 – $0.68per day
1with verified testing evidence

Our Top Picks for Iron

View all Iron products

These awards compare eligible nutritional-dose products with a confirmed comparison form and serving. Higher-dose and unresolved formulations remain in the full table; they may cost less. Testing review is pending, and one product can win multiple awards. See the dose guide for the regional eligibility limits.

Best Overall

Thorne Iron Bisglycinate 25 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page states: "It is NSF Certified for Sport®, ensuring rigorous testing for quality and the absence of substances banned by major athletic organizations" and NSF’s own registry page for "Thorne® Iron Bisglycinate" confirms the product is certified, listing Brand: Thorne®, Product Type: Mineral, Package Size: 60, Serving Size: 1 capsule, and multiple lot numbers.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:58
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
$0.27per day
$16.00per pack
Best Tested

Thorne Iron Bisglycinate 25 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page states: "It is NSF Certified for Sport®, ensuring rigorous testing for quality and the absence of substances banned by major athletic organizations" and NSF’s own registry page for "Thorne® Iron Bisglycinate" confirms the product is certified, listing Brand: Thorne®, Product Type: Mineral, Package Size: 60, Serving Size: 1 capsule, and multiple lot numbers.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:58
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
$0.27per day
$16.00per pack
Cheapest Per Day

Nature Made Iron 65 mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards" and also "Laboratory Tested" / "Our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:48:54
Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
$0.04per day
$7.06per pack

Compare Iron Products

18 products

Compare elemental iron per daily serving, not compound weight. US adult RDAs are 8 mg for men and adults aged 51+, and 18 mg for women aged 19–50; pregnancy: 27 mg. These include food. The adult upper limit is 45 mg/day from all sources. Badge bands describe product strength, not a personal requirement or a treatment plan. Read the dose guide ↓

Iron product comparison
#ProductIron formDaily dosePrice/dayTestingScore
1Thorne Iron Bisglycinate 25 mgThorne60 capsulesBisglycinateCapsule25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.27per day$16.00 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page states: "It is NSF Certified for Sport®, ensuring rigorous testing for quality and the absence of substances banned by major athletic organizations" and NSF’s own registry page for "Thorne® Iron Bisglycinate" confirms the product is certified, listing Brand: Thorne®, Product Type: Mineral, Package Size: 60, Serving Size: 1 capsule, and multiple lot numbers.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:58
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
2NOW Iron Complex 27 mgNOW Foods100 tabletsBisglycinateTablet27 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.09per day$8.56 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods COA portal: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:34:37
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
3NOW Iron Double Strength 36 mgNOW Foods90 capsulesBisglycinateCapsule36 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.11per day$9.62 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Canada product page says: “NOW uses Ferrochel® Iron Bisglycinate, which has clinically demonstrated superior absorption and is well tolerated because it is gentle and non-constipating.” The same page also says NOW is “audited and certified by Intertek” on its Seals & Certifications page, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certification or COA for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:31:19
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
4NOW Iron 18 mgNOW Foods120 capsulesBisglycinateCapsule18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.08per day$9.13 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA portal states generally that “Strength Testing” guarantees the product contains exactly what is on the label, and that NOW uses a science-based program to test raw materials and finished products for microbial and heavy metals contaminants. However, the specific COA page I could access was for Peppermint Oil (SKU 7495), not NOW Iron 18 mg, and I did not find an independently verifiable COA or certification page for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:28:51
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
5Nature Made Iron + Vitamin C Gummies 18 mgNature Made60 gummysFumarateGummy18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.47per day$14.24 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards" and the homepage says "Laboratory Tested" / "BEST QUALITY GUARANTEED."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:25:14
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
6Solgar Gentle Iron 25 mgSolgar90 capsulesBisglycinateCapsule25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.11per day$9.65 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:26:07
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
7Fergon Iron 27 mgFergon100 tabletsGluconateTablet27 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.13per day$13.26 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
ConsumerLab page for Fergon says: "1 product from Fergon was tested and reviewed by ConsumerLab" and the Fergon site says only "Results Following a Physician Directed Open-label* Patient Experience Study" for Fergon Restore, which is efficacy/patient-experience research rather than a purity/potency/contaminant test.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:35:36
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
8Garden of Life Vitamin Code RAW Iron 22 mgGarden of Life30 capsulesOtherCapsule22 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.44per day$13.29 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing images show certification logos on the package, including "NSF Gluten-Free" and "Non-GMO Project Verified."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:27:39
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
9Nature Made Iron 65 mgNature Made180 tabletsSulfateTablet65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.04per day$7.06 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards" and also "Laboratory Tested" / "Our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:48:54
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
1021st Century Iron 65 mg21st Century120 tabletsSulfateTablet65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.05per day$5.65 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "For over 30 years, 21st Century Vitamins has provided trusted vitamins and supplements by upholding the highest standards of quality in every product we offer. From sourcing the finest ingredients to rigorous testing and production processes, we ensure that every product meets our stringent quality benchmarks." Also: "Our formulas go through intensive ingredient analysis, material testing and physical trials..." and "ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Certified Lab" is listed on the company 'Our Difference' page, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA, lab report, or registry entry for this specific iron product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:18:44
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
11Nature’s Way Liquid Iron 18 mgNature’s Way16 fl oz / 480 mlOtherLiquid18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.28per day$9.10 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature’s Way says on its own site: “we require every raw material to come with a certification of analysis … and still test every ingredient batch we receive,” and the iron ingredient page says “Tests done on every batch” and “Nature’s Way tests the potency of every batch of raw material.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:29:08
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
12OLLY Delightful Iron Chewable 18 mgOLLY60 tabletsOtherTablet18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.45per day$13.53 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100% Guaranteed!"
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:24
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
13Nature’s Truth Iron Gummies 18 mgNature’s Truth60 gummysNot disclosedGummy18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.68per day$13.54 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature's Truth's own "Our Quality" page says: "Our facilities and operations undergo random audits by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration, as well as independent third party entities, to verify safety and quality." It also says the company is "Fully Certified" and lists "Global Retailer and Manufacturer Alliance (GRMA) Certified through NSF" and "USP standards for heavy metals compliant."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:22:44
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
14NOW Liquid Iron 18 mgNOW Foods8 fl oz; label states about 24 servingsOtherLiquid18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.53per day$12.70 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA site states: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:35:37
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
15Vitron-C Iron 65 mg + Vitamin CVitron-C60 tabletsCarbonylTablet65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.22per day$12.97 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:53:05
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
16Feosol Original Iron 65 mgFeosol120 tabletsSulfateTablet65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.10per day$11.98 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:21:37
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
17Feosol Complete Bifera 28 mgFeosol30 tabletsHemePolysaccharide complexTablet28 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.51per day$15.32 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:22:53
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
18Slow Fe Slow Release Iron 45 mgSlow Fe60 tabletsSulfateTablet45 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)$0.28per day$16.99 per packBuy Nowon AmazonTesting evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:23:52
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
#1

Thorne Iron Bisglycinate 25 mg

Thorne

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
20/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Thorne product page states: "It is NSF Certified for Sport®, ensuring rigorous testing for quality and the absence of substances banned by major athletic organizations" and NSF’s own registry page for "Thorne® Iron Bisglycinate" confirms the product is certified, listing Brand: Thorne®, Product Type: Mineral, Package Size: 60, Serving Size: 1 capsule, and multiple lot numbers.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
NSF Certified for Sport®
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:58
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.27per day$16.00 per pack
#2

NOW Iron Complex 27 mg

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
BisglycinateTablet
Daily dose
27 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods COA portal: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:34:37
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.09per day$8.56 per pack
#3

NOW Iron Double Strength 36 mg

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
36 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Canada product page says: “NOW uses Ferrochel® Iron Bisglycinate, which has clinically demonstrated superior absorption and is well tolerated because it is gentle and non-constipating.” The same page also says NOW is “audited and certified by Intertek” on its Seals & Certifications page, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certification or COA for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:31:19
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.11per day$9.62 per pack
#4

NOW Iron 18 mg

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA portal states generally that “Strength Testing” guarantees the product contains exactly what is on the label, and that NOW uses a science-based program to test raw materials and finished products for microbial and heavy metals contaminants. However, the specific COA page I could access was for Peppermint Oil (SKU 7495), not NOW Iron 18 mg, and I did not find an independently verifiable COA or certification page for this exact product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:28:51
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.08per day$9.13 per pack
#5

Nature Made Iron + Vitamin C Gummies 18 mg

Nature Made

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
21/25
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
FumarateGummy
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards" and the homepage says "Laboratory Tested" / "BEST QUALITY GUARANTEED."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:25:14
Formulation & serving details
Format
Gummy
Serving
2 gummys daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 gummys

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.47per day$14.24 per pack
#6

Solgar Gentle Iron 25 mg

Solgar

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
24/25
Value
16/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
BisglycinateCapsule
Daily dose
25 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:26:07
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
90 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.11per day$9.65 per pack
#7

Fergon Iron 27 mg

Fergon

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
GluconateTablet
Daily dose
27 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
ConsumerLab page for Fergon says: "1 product from Fergon was tested and reviewed by ConsumerLab" and the Fergon site says only "Results Following a Physician Directed Open-label* Patient Experience Study" for Fergon Restore, which is efficacy/patient-experience research rather than a purity/potency/contaminant test.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 18:35:36
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
100 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.13per day$13.26 per pack
#8

Garden of Life Vitamin Code RAW Iron 22 mg

Garden of Life

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
25/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
OtherCapsule
Daily dose
22 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing images show certification logos on the package, including "NSF Gluten-Free" and "Non-GMO Project Verified."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:27:39
Formulation & serving details
Format
Capsule
Serving
1 capsule daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
30 capsules

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.44per day$13.29 per pack
#9

Nature Made Iron 65 mg

Nature Made

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards" and also "Laboratory Tested" / "Our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:48:54
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
180 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.04per day$7.06 per pack
#10

21st Century Iron 65 mg

21st Century

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
19/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "For over 30 years, 21st Century Vitamins has provided trusted vitamins and supplements by upholding the highest standards of quality in every product we offer. From sourcing the finest ingredients to rigorous testing and production processes, we ensure that every product meets our stringent quality benchmarks." Also: "Our formulas go through intensive ingredient analysis, material testing and physical trials..." and "ISO/IEC 17025:2017 Certified Lab" is listed on the company 'Our Difference' page, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific COA, lab report, or registry entry for this specific iron product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:18:44
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.05per day$5.65 per pack
#11

Nature’s Way Liquid Iron 18 mg

Nature’s Way

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
OtherLiquid
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature’s Way says on its own site: “we require every raw material to come with a certification of analysis … and still test every ingredient batch we receive,” and the iron ingredient page says “Tests done on every batch” and “Nature’s Way tests the potency of every batch of raw material.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:29:08
Formulation & serving details
Format
Liquid
Serving
15 ml (1 tablespoon) daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
16 fl oz / 480 ml

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.28per day$9.10 per pack
#12

OLLY Delightful Iron Chewable 18 mg

OLLY

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
12/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
OtherTablet
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100% Guaranteed!"
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:32:24
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
Adults: up to 2 tablets daily; pregnancy/nursing: up to 3, not used in this comparison
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.45per day$13.53 per pack
#13

Nature’s Truth Iron Gummies 18 mg

Nature’s Truth

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
Not disclosedGummy
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nature's Truth's own "Our Quality" page says: "Our facilities and operations undergo random audits by the U.S. Food & Drug Administration, as well as independent third party entities, to verify safety and quality." It also says the company is "Fully Certified" and lists "Global Retailer and Manufacturer Alliance (GRMA) Certified through NSF" and "USP standards for heavy metals compliant."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:22:44
Formulation & serving details
Format
Gummy
Serving
3 gummys daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 gummys

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.68per day$13.54 per pack
#14

NOW Liquid Iron 18 mg

NOW Foods

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
OtherLiquid
Daily dose
18 mgWithin recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW Foods’ COA site states: “A COA confirms that the product you purchased has gone through detailed testing and adheres to its product specifications and NOW standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:35:37
Formulation & serving details
Format
Liquid
Serving
10 ml (2 teaspoons) daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
8 fl oz; label states about 24 servings

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.53per day$12.70 per pack
#15

Vitron-C Iron 65 mg + Vitamin C

Vitron-C

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
18/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
CarbonylTablet
Daily dose
65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:53:05
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.22per day$12.97 per pack
#16

Feosol Original Iron 65 mg

Feosol

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
65 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:21:37
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
120 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.10per day$11.98 per pack
#17

Feosol Complete Bifera 28 mg

Feosol

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
13/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Daily dose
28 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:22:53
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
30 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.51per day$15.32 per pack
#18

Slow Fe Slow Release Iron 45 mg

Slow Fe

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
4/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
14/25
Value
14/20
Dose transparency
10/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Iron form
SulfateTablet
Daily dose
45 mgAbove recommended rangeRecommended: 8–18 mg/day (RDA)
Testing evidence
Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Not recorded
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-16 17:23:52
Formulation & serving details
Format
Tablet
Serving
1 tablet daily
Servings/day
1
Pack size
60 tablets

Full ingredients and formulation →

$0.28per day$16.99 per pack

One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.

Iron forms, explained

Start with the ingredient form, then compare the disclosed active amount and serving size.

Bisglycinate

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Fumarate

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Gluconate

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Other

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Sulfate

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Not disclosed

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Carbonyl

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Heme + Polysaccharide complex

Compare active content and the label serving for this form.

Testing evidence in this comparison

A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.

Testing review pending0
Recognised certification1
Verified independent evidence0
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed11
No public evidence located6

What does iron cost?

Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.

$0.04Lowest daily cost
$0.24Median daily cost
$0.68Highest daily cost

Price insights

Shown only where the underlying product data is reliable.

Bisglycinate
$0.08/day
Lowest daily cost: BisglycinateNOW Iron 18 mg
Iron + Vitamin C
$0.09/day
Lowest daily cost: Iron + Vitamin CNOW Iron Complex 27 mg

Sources & methodology

Detailed educational content and source review are in progress for this category.

Read our methodology and how we verify testing.

Page updated16 Sep 2026
Editorial reviewPending editorial approval
Product evidenceSee individual records