Skip to content
Image unavailable
Product analysis · Igennus

Igennus Ultra Pure Fish Oil + Astaxanthin

Fish oil · Softgel

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
15/20
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 21/25
SoftgelFormat
1,000 mg EPA + DHADaily dose
180 softgelsPack size
Price/day
No current offer in USCompare alternatives

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence85/100
21 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality75/100
15 points contributed · weighting 20
Value50/100
10 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency95/100
14 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency60/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Recognised certification

Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Pure & Essential Omega-3 Wild Fish Oil | Igennus Healthcare Nutrition" states "IFOS™ Testing Results" and lists batch/lot reports for this product; the page also shows the product as "IGEN™ Certified".
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 11:04:51

Dose & value

Source / form
Fish oilSoftgelrTG form
Daily dose
1,000 mgEPA 670 mg · DHA 330 mgAt/above AHA dietary benchmark
Serving size
2 softgels
Pack size
180 softgels
Servings per day
1
Price per day
Price last checked
Not disclosed

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Omega-3 formulation details

Oil source / comparison type
Fish oil
Oil form (TG / rTG / EE / phospholipids), if disclosed
rTG
Source oil / serving (mg)
1360
Total omega-3 / serving (mg), if disclosed
1126
EPA / serving (mg)
670
DHA / serving (mg)
330
EPA + DHA / serving (mg)
1000
EPA / day (mg)
670
DHA / day (mg)
330
EPA + DHA / day (mg)
1000
EPA + DHA / source oil (%)
73.53
EPA:DHA ratio
2.03:1
Species / source detail
Wild Pacific anchovies
Capsules or ml / day on comparison basis
2
Pack size as labelled
180 softgels
Recommended serving / frequency
2 softgels daily
Comparison basis for a serving range
Not disclosed
Other omega-3 fatty acids
Not separately disclosed
Vitamin A / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Vitamin D / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
Astaxanthin 1 mg per two softgels; other carotenoids not quantified
Flavour
Lemon
Capsule / shell material
Fish gelatine, vegetable glycerol
Allergen statement
Fish; check other ingredients
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Contains marine oil; not vegan or vegetarian
Sustainability claim (unverified)
Friend of the Sea supplier claim; not verified
Testing / purity claim (unverified)
IFOS certification claimed; batch evidence review pending
Oxidation evidence review status
Testing review pending
Contaminant evidence review status
Testing review pending

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Omega-3 EPA and DHA concentrate as re-esterified triglyceride from wild FISH oil, softgel shell (fish gelatine, vegetable glycerol), natural lemon flavor, Astalif astaxanthin rich oleoresin from Haematococcus pluvialis algae
Allergens
Fish; check other ingredients
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Astaxanthin 1 mg per two softgels; other carotenoids not quantified

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Igennus
Legal company
Not recorded
Manufacturing model
Not recorded
Manufacturing location
Not recorded

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • The current record does not support a daily cost calculation.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

NOW Supplements, Omega-3 180 EPA / 120 DHA, 200 Softgels

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
9/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
2/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for NOW Ultra 97% Omega-3 Fish Oil shows IFOS Testing Results and a product page for NOW Foods under the NOW brand registry.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:55:17
$0.07per day
$14.27per pack
Compare alternative

Sports Research Omega-3 Fish Oil 1250mg from Wild Alaska Pollock, 90 Count

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
6/20
Dose transparency
9/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page says "Third Party Tested Certified" and "IFOS 5-Star Certified"; Nutrasource registry page for "Omega-3 Fish Oil Triple Strength 1250mg MSC-C-55162" confirms this Sports Research fish oil product is in the IFOS program and shows batch/lot entries with "IFOS™ Testing Results."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-13 19:56:07
$0.32per day
$28.87per pack
Compare alternative

Viva Naturals Triple Strength Omega-3 2500mg

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
10/20
Value
3/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
5/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Viva Naturals product page says “Third Party Certified” and “IFOS Certified”; Nutrasource’s registry page for “Triple Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil” confirms IFOS testing results for specific lots, and the IFOS report for batch SG26050703 shows pass results.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-15 18:24:06
$0.73per day
$32.99per pack