Skip to content
Igennus Vegan Algae Oil + Astaxanthin
Product analysis · Igennus

Igennus Vegan Algae Oil + Astaxanthin

Algae oil · Softgel

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
15/20
Value
6/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 21/25
£17.99Amazon
SoftgelFormat
600 mg EPA + DHADaily dose
60 softgelsPack size
£0.60Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence85/100
21 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality75/100
15 points contributed · weighting 20
Value30/100
6 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency95/100
14 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency60/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Recognised certification

Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for 'Pure & Essential Vegan Omega-3 & Astaxanthin' shows 'IAOS™ Testing Results' and 'IGEN™ Certified' with selectable lot numbers, confirming the product passed the program.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IGEN
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 10:53:36

Dose & value

Source / form
Algae oilSoftgelTG form
Daily dose
600 mgEPA 200 mg · DHA 400 mgWithin typical supplemented range2 softgels basis
Serving size
2 softgels
Pack size
60 softgels
Servings per day
1
Price per day
£0.60
Price last checked
2026-09-12 06:12:52

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Omega-3 formulation details

Oil source / comparison type
Algae oil
Oil form (TG / rTG / EE / phospholipids), if disclosed
TG
Source oil / serving (mg)
Not disclosed
Total omega-3 / serving (mg), if disclosed
Not disclosed
EPA / serving (mg)
200
DHA / serving (mg)
400
EPA + DHA / serving (mg)
600
EPA / day (mg)
200
DHA / day (mg)
400
EPA + DHA / day (mg)
600
EPA + DHA / source oil (%)
Not disclosed
EPA:DHA ratio
0.5:1
Species / source detail
Cultivated microalgae; species not stated in snapshot
Capsules or ml / day on comparison basis
2
Pack size as labelled
60 softgels
Recommended serving / frequency
Adults: 2 daily; may be doubled; comparison uses two
Comparison basis for a serving range
2 softgels basis
Other omega-3 fatty acids
Not separately disclosed
Vitamin A / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Vitamin D / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
Astaxanthin complex; quantities not captured
Flavour
Unflavoured
Capsule / shell material
Modified corn starch, glycerol, carrageenan, sodium carbonate
Allergen statement
Listing claims free of fish, dairy, gluten, soya and wheat
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Vegan claim
Sustainability claim (unverified)
Not reviewed
Testing / purity claim (unverified)
IAOS certification claimed; batch evidence review pending
Oxidation evidence review status
Testing review pending
Contaminant evidence review status
Testing review pending

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Adult label: two daily; may be doubled. Comparison uses two (600 mg EPA + DHA); four doubles amount and cost.

Ingredients & suitability

Vegan Vegetarian

Excipients
Omega-3 algae oil; softgel shell (modified corn starch, glycerol, carrageenan, sodium carbonate); Astapure® astaxanthin complex.
Allergens
Listing claims free of fish, dairy, gluten, soya and wheat
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Astaxanthin complex; quantities not captured

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Igennus
Legal company
Igennus Limited
Manufacturing model
Not disclosed
Manufacturing location
Not disclosed

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Igennus Fish Oil + Vitamin D3

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
15/20
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Pure & Essential Super Concentrated Omega-3 Wild Fish Oil & Vitamin D3" states "IFOS™ Testing Results" and "Every batch is independently tested and certified by IFOS for mercury, PCBs and dioxins."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
IFOS (Nutrasource)
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 10:35:04
£0.30per day
£17.99per pack
Compare alternative

Möller’s Cod Liver Oil Lemon

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
15/20
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Möller's Omega-3 Cod Liver Oil Lemon" shows "IFOS™ Testing Results" and selectable lot numbers for this product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 10:37:40
£0.32per day
£15.90per pack
Compare alternative

Igennus Ultra Pure Fish Oil + Astaxanthin

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
15/20
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Pure & Essential Omega-3 Wild Fish Oil | Igennus Healthcare Nutrition" states "IFOS™ Testing Results" and lists batch/lot reports for this product; the page also shows the product as "IGEN™ Certified".
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 11:04:51
£0.39per day
£34.99per pack