Skip to content
Image unavailable
Product analysis · Doctors’ Preferred

Doctors’ Preferred Berberine HCl 500mg – 90 Capsules

Berberine HCl · Capsule

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 9/20
CapsuleFormat
1,500 mgDaily dose
90 capsulesPack size
—Price/day
No current offer in UKCompare alternatives

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence45/100
9 points contributed · weighting 20
Ingredient/formulation quality90.7/100
23 points contributed · weighting 25
Value73/100
15 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency97/100
15 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency100/100
10 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing image/text says: "Doctor formulated and independently tested for optimal purity and potency" and the bottle image says "UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEED for purity and labeled potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 13:14:20

Dose & value

Berberine form
Berberine HClCapsuleNot stated · BerberPure
Daily dose
1,500 mgWithin recommended rangeTypical: 900–1,500 mg/day
Serving size
1 capsule
Pack size
90 capsules
Servings per day
3
Price per day
—
Price last checked
Not disclosed

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Berberine formulation details

Comparison form
Berberine HCl
Ingredient as labelled
BerberPure berberine hydrochloride (Berberis aristata bark and root)
Declared amount / serving (mg)
500
What the declared amount is
Berberine HCl (as declared)
Extract ratio
Not disclosed
Raw-herb equivalent / serving (mg; not berberine)
Not disclosed
Standardisation stated
Not stated
Botanical species and plant part
Berberis aristata (bark and root)
Named branded ingredient
BerberPure
Label daily amount (mg, single direction only)
1500
Other active ingredients
None declared
Single-ingredient or combination
single-ingredient
Pack size as labelled
90 capsules
Recommended serving / frequency
Doctor's Suggested Use: Take 3 capsules daily - 1 before each meal
Manufacturer named on label
Healthy Directions, Bethesda MD (Doctors' Preferred)
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Not disclosed

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Not disclosed
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
None declared

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Doctors’ Preferred
Legal company
Healthy Directions
Manufacturing model
Not recorded
Manufacturing location
United States

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • The current record does not support a daily cost calculation.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Vegavero Berberine HCl 500mg – 90 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
22/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
9/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Vegavero states on its own site: "our products must undergo rigorous controls before we can even bring them to market" and "we have decided to have our finished products tested annually and entirely voluntarily in independent German laboratories"; the berberine product page also says "Lab tested" and "Laboratory tested for heavy metals and microbiological quality."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 07:50:39
£0.29per day
£25.99per pack
Compare alternative

Toniiq Berberine HCl 500mg – 90 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
0/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Toniiq product page says: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for..." The COA for Berberine also shows testing by Certified Group - Tustin.
Laboratory
Certified Group - Tustin
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
25K0291
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 07:49:57
£0.28per day
£24.97per pack
Compare alternative

SuperBotanic Dihydroberberine 150mg – 60 Capsules

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
16/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
0/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says: "All our products are tested to ensure the highest quality, click here to the Certificate Of Analysis: View PDF →" and the linked COA for Berberine Advanced shows Eurofins Food Testing UK Limited with batch code B060725.
Laboratory
Eurofins Food Testing UK Limited
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
B060725
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 07:55:27
£0.82per day
£24.64per pack