Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product page is "3rd Party Tested" on Amazon and the HTN science page says "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "tested by the highest standard HPLC ... to ensure potency levels at a minimum of 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of the label claim in every single capsule." I did not find a product-specific COA, independent lab report, or a certifying-body registry entry for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product page is "3rd Party Tested" on Amazon and the HTN science page says "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "tested by the highest standard HPLC ... to ensure potency levels at a minimum of 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of the label claim in every single capsule." I did not find a product-specific COA, independent lab report, or a certifying-body registry entry for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says the product page is "3rd Party Tested" on Amazon and the HTN science page says "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "tested by the highest standard HPLC ... to ensure potency levels at a minimum of 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of the label claim in every single capsule." I did not find a product-specific COA, independent lab report, or a certifying-body registry entry for this berberine product.
Compare the declared formulation first, then the label daily amount. A phytosome ingredient, standardised extract and berberine HCl can carry different milligram meanings, so each amount is shown with its basis and forms are never converted into one another. The amount is what the label states; it is not a dose-adequacy rating. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
Vegavero states on its own site: "our products must undergo rigorous controls before we can even bring them to market" and "we have decided to have our finished products tested annually and entirely voluntarily in independent German laboratories"; the berberine product page also says "Lab tested" and "Laboratory tested for heavy metals and microbiological quality."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Toniiq product page says: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for..." The COA for Berberine also shows testing by Certified Group - Tustin.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "All our products are tested to ensure the highest quality, click here to the Certificate Of Analysis: View PDF →" and the linked COA for Berberine Advanced shows Eurofins Food Testing UK Limited with batch code B060725.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
BioHerbs’ own site says the product is “3rd Party Tested” and “third-party verified for purity and potency,” and the product page/landing page also says “TESTED” and “99{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} pure HCL.” I did not find a public COA/lab report or an independent registry entry confirming this specific BioHerbs Berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site page titled “Berberine Batch Testing” says: “Select your batch number below to see our latest batch test results” and “We are deeply committed to purity and safety, which is why every batch undergoes rigorous testing for authenticity, purity, heavy metals, and harmful bacteria.” However, the page shown did not provide a batch-specific COA or independently verifiable lab report for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Every supplement is 3rd-party lab-tested in the UK to guarantee purity, potency, and compliance with the highest industry standards." Product page also says: "Every supplement is 3rd-party lab-tested in the UK to guarantee purity, potency, and compliance."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product page is "3rd Party Tested" on Amazon and the HTN science page says "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "tested by the highest standard HPLC ... to ensure potency levels at a minimum of 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of the label claim in every single capsule." I did not find a product-specific COA, independent lab report, or a certifying-body registry entry for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "INDEPENDENTLY TESTED FOR QUALITY: Each production batch undergoes third-party testing at an ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accredited Eurofins lab to ensure it meets established quality and regulatory benchmarks."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutrasource registry page states: "IGEN™ Certified" and "This product has PASSED because it does not contain detectable amounts of genetically engineered GMO proteins and genes included in the IGEN™ testing panel."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "GMP Certified" and "each batch is tested to ensure it meets high manufacturing standards"; the manufacturer site repeats only general quality/benefit marketing and does not provide a product-specific COA or independent certification page.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: “Our supplements are meticulously tested to ensure they meet the highest standards of safety and efficacy” and the product page says “Quality & Manufacturing … manufactured in the United Kingdom in facilities operating under GMP-certified quality standards” / “This ensures each product meets high standards for purity, safety, and consistency.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Bandini product pages say "QUALITY TESTED" / "Certified Product" and that products are manufactured in a "certified laboratory, compliant with GMP, UNI EN ISO 9001:2015, and ISO 22000 standards." The product page also shows only manufacturer certification document links, not a product-specific third-party COA or registry entry.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Applied Nutrition product page says "TRUSTED AND TESTED INGREDIENTS" and "All ingredients evaluated, scrutinised & analysed" and includes a "Tested for Athletes" section, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
WeightWorld product page says: "9/9 TESTS PASSED", "3/3 CLAIMS VERIFIED", and "INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED" / "SEE LAB RESULTS". The page also says "Third party tested" and "All our products undergo thorough research and testing before they hit the market."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "Lab-Tested"; NOW product page says "Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients" and NOW's testing article says "NOW tested over thirty Berberine supplements" and that NOW sent one unopened bottle to Alkemist Labs for independent report on the same products.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Zipvit product page says: "4/4 TESTS PASSED", "1/1 CLAIMS VERIFIED", and "INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED" / "SEE LAB RESULTS". The page also says the product is "independently tested for heavy metals" on the Amazon listing text, but I did not find a readable lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Fully regulated. Independently tested. Our Berberine Capsules are manufactured in the UK under FSA (Food Standards Agency) guidelines, with every batch independently lab-tested for purity and safety." It also says "Vegan, Non-GMO & Third-Party Tested" and "Third-party lab tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
VitaBright’s own product page says: “All our supplements undergo rigorous quality testing. We normally have every batch tested by an independent laboratory which issues third-party certification.” The berberine product page also says “Lab Tested” and “3rd Party Tested – Unbiased & Verified Results,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is 'Lab Tested' and 'Independently laboratory tested for quality and purity with batch-specific analytical testing.' The product images also state 'Every Batch is Tested to Meet UK & EU Supplement Standards' and show a Eurofins logo, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or product-specific lab report for this NutriNation berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "independently tested for purity, quality, and safety you can trust" and the product images say "3rd Party Tested." The manufacturer's site I found only contains general marketing about purity, bioavailability, and science-backed formulations, not a verifiable lab report or certification page for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Vegavero states on its own site: "our products must undergo rigorous controls before we can even bring them to market" and "we have decided to have our finished products tested annually and entirely voluntarily in independent German laboratories"; the berberine product page also says "Lab tested" and "Laboratory tested for heavy metals and microbiological quality."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Toniiq product page says: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for..." The COA for Berberine also shows testing by Certified Group - Tustin.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says: "All our products are tested to ensure the highest quality, click here to the Certificate Of Analysis: View PDF →" and the linked COA for Berberine Advanced shows Eurofins Food Testing UK Limited with batch code B060725.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
BioHerbs’ own site says the product is “3rd Party Tested” and “third-party verified for purity and potency,” and the product page/landing page also says “TESTED” and “99{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} pure HCL.” I did not find a public COA/lab report or an independent registry entry confirming this specific BioHerbs Berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site page titled “Berberine Batch Testing” says: “Select your batch number below to see our latest batch test results” and “We are deeply committed to purity and safety, which is why every batch undergoes rigorous testing for authenticity, purity, heavy metals, and harmful bacteria.” However, the page shown did not provide a batch-specific COA or independently verifiable lab report for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Every supplement is 3rd-party lab-tested in the UK to guarantee purity, potency, and compliance with the highest industry standards." Product page also says: "Every supplement is 3rd-party lab-tested in the UK to guarantee purity, potency, and compliance."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product page is "3rd Party Tested" on Amazon and the HTN science page says "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "tested by the highest standard HPLC ... to ensure potency levels at a minimum of 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of the label claim in every single capsule." I did not find a product-specific COA, independent lab report, or a certifying-body registry entry for this berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "INDEPENDENTLY TESTED FOR QUALITY: Each production batch undergoes third-party testing at an ISO/IEC 17025:2017 accredited Eurofins lab to ensure it meets established quality and regulatory benchmarks."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page states: "IGEN™ Certified" and "This product has PASSED because it does not contain detectable amounts of genetically engineered GMO proteins and genes included in the IGEN™ testing panel."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "GMP Certified" and "each batch is tested to ensure it meets high manufacturing standards"; the manufacturer site repeats only general quality/benefit marketing and does not provide a product-specific COA or independent certification page.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: “Our supplements are meticulously tested to ensure they meet the highest standards of safety and efficacy” and the product page says “Quality & Manufacturing … manufactured in the United Kingdom in facilities operating under GMP-certified quality standards” / “This ensures each product meets high standards for purity, safety, and consistency.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Bandini product pages say "QUALITY TESTED" / "Certified Product" and that products are manufactured in a "certified laboratory, compliant with GMP, UNI EN ISO 9001:2015, and ISO 22000 standards." The product page also shows only manufacturer certification document links, not a product-specific third-party COA or registry entry.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Applied Nutrition product page says "TRUSTED AND TESTED INGREDIENTS" and "All ingredients evaluated, scrutinised & analysed" and includes a "Tested for Athletes" section, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
WeightWorld product page says: "9/9 TESTS PASSED", "3/3 CLAIMS VERIFIED", and "INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED" / "SEE LAB RESULTS". The page also says "Third party tested" and "All our products undergo thorough research and testing before they hit the market."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "Lab-Tested"; NOW product page says "Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients" and NOW's testing article says "NOW tested over thirty Berberine supplements" and that NOW sent one unopened bottle to Alkemist Labs for independent report on the same products.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Zipvit product page says: "4/4 TESTS PASSED", "1/1 CLAIMS VERIFIED", and "INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED" / "SEE LAB RESULTS". The page also says the product is "independently tested for heavy metals" on the Amazon listing text, but I did not find a readable lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "Fully regulated. Independently tested. Our Berberine Capsules are manufactured in the UK under FSA (Food Standards Agency) guidelines, with every batch independently lab-tested for purity and safety." It also says "Vegan, Non-GMO & Third-Party Tested" and "Third-party lab tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
VitaBright’s own product page says: “All our supplements undergo rigorous quality testing. We normally have every batch tested by an independent laboratory which issues third-party certification.” The berberine product page also says “Lab Tested” and “3rd Party Tested – Unbiased & Verified Results,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says the product is 'Lab Tested' and 'Independently laboratory tested for quality and purity with batch-specific analytical testing.' The product images also state 'Every Batch is Tested to Meet UK & EU Supplement Standards' and show a Eurofins logo, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or product-specific lab report for this NutriNation berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says the product is "independently tested for purity, quality, and safety you can trust" and the product images say "3rd Party Tested." The manufacturer's site I found only contains general marketing about purity, bioavailability, and science-backed formulations, not a verifiable lab report or certification page for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Berberine forms and labels explained
Berberine labels can describe a salt, a botanical extract, a branded delivery system or a related derivative. Keep the declared basis visible before comparing milligrams.
Berberine HCl
Conventional salt form
Compare
Declared HCl amount
Do not assume
Free-base equivalence
Common in supplements and clinical studies. Keep the label-declared salt basis unless a verified source provides an active-equivalent amount.
Standardised botanical extract
Plant extract with an assay claim
Check
Extract mass and {3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} berberine
Best basis
Explicitly declared berberine
A large extract number is not automatically the amount of berberine. Record both when disclosed.
Berberine Phytosome
Enhanced-delivery formulation
Check
Exact branded ingredient
Do not convert
Ingredient mg to HCl mg
Absorption evidence is formulation-specific. Ingredient-system milligrams are not interchangeable with conventional berberine milligrams.
Dihydroberberine
Related reduced derivative
Evidence
Small human PK studies
Comparison
Separate formulation class
Higher exposure in small pharmacokinetic studies does not establish clinical dose equivalence, efficacy or long-term safety.
Berberine amounts: labels, studies and what they mean
There is no UK nutrient reference value or established tolerable upper intake level for berberine. UK reference-intake legislation lists NRVs for specified vitamins and minerals, not berberine. [2] The 2026 UK Committee on Toxicity discussion of EFSA’s draft safety assessment also recorded substantial uncertainties and did not establish a safe intake for the plant preparations under review. [4]
Clinical trials have often used conventional berberine at roughly 0.9–1.5 g/day for about one to three months, but these are studied amounts, not a universal recommendation or safety ceiling. [5][6]
Use each product’s declared daily serving. Do not convert a salt, standardised extract, phytosome ingredient or dihydroberberine dose into an “equivalent” berberine dose unless a reliable source gives that exact conversion.
What the human evidence shows
Randomised-trial syntheses suggest berberine can produce modest changes in some glucose and lipid markers, particularly fasting glucose, triglycerides and LDL cholesterol, in studied populations. However, the evidence is heterogeneous, many trials are short, and much of the literature comes from Asian populations. [5][6]
This does not establish berberine as a replacement for prescribed treatment or prove that every commercial formulation has the same effect.
Berberine evidence by goal
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Blood sugar markers
Promising but limited
Mostly conventional/purified berberine
Randomised-trial syntheses commonly include about 0.9–1.5 g/day for one to three months in adults with diabetes or metabolic risk.
Short trials, heterogeneous methods and populations; some analyses include background medicines.
LDL cholesterol and triglycerides
Moderate short-term evidence for small changes
Mostly conventional/purified berberine
Placebo-controlled RCT meta-analysis reports modest average reductions in LDL-C and triglycerides.
No proof of reduced cardiovascular events; substantial heterogeneity and mostly short follow-up.
Weight loss
Insufficient for a firm claim
Mixed berberine preparations and populations
Reviews report small average changes in some body-size measures, often in people with metabolic conditions.
Bias, inconsistent findings, varied formulations and limited general-population evidence.
Enhanced absorption
Formulation-specific pharmacokinetic evidence
Dihydroberberine and branded phytosome systems
Small human PK studies and manufacturer formulation studies assess blood exposure.
PK differences do not prove equal clinical benefits at lower milligram doses.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Blood sugar and insulin-related markers
Meta-analyses of randomised trials report reductions in fasting and post-meal glucose in some studied groups, including people with type 2 diabetes or metabolic risk. Study quality, co-treatment and population differences limit how broadly the results can be applied. [6]
Cholesterol and triglycerides
Placebo-controlled evidence suggests modest reductions in LDL cholesterol, total cholesterol and triglycerides. The available trials are generally short and do not show that berberine prevents heart attacks or other clinical events. [5]
Weight and body composition
Some trials report small changes in BMI or waist circumference, but the evidence is not strong enough to treat berberine as a proven weight-loss treatment. The 2025 placebo-controlled meta-analysis found a small pooled BMI change and stressed the need for better trials. [5]
When berberine is taken
There is no single proven best time of day for every berberine formulation. Study protocols and commercial labels vary. Some labels direct use with food, while others simply specify a daily serving. Follow the exact product directions rather than assuming morning, night or pre-meal dosing is universally better.
If the label gives a range of servings per day, the comparison should show that range instead of silently choosing one value.
Side effects, medicines and who should be cautious
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Berberine - see the full detail below for why.
People who are pregnant, trying to conceive or breastfeeding
Infants and children; this comparison is adult-only
People taking prescription medicines because berberine can affect drug-metabolising pathways
People using glucose-lowering treatment or managing a diagnosed metabolic condition without clinician/pharmacist review
Berberine can cause gastrointestinal effects such as nausea, abdominal discomfort, constipation or diarrhoea in clinical studies. It can also interact with medicines. In a human crossover study, repeated berberine dosing altered CYP2D6, CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 activity. [7]
NHS guidance advises extra caution with herbal medicines in pregnancy or breastfeeding and when taking prescription medicines. [3] People taking medicines should ask a pharmacist or clinician before using berberine rather than relying on a general interaction list.
Berberine blends and combination products
Combination products should not receive credit for effects that cannot be separated from their other ingredients. Record berberine and each additional active ingredient separately. If a product combines conventional berberine with an enhanced-absorption ingredient, keep both declared amounts and bases rather than adding them into one “total berberine” number unless the manufacturer supplies a verified active-equivalent calculation.
Who looks at berberine supplements
Berberine products are mainly marketed to adults interested in metabolic-health, blood-sugar, cholesterol or weight-related claims. The comparison page should present the evidence behind those claims without turning them into personal recommendations. People who are pregnant or breastfeeding, people taking medicines, and people managing diagnosed conditions should seek individual professional advice before use. [8][7]
How to check berberine quality and testing
Useful testing evidence for berberine includes identity of the botanical or chemical ingredient, a quantitative assay for berberine, and contaminant testing where relevant. For standardised extracts or branded delivery systems, the report should identify the exact ingredient and batch. A GMP badge or a general “third-party tested” statement does not by itself prove the declared berberine amount in the bottle.
Enhanced-absorption claims must be tied to the exact studied formulation. Berbevis® has formulation-specific manufacturer pharmacokinetic material, while dihydroberberine has small human pharmacokinetic studies; neither justifies treating every product using similar marketing language as equivalent. [10][9]
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification1
Verified independent evidence2
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed18
No public evidence located4
What does berberine cost?
Current UK comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
£0.22Lowest daily cost
£0.29Median daily cost
£0.47Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
What is berberine?
Berberine is a plant alkaloid found in several botanicals, including Berberis species. Supplements may provide it as berberine HCl, a standardised extract or a specialised delivery formulation. Those labels are not automatically equivalent.
How much berberine should I take?
There is no official UK NRV or universal recommended berberine dose. Trials often use roughly 0.9–1.5 g/day of conventional berberine for short periods, but that is research exposure, not personal advice or a safety limit. [5][6]
Is berberine good for weight loss?
Evidence is not strong enough to call berberine a proven weight-loss treatment. Some studies report small changes in BMI or waist circumference, but study quality, populations and formulations vary. [5]
What is the difference between berberine HCl and berberine phytosome?
Berberine HCl is a conventional salt form. A phytosome is a delivery formulation that combines berberine-containing material with other components intended to change absorption. Compare each on its declared basis; do not treat the same milligram number as equivalent across forms. [10]
Can berberine interact with medicines?
Yes. Human research shows repeated berberine dosing can alter several CYP drug-metabolising enzymes. If you take medicines, ask a pharmacist or clinician before using it. [7]
Should berberine be taken with food?
Some product labels direct use with food, but there is no single best timing rule established for every formulation. Follow the exact label for the product you are comparing.