Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page says the berberine capsules are "third-party tested" and "Non-GMO Verified, Vegan Certified, Gluten-Free"; the Amazon listing image also says "Third Party Tested" and shows Non-GMO Project Verified / Vegan Action logos.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Sports Research product page says the berberine capsules are "third-party tested" and "Non-GMO Verified, Vegan Certified, Gluten-Free"; the Amazon listing image also says "Third Party Tested" and shows Non-GMO Project Verified / Vegan Action logos.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Compare the declared formulation first, then the label daily amount. A phytosome ingredient, standardised extract and berberine HCl can carry different milligram meanings, so each amount is shown with its basis and forms are never converted into one another. The amount is what the label states; it is not a dose-adequacy rating. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
Sports Research product page says the berberine capsules are "third-party tested" and "Non-GMO Verified, Vegan Certified, Gluten-Free"; the Amazon listing image also says "Third Party Tested" and shows Non-GMO Project Verified / Vegan Action logos.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing image/text says: "Doctor formulated and independently tested for optimal purity and potency" and the bottle image says "UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEED for purity and labeled potency."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 13:14:20
Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
13/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Natural Factors says on its product page that it is "Third-Party Certified" and shows the ISURA seal; Natural Factors also states "The ISURA seal of approval on a Natural Factors product means it has been rigorously verified" and that ISURA tests for contaminants and label integrity.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page states: "3rd Party Tested by ISO-Accredited Laboratoreis" and "Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NOW’s product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” The Amazon listing also says: “NOW Foods regularly tests its berberine capsules in independent laboratories to ensure quality and purity.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "Third Party Tested 🔬 Independently tested to verify purity and quality. Every batch is checked to meet high manufacturing standards for confidence and transparency."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Wellgard’s About Us page says: “The Gold Standard means: Ingredients you can trust - always high-quality and third-party tested.” This is a general brand claim, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Berbenite product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutrivein’s product page says: “Our finished products are further tested and certified by a third-party lab for quality, purity, and potency.” The Amazon listing also shows a “Third-Party Tested” badge, but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or registry entry for this specific berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
New Chapter’s product page says: “For every product lot we ship, we test for all four metals…” and the berberine product page says its ingredients are in accordance with strict safety and purity requirements and “Meets strict requirements for: ✓ Organoleptic Identity ✓ Appearance ✓ Vitamin/Mineral Assay ✓ Pesticides ✓ Gluten ✓ Allergens ✓ Heavy Metals ✓ Microbiological Attributes.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Metagenics’ quality page says: “Our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals, microbial contaminants, pesticides, and more” and “every ingredient and finished product undergoes rigorous testing to ensure it meets our uncompromising standards.” The Berberine GT Amazon images also say “3rd party tested” and “Guaranteed purity,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Thorne’s product page says: “This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms.” NSF’s own listings page for Thorne shows NSF/ANSI Standard 173 dietary supplement certification for Thorne products, and Thorne’s NSF article says NSF is the independent certifier for Thorne supplements.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Toniiq product page states: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for: Microbiology and Presence of Heavy Metals in Raw Material; Assay of Active Ingredient in Raw Material; Assay of Active Ingredient in Finished Product; Fill Weight in Finished Product; Microbiology and Presence of Heavy Metals in Finished Product."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page states: "Double Wood's formula delivers 500mg of berberine HCl per capsule, verified by HPLC ... on every batch ... Our most recent COA confirmed not less than 500mg berberine HCl per capsule, tested by a PJLA-accredited ISO/IEC 17025:2017 laboratory. Every batch tested for purity, potency, heavy metals, and microbial safety."
Laboratory
PJLA-accredited ISO/IEC 17025:2017 laboratory (lab name not shown in the readable PDF text)
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer quality page says: "Methodically testing of every raw material lot to ensure purity and potency" and "Testing finished goods to make sure they meet our label and shelf-life expectations." Amazon listing also says "Third-Party Tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NatureBell’s product page says: “Made with non-GMO ingredients and produced in a cGMP-compliant facility. Third-party lab tested and made without gluten, soy, and dairy.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NOW’s own product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” NOW’s berberine testing article also says it tested over thirty berberine supplements and that NOW’s sample was tested by NOW’s in-house lab and Alkemist Labs, but the article does not provide a product-specific certificate/registry entry for this 90-capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutreb’s own page says: “Lab tested in the USA” and “Nutreb Berberine has undergone rigorous clinical testing in the USA and has been proven safe and effective.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Designs for Health’s COA page states: “We test every batch of our products… Each Certificate of Analysis (COA) confirms that your product has been third-party tested and verified.” The Berberine Synergy COA PDF shows Item #: BER060-7A, Lot # 2605359, and results of 400mg and 50mg by HPLC with microbial testing, marked “**Denotes 3rd party testing.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Solaray’s product page says: “A targeted blood glucose support formula featuring Non-GMO Project Verified berberine from Indian barberry root… produced in our GMP facility that is certified by NSF, with ingredients that are triple-tested to meet strict guidelines on potency, purity, and contaminants.” Solaray’s quality page also says: “In our Ogden, Utah lab, scientists conduct up to 15,000 scientific tests each month… we confirm identity, potency, and purity, and screen for contaminants like heavy metals and pesticides.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page states: "Heavy Metal Tested + Quality Formula" on the Berberine+ Formula product page, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or third-party certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Enzymedica’s ‘Behind The Science’ page says: ‘Our products and ingredients are tested by certified third-party laboratories. We not only ensure what is on the label is what’s in the bottle, but we also test for residues and contaminants.’
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Solaray product page use marketing/testing language such as “Lab Verified,” “clinically studied,” and Solaray’s quality page says it tests identity, potency, and purity in-house; however I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA or registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Sports Research product page says the berberine capsules are "third-party tested" and "Non-GMO Verified, Vegan Certified, Gluten-Free"; the Amazon listing image also says "Third Party Tested" and shows Non-GMO Project Verified / Vegan Action logos.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing image/text says: "Doctor formulated and independently tested for optimal purity and potency" and the bottle image says "UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEED for purity and labeled potency."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Natural Factors says on its product page that it is "Third-Party Certified" and shows the ISURA seal; Natural Factors also states "The ISURA seal of approval on a Natural Factors product means it has been rigorously verified" and that ISURA tests for contaminants and label integrity.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page states: "3rd Party Tested by ISO-Accredited Laboratoreis" and "Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NOW’s product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” The Amazon listing also says: “NOW Foods regularly tests its berberine capsules in independent laboratories to ensure quality and purity.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "Third Party Tested 🔬 Independently tested to verify purity and quality. Every batch is checked to meet high manufacturing standards for confidence and transparency."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Wellgard’s About Us page says: “The Gold Standard means: Ingredients you can trust - always high-quality and third-party tested.” This is a general brand claim, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Berbenite product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutrivein’s product page says: “Our finished products are further tested and certified by a third-party lab for quality, purity, and potency.” The Amazon listing also shows a “Third-Party Tested” badge, but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or registry entry for this specific berberine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
New Chapter’s product page says: “For every product lot we ship, we test for all four metals…” and the berberine product page says its ingredients are in accordance with strict safety and purity requirements and “Meets strict requirements for: ✓ Organoleptic Identity ✓ Appearance ✓ Vitamin/Mineral Assay ✓ Pesticides ✓ Gluten ✓ Allergens ✓ Heavy Metals ✓ Microbiological Attributes.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Metagenics’ quality page says: “Our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals, microbial contaminants, pesticides, and more” and “every ingredient and finished product undergoes rigorous testing to ensure it meets our uncompromising standards.” The Berberine GT Amazon images also say “3rd party tested” and “Guaranteed purity,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Thorne’s product page says: “This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms.” NSF’s own listings page for Thorne shows NSF/ANSI Standard 173 dietary supplement certification for Thorne products, and Thorne’s NSF article says NSF is the independent certifier for Thorne supplements.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Toniiq product page states: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for: Microbiology and Presence of Heavy Metals in Raw Material; Assay of Active Ingredient in Raw Material; Assay of Active Ingredient in Finished Product; Fill Weight in Finished Product; Microbiology and Presence of Heavy Metals in Finished Product."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: "Double Wood's formula delivers 500mg of berberine HCl per capsule, verified by HPLC ... on every batch ... Our most recent COA confirmed not less than 500mg berberine HCl per capsule, tested by a PJLA-accredited ISO/IEC 17025:2017 laboratory. Every batch tested for purity, potency, heavy metals, and microbial safety."
Laboratory
PJLA-accredited ISO/IEC 17025:2017 laboratory (lab name not shown in the readable PDF text)
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer quality page says: "Methodically testing of every raw material lot to ensure purity and potency" and "Testing finished goods to make sure they meet our label and shelf-life expectations." Amazon listing also says "Third-Party Tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NatureBell’s product page says: “Made with non-GMO ingredients and produced in a cGMP-compliant facility. Third-party lab tested and made without gluten, soy, and dairy.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NOW’s own product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” NOW’s berberine testing article also says it tested over thirty berberine supplements and that NOW’s sample was tested by NOW’s in-house lab and Alkemist Labs, but the article does not provide a product-specific certificate/registry entry for this 90-capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Nutreb’s own page says: “Lab tested in the USA” and “Nutreb Berberine has undergone rigorous clinical testing in the USA and has been proven safe and effective.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Designs for Health’s COA page states: “We test every batch of our products… Each Certificate of Analysis (COA) confirms that your product has been third-party tested and verified.” The Berberine Synergy COA PDF shows Item #: BER060-7A, Lot # 2605359, and results of 400mg and 50mg by HPLC with microbial testing, marked “**Denotes 3rd party testing.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Solaray’s product page says: “A targeted blood glucose support formula featuring Non-GMO Project Verified berberine from Indian barberry root… produced in our GMP facility that is certified by NSF, with ingredients that are triple-tested to meet strict guidelines on potency, purity, and contaminants.” Solaray’s quality page also says: “In our Ogden, Utah lab, scientists conduct up to 15,000 scientific tests each month… we confirm identity, potency, and purity, and screen for contaminants like heavy metals and pesticides.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: "Heavy Metal Tested + Quality Formula" on the Berberine+ Formula product page, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or third-party certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Enzymedica’s ‘Behind The Science’ page says: ‘Our products and ingredients are tested by certified third-party laboratories. We not only ensure what is on the label is what’s in the bottle, but we also test for residues and contaminants.’
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Berberine form
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Solaray product page use marketing/testing language such as “Lab Verified,” “clinically studied,” and Solaray’s quality page says it tests identity, potency, and purity in-house; however I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA or registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Berberine forms and labels explained
Berberine labels can describe a salt, a botanical extract, a branded delivery system or a related derivative. Keep the declared basis visible before comparing milligrams.
Berberine HCl
Conventional salt form
Compare
Declared HCl amount
Do not assume
Free-base equivalence
Common in supplements and clinical studies. Keep the label-declared salt basis unless a verified source provides an active-equivalent amount.
Standardised botanical extract
Plant extract with an assay claim
Check
Extract mass and {3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} berberine
Best basis
Explicitly declared berberine
A large extract number is not automatically the amount of berberine. Record both when disclosed.
Berberine Phytosome
Enhanced-delivery formulation
Check
Exact branded ingredient
Do not convert
Ingredient mg to HCl mg
Absorption evidence is formulation-specific. Ingredient-system milligrams are not interchangeable with conventional berberine milligrams.
Dihydroberberine
Related reduced derivative
Evidence
Small human PK studies
Comparison
Separate formulation class
Higher exposure in small pharmacokinetic studies does not establish clinical dose equivalence, efficacy or long-term safety.
Berberine amounts: labels, studies and what they mean
There is no U.S. Daily Value, RDA or AI established for berberine in the reviewed federal sources. FDA guidance says dietary ingredients without an established Daily Value are labeled as “Daily Value Not Established.” [3]
Clinical trials have often used conventional berberine at roughly 0.9–1.5 g/day for about one to three months, but these are studied amounts, not a universal recommendation or safety ceiling. [4][5]
Use each product’s declared daily serving. Do not convert a salt, standardised extract, phytosome ingredient or dihydroberberine dose into an “equivalent” berberine dose unless a reliable source gives that exact conversion.
What the human evidence shows
Randomised-trial syntheses suggest berberine can produce modest changes in some glucose and lipid markers, particularly fasting glucose, triglycerides and LDL cholesterol, in studied populations. However, the evidence is heterogeneous, many trials are short, and much of the literature comes from Asian populations. [4][5]
This does not establish berberine as a replacement for prescribed treatment or prove that every commercial formulation has the same effect.
Berberine evidence by goal
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Blood sugar markers
Promising but limited
Mostly conventional/purified berberine
Randomised-trial syntheses commonly include about 0.9–1.5 g/day for one to three months in adults with diabetes or metabolic risk.
Short trials, heterogeneous methods and populations; some analyses include background medicines.
LDL cholesterol and triglycerides
Moderate short-term evidence for small changes
Mostly conventional/purified berberine
Placebo-controlled RCT meta-analysis reports modest average reductions in LDL-C and triglycerides.
No proof of reduced cardiovascular events; substantial heterogeneity and mostly short follow-up.
Weight loss
Insufficient for a firm claim
Mixed berberine preparations and populations
Reviews report small average changes in some body-size measures, often in people with metabolic conditions.
Bias, inconsistent findings, varied formulations and limited general-population evidence.
Enhanced absorption
Formulation-specific pharmacokinetic evidence
Dihydroberberine and branded phytosome systems
Small human PK studies and manufacturer formulation studies assess blood exposure.
PK differences do not prove equal clinical benefits at lower milligram doses.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Blood sugar and insulin-related markers
Meta-analyses of randomised trials report reductions in fasting and post-meal glucose in some studied groups, including people with type 2 diabetes or metabolic risk. Study quality, co-treatment and population differences limit how broadly the results can be applied. [5]
Cholesterol and triglycerides
Placebo-controlled evidence suggests modest reductions in LDL cholesterol, total cholesterol and triglycerides. The available trials are generally short and do not show that berberine prevents heart attacks or other clinical events. [4]
Weight and body composition
Weight-loss evidence is less certain than the marketing often suggests. NCCIH notes that studies vary in dose, formulation and participant health status and that higher-quality research is needed before firm conclusions can be drawn. [2]
When berberine is taken
There is no single proven best time of day for every berberine formulation. Study protocols and commercial labels vary. Some labels direct use with food, while others simply specify a daily serving. Follow the exact product directions rather than assuming morning, night or pre-meal dosing is universally better.
If the label gives a range of servings per day, the comparison should show that range instead of silently choosing one value.
Side effects, medicines and who should be cautious
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Berberine - see the full detail below for why.
People who are pregnant, trying to conceive or breastfeeding
Infants and children; this comparison is adult-only
People taking prescription medicines because berberine can affect drug-metabolising pathways
People using glucose-lowering treatment or managing a diagnosed metabolic condition without clinician/pharmacist review
Berberine can cause gastrointestinal effects such as nausea, abdominal discomfort, constipation or diarrhoea in clinical studies. It can also interact with medicines. In a human crossover study, repeated berberine dosing altered CYP2D6, CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 activity. [6]
NCCIH advises that berberine should not be used during pregnancy or breastfeeding and should not be given to infants. [1] People taking medicines should ask a pharmacist or clinician before using berberine rather than relying on a general interaction list.
Berberine blends and combination products
Combination products should not receive credit for effects that cannot be separated from their other ingredients. Record berberine and each additional active ingredient separately. If a product combines conventional berberine with an enhanced-absorption ingredient, keep both declared amounts and bases rather than adding them into one “total berberine” number unless the manufacturer supplies a verified active-equivalent calculation.
Who looks at berberine supplements
Berberine products are mainly marketed to adults interested in metabolic-health, blood-sugar, cholesterol or weight-related claims. The comparison page should present the evidence behind those claims without turning them into personal recommendations. People who are pregnant or breastfeeding, people taking medicines, and people managing diagnosed conditions should seek individual professional advice before use. [7][6]
How to check berberine quality and testing
Useful testing evidence for berberine includes identity of the botanical or chemical ingredient, a quantitative assay for berberine, and contaminant testing where relevant. For standardised extracts or branded delivery systems, the report should identify the exact ingredient and batch. A GMP badge or a general “third-party tested” statement does not by itself prove the declared berberine amount in the bottle.
Enhanced-absorption claims must be tied to the exact studied formulation. Berbevis® has formulation-specific manufacturer pharmacokinetic material, while dihydroberberine has small human pharmacokinetic studies; neither justifies treating every product using similar marketing language as equivalent. [9][8]
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification1
Verified independent evidence1
Manufacturer COA2
Testing claimed18
No public evidence located3
What does berberine cost?
Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
$0.25Lowest daily cost
$0.85Median daily cost
$1.50Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
What is berberine?
Berberine is a plant alkaloid found in several botanicals, including Berberis species. Supplements may provide it as berberine HCl, a standardised extract or a specialised delivery formulation. Those labels are not automatically equivalent.
How much berberine should I take?
There is no official U.S. Daily Value or universal recommended berberine dose. Trials often use roughly 0.9–1.5 g/day of conventional berberine for short periods, but that is research exposure, not personal advice or a safety limit. [4][5]
Is berberine good for weight loss?
NCCIH says some studies suggest weight or BMI changes, but the evidence is not conclusive and many studies have limitations. [2]
What is the difference between berberine HCl and berberine phytosome?
Berberine HCl is a conventional salt form. A phytosome is a delivery formulation that combines berberine-containing material with other components intended to change absorption. Compare each on its declared basis; do not treat the same milligram number as equivalent across forms. [9]
Can berberine interact with medicines?
Yes. Human research shows repeated berberine dosing can alter several CYP drug-metabolising enzymes. If you take medicines, ask a pharmacist or clinician before using it. [6]
Should berberine be taken with food?
Some product labels direct use with food, but there is no single best timing rule established for every formulation. Follow the exact label for the product you are comparing.