Skip to content
Nu U Nutrition Fish Oil 1000 mg
Product analysis · Nu U Nutrition

Nu U Nutrition Fish Oil 1000 mg

Fish oil · Softgel

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
0/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
11/20
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 0/25
£24.96Amazon
SoftgelFormat
300 mg EPA + DHADaily dose
365 softgelsPack size
£0.07Price/day

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence0/100
0 points contributed · weighting 25
Ingredient/formulation quality55/100
11 points contributed · weighting 20
Value85/100
17 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency95/100
14 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency85/100
9 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency95/100
10 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

No public evidence located

Evidence status
No public evidence located
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: "Friends of the Sea certified: Sustainable fishing" and "In addition, the nu3 Omega-3 capsules from Friends of the Sea have been awarded a certificate for sustainable products from fisheries and aquaculture." The certifier's own page confirms a product entry for "nu3 Premium Omega-3."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 11:11:15

Dose & value

Source / form
Fish oilSoftgelTG form
Daily dose
300 mgEPA 180 mg · DHA 120 mgWithin typical supplemented range1 softgel basis
Serving size
1 softgel
Pack size
365 softgels
Servings per day
1
Price per day
£0.07
Price last checked
2026-09-12 06:07:25

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Omega-3 formulation details

Oil source / comparison type
Fish oil
Oil form (TG / rTG / EE / phospholipids), if disclosed
TG
Source oil / serving (mg)
1000
Total omega-3 / serving (mg), if disclosed
Not disclosed
EPA / serving (mg)
180
DHA / serving (mg)
120
EPA + DHA / serving (mg)
300
EPA / day (mg)
180
DHA / day (mg)
120
EPA + DHA / day (mg)
300
EPA + DHA / source oil (%)
30
EPA:DHA ratio
1.5:1
Species / source detail
Anchovies and pilchards; Peru
Capsules or ml / day on comparison basis
1
Pack size as labelled
365 softgels
Recommended serving / frequency
1–3 daily; comparison uses one
Comparison basis for a serving range
1 softgel basis
Other omega-3 fatty acids
Not separately disclosed
Vitamin A / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Vitamin D / serving (micrograms)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
Not separately quantified; see ingredients
Flavour
Unflavoured
Capsule / shell material
Bovine gelatine, glycerine, water
Allergen statement
Fish; check other ingredients
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Contains marine oil; not vegan or vegetarian
Sustainability claim (unverified)
Sustainably caught claim; not verified
Testing / purity claim (unverified)
Not separately recorded; testing review pending
Oxidation evidence review status
Testing review pending
Contaminant evidence review status
Testing review pending

Product sources & research notes

Listing and manufacturer details describe the label; they do not independently verify product claims. Check the current pack before use.

Label permits 1–3 softgels daily with food. Comparison uses one (300 mg EPA + DHA). Three supply 900 mg and triple daily cost; the 12-month claim only applies to one daily.

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Omega 3 Fish Oil, Capsule Shell (Gelatine [Bovine], Glycerine, Water) Antioxidant (DL-Alpha-Tocopherol Acetate).
Allergens
Fish; check other ingredients
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Not separately quantified; see ingredients

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Nu U Nutrition
Legal company
Nu U Nutrition LTD
Manufacturing model
Not disclosed (marketed as "Made in UK")
Manufacturing location
United Kingdom

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • Daily cost can be calculated from the recorded serving.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Igennus Fish Oil + Vitamin D3

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/20
Value
11/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Pure & Essential Super Concentrated Omega-3 Wild Fish Oil & Vitamin D3" states "IFOS™ Testing Results" and "Every batch is independently tested and certified by IFOS for mercury, PCBs and dioxins."
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
IFOS (Nutrasource)
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 10:35:04
£0.30per day
£17.99per pack
Compare alternative

Igennus Ultra Pure Fish Oil + Astaxanthin

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
19/20
Value
9/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
7/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Pure & Essential Omega-3 Wild Fish Oil | Igennus Healthcare Nutrition" states "IFOS™ Testing Results" and lists batch/lot reports for this product; the page also shows the product as "IGEN™ Certified".
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 11:04:51
£0.39per day
£34.99per pack
Compare alternative

Möller’s Cod Liver Oil Lemon

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
21/25
Ingredient/formulation quality
9/20
Value
10/20
Dose transparency
14/15
Manufacturer transparency
5/10
Label/ingredient transparency
7/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nutrasource registry page for "Möller's Omega-3 Cod Liver Oil Lemon" shows "IFOS™ Testing Results" and selectable lot numbers for this product.
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Nutrasource / IFOS
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-14 10:37:40
£0.32per day
£15.90per pack