Skip to content
Image unavailable
Product analysis · Pure Encapsulations

Pure Encapsulations Calcium 450mg – Capsules

Mixed forms · Capsule

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
15/20
Dose transparency
11/15
Manufacturer transparency
6/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing transparency: 9/20
CapsuleFormat
Daily dose not confirmedDaily dose
180 capsulesPack size
—Price/day
No current offer in UKCompare alternatives

We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases. This never affects our scores.

The score, explained

Our scoring methodology
Testing & evidence45/100
9 points contributed · weighting 20
Ingredient/formulation quality90.7/100
23 points contributed · weighting 25
Value73/100
15 points contributed · weighting 20
Dose transparency73.6/100
11 points contributed · weighting 15
Manufacturer transparency55/100
6 points contributed · weighting 10
Label/ingredient transparency97/100
10 points contributed · weighting 10

The score compares product data, not medical effectiveness or individual suitability. Prime and affiliate commission contribute no points.

Testing & evidence

Testing claimed

Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Pure Encapsulations’ Quality Assurance page says: “All raw materials and finished products are independently tested for purity and potency by our third-party laboratories.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 15:53:47

Dose & value

Calcium form
Mixed formsCalcium + DCapsuleCalcium citrate/malate
Daily dose
450–900 mgWithin recommended rangeTypical: 300–1,000 mg/day
Serving size
3 capsules
Pack size
180 capsules
Servings per day
Not disclosed
Price per day
—
Price last checked
Not disclosed

Daily cost uses the recorded label serving; a larger dose earns no value advantage. The label serving is not a recommendation for your personal intake.

Calcium formulation details

Comparison form
Mixed forms
Calcium compound as labelled
Calcium citrate/malate
Vitamin D per serving (mcg)
10
Magnesium per serving (mg)
Not disclosed
Standardisation / purity as labelled
Not disclosed
Named ingredient
Not disclosed
Elemental calcium per serving as labelled
450 mg per serving
Serving as labelled
3 capsules
Daily amount (mg, single direction only)
Not disclosed
Other active ingredients
Vitamin D3 10 mcg (400 IU)
Pack size as labelled
180 capsules
Recommended serving / frequency
Take 3 capsules, 1-2 times daily, with meals
Allergen statement
Not disclosed
Vegan / vegetarian label status
Not disclosed

Ingredients & suitability

Excipients
Not disclosed — check the current label
Allergens
Not disclosed
Carrier / source
Not disclosed — check the current label
Other active ingredients
Vitamin D3 10 mcg (400 IU)

Manufacturer transparency

Brand
Pure Encapsulations
Legal company
Pure Encapsulations, LLC
Manufacturing model
In-house
Manufacturing location
United States (Sudbury, MA)

View the full brand profile →

What the record makes clear

  • Active amount is disclosed.
  • The current record does not support a daily cost calculation.

What to keep in mind

  • Verify the current label and the batch covered by any testing report.
  • A product score cannot determine whether you need a supplement.

Explore the alternatives

Compare alternative

Alpha01 Calcium Carbonate 400mg – Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
19/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
20/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page shows a 'CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS' section for this product with 'Heavy Metals Testing' and 'Microbial Contaminants Testing' for batch LC260172, and the linked report is a J.S. Hamilton Baltic test report for 'Alpha 01 - Calcium carbonate, 400mg'.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
LC260172/022029
Batch-specific report
Recorded
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 09:48:29
£0.05per day
£8.99per pack
Compare alternative

Horbäach Horbaach Calcium Carbonate 800mg – Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
18/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Horbaach’s own site says: “Laboratory Tested” and “We constantly source the best ingredients worldwide, test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 10:09:26
£0.11per day
£9.99per pack
Compare alternative

Sunshine Nutrition Calcium & Vitamin D3 800mg – Tablets

Why this score?
Testing & evidence
9/20
Ingredient/formulation quality
23/25
Value
17/20
Dose transparency
15/15
Manufacturer transparency
9/10
Label/ingredient transparency
10/10
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Sunshine Nutrition’s About Us page says: “All inbound raw materials are tested in-house…” and “After blending and bottling, we test the finished goods at our in-house labs to verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle and that our products are free of heavy metals, pesticides, and other contaminants.”
Laboratory
Not recorded
Certification body
Not recorded
Batch
Not recorded
Batch-specific report
Not established in this record
Report date
Not recorded
Evidence checked
2026-09-27 09:52:02
£0.12per day
£5.49per pack