The US version of The Supplement Compare is currently being prepared and will be available soon.
Stronger today. Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options. A healthier you.
Lion's Mane Supplements
Compare lion's mane supplements by preparation, mushroom part, actual extract amount, price and testing evidence. Read the evidence, label guidance and key cautions.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
BulkSupplements' About page says: "Each supplement is tested by a 3rd party laboratory before distribution, ensuring that all products are safe for consumption. For any testing, we utilize reputable and vetted US-based independent labs." The product page itself also shows a generic "THIRD PARTY TESTED" badge, but no product-specific COA or independent registry entry was found for this Lion's Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
BulkSupplements' About page says: "Each supplement is tested by a 3rd party laboratory before distribution, ensuring that all products are safe for consumption. For any testing, we utilize reputable and vetted US-based independent labs." The product page itself also shows a generic "THIRD PARTY TESTED" badge, but no product-specific COA or independent registry entry was found for this Lion's Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
BulkSupplements' About page says: "Each supplement is tested by a 3rd party laboratory before distribution, ensuring that all products are safe for consumption. For any testing, we utilize reputable and vetted US-based independent labs." The product page itself also shows a generic "THIRD PARTY TESTED" badge, but no product-specific COA or independent registry entry was found for this Lion's Mane capsule product.
Compare actual Lion's mane mg per day first, then the preparation and part, extraction, substrate and any verified marker data. Raw-equivalent milligrams are never used as the serving mass. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
BulkSupplements' About page says: "Each supplement is tested by a 3rd party laboratory before distribution, ensuring that all products are safe for consumption. For any testing, we utilize reputable and vetted US-based independent labs." The product page itself also shows a generic "THIRD PARTY TESTED" badge, but no product-specific COA or independent registry entry was found for this Lion's Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "We conduct testing in our microbial lab, examining for purity, potency, and composition, to validate the identity of each of our ingredients." It also says: "Access Test Results" / "Explore Product Test Results" with fields for Product Name and Lot Number, but I did not find a publicly readable product-specific result or independent verification for this Carlyle Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Double Wood site both state the product is "3rd-Party Tested" / "We publicize our third party test results so you can be confident that you’re stacking with the best."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Gaia Herbs product page states the product is "Purity-Tested" and the SuppCo product page says: "The TESTED by SuppCo seal means this product’s active ingredient label claims have been verified by SuppCo in independent testing."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says "Trusted Ingredients" and "Laboratory Tested" and "We put our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page says: "Third-Party Tested †" and "Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Solaray’s product page for Fermented Lion's Mane Mushroom 1000mg says “Non-GMO | Vegan | Lab Tested for Potency and Purity.” Solaray’s Quality page says it “conduct[s] up to 15,000 scientific tests each month,” “confirm[s] identity, potency, and purity,” and screens for contaminants. I also checked NSF’s public dietary supplement listings and found no matching Solaray product listing (“No Matching Products Found”).
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Sports Research product page says "Third Party Tested Certified" and shows badges/text for "Non-GMO Verified" and "Certified NSF Gluten-Free" on the Organic Lion’s Mane page, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or lab report for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Real Mushrooms’ own product/quality pages say the product is “verified by the highest level of independent testing” and that it partnered with Purity-IQ to “independently authenticate its products” through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program. Purity-IQ’s own case study page for Real Mushrooms confirms the brand/product line was independently verified through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product is "Verified, Tested & Trusted" and the product page says "Quality standards" plus "Our Dosage: Clinically Dosed" and "Our Science: Extraction Methods"; however I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swanson’s quality pages say: “We utilize third-party pharmaceutical-grade testing to ensure purity, potency, and reliability” and “All Swanson products undergo rigorous testing…”; the product page itself also says the brand is “Expertly Crafted” and “Expert tested and science backed,” but no independently verifiable product-specific COA or certification for this exact Lion’s Mane item was found.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nootropics Depot product page says "3rd Party Lab Tested & Verified" and "Every lot is tested for erinacine A using validated UPLC methods in ISO 17025 accredited labs." The COA for Erinamax Capsules 500mg | Liquid Culture Lion's Mane Mycelium shows identity, fill weight, erinacine A, loss on drying, heavy metals, and water activity testing.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Toniiq product page states: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for: ..."; the page also links a product-specific COA PDF.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon store page says: “Carefully Tested: Most brands use ‘skip lot tests’, where they only check the first 3 batches of their lions mane supplement powder. We analyze every batch for impurities & heavy metals.” The product image also says “LAB-TESTED FOR QUALITY” and “100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} pure as per microbial & identity testing,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NutraHarmony’s About Us page says the brand’s products “undergo rigorous testing and analysis to ensure potency, purity, and efficacy” and that it is “achieving relevant certifications,” but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Mercola product page says: "Following Dr. Mercola’s belief in providing the best quality products, our Organic Lion’s Mane Mushroom Extract is tested repeatedly to ensure a clean, potent product that matches what is on the label." The label/DSLD also says: "Certified Organic by: Quality Assurance International" and shows the USDA Organic seal, but I did not verify a product-specific certification entry on the certifier’s own registry.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "This page outlines how PureCo products are manufactured, tested, and certified from raw material to finished bottle" and "Every production lot of our products goes through a standard testing protocol before it is released for sale. Testing is performed by ISO 17025-accredited laboratories using validated methods."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swanson’s quality pages state that ‘All finished products are inspected by our Quality Control specialists and tested by independent third-party laboratories to ensure that each supplement contains exactly what’s stated on the label,’ and that the company ‘utilize[s] third-party pharmaceutical-grade testing to ensure purity, potency, and reliability.’ However, I did not find a product-specific COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
BulkSupplements' About page says: "Each supplement is tested by a 3rd party laboratory before distribution, ensuring that all products are safe for consumption. For any testing, we utilize reputable and vetted US-based independent labs." The product page itself also shows a generic "THIRD PARTY TESTED" badge, but no product-specific COA or independent registry entry was found for this Lion's Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "We conduct testing in our microbial lab, examining for purity, potency, and composition, to validate the identity of each of our ingredients." It also says: "Access Test Results" / "Explore Product Test Results" with fields for Product Name and Lot Number, but I did not find a publicly readable product-specific result or independent verification for this Carlyle Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Double Wood site both state the product is "3rd-Party Tested" / "We publicize our third party test results so you can be confident that you’re stacking with the best."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Gaia Herbs product page states the product is "Purity-Tested" and the SuppCo product page says: "The TESTED by SuppCo seal means this product’s active ingredient label claims have been verified by SuppCo in independent testing."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says "Trusted Ingredients" and "Laboratory Tested" and "We put our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page says: "Third-Party Tested †" and "Nutricost products are tested by an independent, accredited lab to help verify that what’s on the label is what’s in the bottle."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Solaray’s product page for Fermented Lion's Mane Mushroom 1000mg says “Non-GMO | Vegan | Lab Tested for Potency and Purity.” Solaray’s Quality page says it “conduct[s] up to 15,000 scientific tests each month,” “confirm[s] identity, potency, and purity,” and screens for contaminants. I also checked NSF’s public dietary supplement listings and found no matching Solaray product listing (“No Matching Products Found”).
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Sports Research product page says "Third Party Tested Certified" and shows badges/text for "Non-GMO Verified" and "Certified NSF Gluten-Free" on the Organic Lion’s Mane page, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or lab report for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsuleBeta-(1,3)(1,6)-glucans 300 mg
Real Mushrooms’ own product/quality pages say the product is “verified by the highest level of independent testing” and that it partnered with Purity-IQ to “independently authenticate its products” through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program. Purity-IQ’s own case study page for Real Mushrooms confirms the brand/product line was independently verified through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product is "Verified, Tested & Trusted" and the product page says "Quality standards" plus "Our Dosage: Clinically Dosed" and "Our Science: Extraction Methods"; however I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swanson’s quality pages say: “We utilize third-party pharmaceutical-grade testing to ensure purity, potency, and reliability” and “All Swanson products undergo rigorous testing…”; the product page itself also says the brand is “Expertly Crafted” and “Expert tested and science backed,” but no independently verifiable product-specific COA or certification for this exact Lion’s Mane item was found.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nootropics Depot product page says "3rd Party Lab Tested & Verified" and "Every lot is tested for erinacine A using validated UPLC methods in ISO 17025 accredited labs." The COA for Erinamax Capsules 500mg | Liquid Culture Lion's Mane Mycelium shows identity, fill weight, erinacine A, loss on drying, heavy metals, and water activity testing.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Toniiq product page states: "Certificate of Analysis & Testing" and "Every Toniiq product lot is third-party tested for: ..."; the page also links a product-specific COA PDF.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon store page says: “Carefully Tested: Most brands use ‘skip lot tests’, where they only check the first 3 batches of their lions mane supplement powder. We analyze every batch for impurities & heavy metals.” The product image also says “LAB-TESTED FOR QUALITY” and “100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} pure as per microbial & identity testing,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NutraHarmony’s About Us page says the brand’s products “undergo rigorous testing and analysis to ensure potency, purity, and efficacy” and that it is “achieving relevant certifications,” but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Mercola product page says: "Following Dr. Mercola’s belief in providing the best quality products, our Organic Lion’s Mane Mushroom Extract is tested repeatedly to ensure a clean, potent product that matches what is on the label." The label/DSLD also says: "Certified Organic by: Quality Assurance International" and shows the USDA Organic seal, but I did not verify a product-specific certification entry on the certifier’s own registry.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "This page outlines how PureCo products are manufactured, tested, and certified from raw material to finished bottle" and "Every production lot of our products goes through a standard testing protocol before it is released for sale. Testing is performed by ISO 17025-accredited laboratories using validated methods."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Swanson’s quality pages state that ‘All finished products are inspected by our Quality Control specialists and tested by independent third-party laboratories to ensure that each supplement contains exactly what’s stated on the label,’ and that the company ‘utilize[s] third-party pharmaceutical-grade testing to ensure purity, potency, and reliability.’ However, I did not find a product-specific COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane product.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Lion's mane forms and labels explained
Lion's mane products can differ by fungal part, growth substrate, extraction and concentration claims. Compare actual daily mass and preparation first, then assess marker and testing evidence.
Fruiting body extract
Concentrated fruiting-body material
Main dose
Actual extract mg
Keep separate
Ratio / raw equivalent
A 4:1 or 10:1 ratio is not itself the amount swallowed or proof of greater clinical potency.
Fruiting body powder
Dried mushroom material
Extraction
None stated
Compare
Actual powder mg
Older human evidence used dry mushroom preparations, but retail powders still need identity and quality verification.
Mycelium
Vegetative fungal tissue
Chemistry context
Erinacines reported predominantly here
Do not infer
Marker amount
Mycelium wording alone does not establish erinacine content or clinical efficacy.
Mycelium with substrate
Cultured biomass product
Check
Grain / culture material
Do not assume
All mass is fungal tissue
US products can explicitly include mycelium grown on and sold with fermented grain substrate.
Mixed preparation
Multiple Lion's mane materials
Record
Each component if disclosed
Unknown split
Keep visible
Do not invent fruiting-body/mycelium proportions for a proprietary or combined blend.
Lion's mane dose depends on the preparation
No Lion's mane Daily Value, RDA/AI or formal upper limit was identified in the official US sources checked. FDA guidance explains that dietary ingredients without an established Daily Value are labelled as such, and supplement serving sizes are generally set by manufacturers rather than approved as effective doses by FDA. [2][18]
Human trial amounts differ by preparation. About 3 g/day of dry mushroom powder was used for 16 weeks in mild cognitive impairment; a healthy-adult pilot used 1.8 g/day of a proprietary mushroom complex for 28 days; and a mild-Alzheimer's pilot used 1.05 g/day of erinacine-A-enriched mycelia for 49 weeks. [4][6][8] These are study exposures, not one recommended range.
For retail comparisons, use the actual mass swallowed. A 500 mg 4:1 fruiting-body extract remains 500 mg actual extract in the dose column. [17]
What human Lion's mane studies actually show
Human evidence is promising but limited. A small placebo-controlled study in 30 older adults with mild cognitive impairment reported better cognitive-scale scores during 16 weeks of dry Lion's mane powder, but results declined after stopping. [4]
In healthy younger adults, a 2023 pilot found a selected acute Stroop improvement and an exploratory stress signal after 1.8 g/day, but many cognitive outcomes were not significantly different. [6] A newer acute fruiting-body-extract study included only 18 participants. [7]
Reviews of erinacines, hericenones and neurotrophic mechanisms contain extensive cell and animal evidence. [9][11][12] Those findings should not be presented as demonstrated benefits of every supplement sold in the US.
Lion's mane evidence by goal
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Cognition in mild cognitive impairment
Promising but limited
Dry Hericium erinaceus powder
30 adults aged 50–80; about 3 g/day for 16 weeks; placebo controlled.
Small clinical population and older study; not equivalent to concentrated extracts or mycelium products.
Cognition and stress in healthy young adults
Preliminary
Proprietary organic Lion's mane mushroom complex
41 chronic completers; 1.8 g/day for 28 days; double-blind pilot.
Small pilot, multiple endpoints, manufacturer-supplied investigational product.
Mood
Preliminary
Fruiting-body-containing cookies
30 women for four weeks, placebo controlled.
Small, short and population-specific.
Mild Alzheimer's disease
Early evidence for one enriched preparation
Erinacine-A-enriched mycelia
1.05 g/day, containing 5 mg/g erinacine A, for 49 weeks.
Disease population, specialised product and adverse-event dropouts; not general supplement evidence.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Memory and cognition
Small human trials show signals in mild cognitive impairment and selected healthy-adult measures, but the preparations and populations differ. [4][6][7] The evidence does not support a universal 'focus dose'.
Mood and stress
A small four-week trial in women and a healthy-young-adult pilot reported selected mood/stress findings. [5][6] Both are preliminary.
Neurodegenerative disease
Erinacine-A-enriched mycelia have been studied for 49 weeks in mild Alzheimer's disease. [8] That specialised clinical preparation should not be treated as interchangeable with ordinary powders, fruiting-body extracts or mycelium-on-grain products.
When to take Lion's mane
No consistent human evidence establishes a universal morning-versus-evening advantage. The 2023 pilot instructed participants to take three capsules in the morning after breakfast, while older trials used different schedules. [6] Trial timing is part of the studied protocol, not proof of a generally superior schedule.
Lion's mane safety and allergy context
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Lion’s Mane - see the full detail below for why.
People with known mushroom allergy or previous reactions to mushroom products
People who develop rash, swelling, wheeze or breathing difficulty after taking Lion's mane
Pregnant or breastfeeding people unless a healthcare professional considers the product appropriate
People taking prescription medicines or living with a medical condition
People seeking to treat cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's disease, depression or another diagnosed condition
FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness before marketing and advises consumers to discuss supplement use with a healthcare professional where appropriate. [1]
In a 49-week enriched-mycelium trial, four participants discontinued because of abdominal discomfort, nausea or skin rash. [8] A rare case report described severe acute respiratory distress associated with a Lion's mane extract. [15] A case report cannot establish frequency, but allergy or breathing symptoms require caution.
No authoritative universal drug-separation or washout interval was identified for Lion's mane.
Lion's mane blends and co-ingredients
Lion's mane is sold alone and in blends with other mushrooms, caffeine-containing ingredients, herbs, vitamins and minerals. Keep each active amount separate. Evidence for a co-ingredient must not be assigned to Lion's mane.
FDA does not pre-approve supplement efficacy claims, and firms remain responsible for lawful, substantiated labelling. [1][18]
Who might consider Lion's mane
Adults interested in general cognition, focus or mood can use this comparison to see which preparation was actually labelled and tested, but current human evidence remains preliminary. [9] People seeking treatment for cognitive impairment, Alzheimer's disease, depression or another diagnosed condition should use medical care rather than a retail supplement ranking.
How to compare Lion's mane testing evidence
For Lion's mane, testing should identify what is actually in the product: species, fruiting body or mycelium/substrate composition, actual mass, relevant contaminants and any quantitative beta-glucan or marker claim.
Total polysaccharides are not interchangeable with beta-glucans. The established mushroom analytical approach separates beta-glucan from alpha-glucan/starch-related fractions, and a 2026 review describes additional matrix-related measurement challenges. [13][14]
FDA CGMP requirements cover identity, purity, quality, strength, composition and contamination controls. [3] CGMP compliance is not the same as independent batch certification or proof of a cognitive effect.
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence0
Manufacturer COA2
Testing claimed18
No public evidence located5
What does lion’s mane cost?
Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
$0.08Lowest daily cost
$0.47Median daily cost
$1.00Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
Is fruiting body better than mycelium?
No universal winner is established. Human studies include dry mushroom preparations, proprietary complexes and erinacine-enriched mycelia. [4][6][8] Compare the exact preparation, substrate disclosure and testing rather than using fungal part as a quality shortcut.
Does Lion's mane have an FDA Daily Value?
No Lion's mane-specific Daily Value was identified. FDA guidance says dietary ingredients without an established Daily Value are marked accordingly on Supplement Facts. [2]
Are beta-glucans and polysaccharides the same thing?
No. Beta-glucans are a specific glucan fraction. Analytical methods distinguish beta-glucan from alpha-glucan/starch-related material, so a total-polysaccharide percentage cannot simply be renamed beta-glucan. [13][14]
Does Lion's mane improve focus or memory?
Small human trials report selected positive cognitive findings, but preparations and populations differ and the evidence remains preliminary. [4][6][7]
What does mycelium grown on grain mean?
Mycelium is the vegetative fungal tissue. Some products grow it on a grain substrate and retain the fermented substrate in the finished material. Host Defense explicitly describes Lion's mane mycelium grown on organic brown rice. [16] Record that architecture rather than assuming the full serving is isolated fruiting body or isolated mycelium.