The US version of The Supplement Compare is currently being prepared and will be available soon.
Stronger today. Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options. A healthier you.
Lion's Mane Supplements
Compare lion's mane supplements by preparation, mushroom part, actual extract amount, price and testing evidence. Read the evidence, label guidance and key cautions.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says "Third-Party Tested & Certified Organic" and the manufacturer site says "All our powders go through a rigorous third-party testing procedure which enables us to guarantee their purity for you."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says "Third-Party Tested & Certified Organic" and the manufacturer site says "All our powders go through a rigorous third-party testing procedure which enables us to guarantee their purity for you."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Compare actual Lion's mane mg per day first, then the preparation and part, extraction, substrate and any verified marker data. Raw-equivalent milligrams are never used as the serving mass. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
BodyGenix’s own site says: “LAB TESTED QUALITY — Third-party verified purity to guarantee zero contaminants and full transparency.” The Amazon listing also says the product is “formulated under precise care without any harmful chemicals, additional preservatives or flavours,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific lion’s mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "Third-Party Tested & Certified Organic" and the manufacturer site says "All our powders go through a rigorous third-party testing procedure which enables us to guarantee their purity for you."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Horbäach’s own site makes broad quality/testing claims such as “Laboratory Tested” and “We put our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce,” and “test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards.” I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane 5000mg Focus Complex product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says “Puresport's Lion's Mane is Informed Sport Certified…” and the product page says “Rigorously tested… All of our products are Informed Sport certified…”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Purity-IQ case study states Real Mushrooms "partnered with Purity-IQ to independently authenticate its products through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program" and that Purity-IQ "makes ISO/IEC 17025-accredited authenticity testing accessible to consumers by independently verifying Real Mushrooms® products and issuing a QR-enabled Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ trustmark for use on product labels."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutrition Geeks' "Ashwagandha 3rd Party Testing Results" page states: "Our independent third-party testing ..." and links a COA/lab report; the report is a Certificate of Analysis from Care Europe showing product/lot testing and results.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page includes a linked PDF titled "Heavy Metal analysis Lions Mane NGF Hericenones - Nov 2025"; the PDF text states "LAB RESULTS FOR: Lions mane NGF Hericenones" and lists heavy metals results: Arsenic PASS, Lead PASS, Mercury PASS, Cadmium PASS.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page includes a linked PDF titled "Heavy Metal analysis Lions Mane High Strength - Nov 2025"; the PDF states "LAB RESULTS FOR: Lions Mane High Strength" and lists heavy metals results (Arsenic, Lead, Mercury, Cadmium) as PASS.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing claims the product is "Soil Association Certified Organic" and the product images show the Soil Association Organic logo / "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC".
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Osavi’s certificate page for this lot states: “This supplement has been laboratory tested by an independent laboratory and meets the requirements for purity and composition.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon image/text claims "Third Party Tested" and shows an Intertek-branded "Quality Assurance Certificate" with passed results for arsenic, cadmium, lead, mercury, aerobic colony count, presumptive enterobacteriaceae, salmonella, beta glucuronidase-positive E. coli, listeria, coagulase positive staphylococci, moulds, and yeast. The manufacturer site also says "our goal is to design and produce UK Made, GMP-certified products" but I did not find an independently verifiable Intertek registry page or a product-specific certificate on Intertek's own domain for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" and links a PDF test report for this product; the report itself is titled "TEST REPORT NO 180428/26/RIG" for "Alpha01 - Org Lion's Mane Extract Capsules 28,000mg" and shows batch/lot LC242791/042028, test report date 09.03.2026, and results from SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic" laboratory.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says the product is "GMP-certified" and the brand's site has a general "Third-Party Tested" page stating "every formulation backed by rigorous analytical testing" and that supplements are sent to accredited third-party laboratories to verify purity and quality. I did not find a product-specific independent lab report or registry entry for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "The Prowise Advantage: Rigorous Testing: A rigid procedure to test every product at every stage ensures we meet the highest quality standards for our customers."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for this product and links a PDF test report for batch LC242791/042028; the PDF states "Sample description: Alpha01 - Org Lion's Mane Extract Capsules 28,000mg" and "Test report date 09.03.2026" with results for Salmonella, E. coli, and heavy metals, issued by SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic" laboratory.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Zipvit’s product page says “102{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} LABEL ACCURACY”, “4/4 TESTS PASSED”, “2/2 CLAIMS VERIFIED”, and “INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED” with a “SEE LAB RESULTS” prompt, but I did not find an independently accessible lab report or certifying-body registry page for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "To ensure the highest safety and quality, our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals and unwanted compounds during production to fully comply with global regulations." Amazon listing also says: "SAFETY, PURITY & QUALITY ASSURED" and the product image includes a "Certified B Corporation" badge, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific lab report or certification registry entry for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Focus Supplements FAQ/product pages state: "Plus, we can provide a certificate of analysis for every product. Drop us a message at support@focussupplements.co.uk to request one." No product-specific COA or independent registry entry for FS Lions Mane was found.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and SuperSelf product page state the capsules are "tested by independent laboratories for potency and purity" / "independently tested to meet or exceed all relevant UK and EU safety standards."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Our BRCGS certification tells you we maintain product and quality standards..." and "Post-formulation, we manufacture sample batches for stability testing, evidencing consistency, efficacy, and safety throughout shelf life." These are general quality/testing claims, but I did not find independently verifiable third-party testing or a product-specific certificate for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
BodyGenix’s own site says: “LAB TESTED QUALITY — Third-party verified purity to guarantee zero contaminants and full transparency.” The Amazon listing also says the product is “formulated under precise care without any harmful chemicals, additional preservatives or flavours,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for this specific lion’s mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "Third-Party Tested & Certified Organic" and the manufacturer site says "All our powders go through a rigorous third-party testing procedure which enables us to guarantee their purity for you."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Horbäach’s own site makes broad quality/testing claims such as “Laboratory Tested” and “We put our products to the test, ensuring maximum potency from each formula we produce,” and “test each individual product to ensure it meets our strict Quality Assurance Standards.” I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific Lion’s Mane 5000mg Focus Complex product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says “Puresport's Lion's Mane is Informed Sport Certified…” and the product page says “Rigorously tested… All of our products are Informed Sport certified…”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsuleBeta-(1,3)(1,6)-glucans 300 mg
Purity-IQ case study states Real Mushrooms "partnered with Purity-IQ to independently authenticate its products through the Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ program" and that Purity-IQ "makes ISO/IEC 17025-accredited authenticity testing accessible to consumers by independently verifying Real Mushrooms® products and issuing a QR-enabled Purity-IQ Certified Authentic™ trustmark for use on product labels."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Nutrition Geeks' "Ashwagandha 3rd Party Testing Results" page states: "Our independent third-party testing ..." and links a COA/lab report; the report is a Certificate of Analysis from Care Europe showing product/lot testing and results.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page includes a linked PDF titled "Heavy Metal analysis Lions Mane NGF Hericenones - Nov 2025"; the PDF text states "LAB RESULTS FOR: Lions mane NGF Hericenones" and lists heavy metals results: Arsenic PASS, Lead PASS, Mercury PASS, Cadmium PASS.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page includes a linked PDF titled "Heavy Metal analysis Lions Mane High Strength - Nov 2025"; the PDF states "LAB RESULTS FOR: Lions Mane High Strength" and lists heavy metals results (Arsenic, Lead, Mercury, Cadmium) as PASS.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing claims the product is "Soil Association Certified Organic" and the product images show the Soil Association Organic logo / "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC".
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Manufacturer COA
Manufacturer statement
Osavi’s certificate page for this lot states: “This supplement has been laboratory tested by an independent laboratory and meets the requirements for purity and composition.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon image/text claims "Third Party Tested" and shows an Intertek-branded "Quality Assurance Certificate" with passed results for arsenic, cadmium, lead, mercury, aerobic colony count, presumptive enterobacteriaceae, salmonella, beta glucuronidase-positive E. coli, listeria, coagulase positive staphylococci, moulds, and yeast. The manufacturer site also says "our goal is to design and produce UK Made, GMP-certified products" but I did not find an independently verifiable Intertek registry page or a product-specific certificate on Intertek's own domain for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" and links a PDF test report for this product; the report itself is titled "TEST REPORT NO 180428/26/RIG" for "Alpha01 - Org Lion's Mane Extract Capsules 28,000mg" and shows batch/lot LC242791/042028, test report date 09.03.2026, and results from SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic" laboratory.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says the product is "GMP-certified" and the brand's site has a general "Third-Party Tested" page stating "every formulation backed by rigorous analytical testing" and that supplements are sent to accredited third-party laboratories to verify purity and quality. I did not find a product-specific independent lab report or registry entry for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "The Prowise Advantage: Rigorous Testing: A rigid procedure to test every product at every stage ensures we meet the highest quality standards for our customers."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for this product and links a PDF test report for batch LC242791/042028; the PDF states "Sample description: Alpha01 - Org Lion's Mane Extract Capsules 28,000mg" and "Test report date 09.03.2026" with results for Salmonella, E. coli, and heavy metals, issued by SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic" laboratory.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Zipvit’s product page says “102{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} LABEL ACCURACY”, “4/4 TESTS PASSED”, “2/2 CLAIMS VERIFIED”, and “INDEPENDENTLY LAB-TESTED” with a “SEE LAB RESULTS” prompt, but I did not find an independently accessible lab report or certifying-body registry page for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "To ensure the highest safety and quality, our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals and unwanted compounds during production to fully comply with global regulations." Amazon listing also says: "SAFETY, PURITY & QUALITY ASSURED" and the product image includes a "Certified B Corporation" badge, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific lab report or certification registry entry for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule5:1
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Focus Supplements FAQ/product pages state: "Plus, we can provide a certificate of analysis for every product. Drop us a message at support@focussupplements.co.uk to request one." No product-specific COA or independent registry entry for FS Lions Mane was found.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and SuperSelf product page state the capsules are "tested by independent laboratories for potency and purity" / "independently tested to meet or exceed all relevant UK and EU safety standards."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / part
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "Our BRCGS certification tells you we maintain product and quality standards..." and "Post-formulation, we manufacture sample batches for stability testing, evidencing consistency, efficacy, and safety throughout shelf life." These are general quality/testing claims, but I did not find independently verifiable third-party testing or a product-specific certificate for this Lion's Mane product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Lion's mane forms and labels explained
Lion's mane labels can mix fungal part, extraction method, ratios and marker claims into one headline number. Keep each field separate so that a large raw-equivalent figure or vague polysaccharide claim does not look like a larger verified dose.
Fruiting body extract
Concentrated fruiting-body material
Main dose
Actual extract mg
Record separately
DER / raw equivalent
A 20:1 or 30:1 claim does not mean the user swallowed that raw-material mass.
Fruiting body powder
Dried mushroom material
Extraction
None stated
Compare
Actual powder mg
Some older human trials used dry powder; that does not make every powder clinically equivalent.
Mycelium
Vegetative fungal tissue
Chemistry context
Erinacines reported predominantly here
Do not infer
Marker amount
A mycelium label does not prove that a retail serving contains a clinically relevant erinacine concentration.
Mycelium with substrate
Cultured biomass product
Check
Residual growth medium
Do not assume
All mass is mushroom tissue
Record grain or other substrate when the manufacturer says it remains in the finished material.
Mixed preparation
More than one mushroom material
Record
Each component if disclosed
Unknown split
Keep visible
Do not invent a fruiting-body/mycelium ratio when the label gives only a combined amount.
Lion's mane dose depends on the preparation
No UK authority recommendation for a daily Lion's mane intake or formal upper limit was located in the sources checked. The FSA advises following the product's labelled directions, not exceeding the recommended dose, and seeking professional advice when pregnancy, breastfeeding, medical conditions or regular medicines are relevant. [1]
Human studies cannot be reduced to one dose range. A mild-cognitive-impairment trial used about 3 g/day of dry mushroom powder for 16 weeks, while a mild-Alzheimer's pilot used 1.05 g/day of erinacine-A-enriched mycelia for 49 weeks. [3][7] A healthy-young-adult pilot used 1.8 g/day of a proprietary mushroom complex for 28 days. [5]
Compare the actual material consumed. A 600 mg extract with an 18 g raw-equivalent claim is still 600 mg of extract in the daily-dose column; keep the 18 g figure separately. [16]
What human Lion's mane studies actually show
Human evidence is limited and heterogeneous. The 2009 placebo-controlled trial in 30 older adults with mild cognitive impairment reported better cognitive-scale scores during 16 weeks of Lion's mane dry powder, but the sample was small and the effect fell after supplementation stopped. [3]
In healthy younger adults, a 2023 pilot using 1.8 g/day found a selected acute Stroop result and an exploratory stress signal, but many cognitive outcomes were not significantly different and the study was designed as a pilot. [5] A newer acute fruiting-body-extract study included only 18 participants. [6]
The strongest mechanistic claims about erinacines, hericenones, NGF and neuroprotection are still supported largely by chemistry, cell and animal research rather than replicated large human trials. [8][10][11]
Lion's mane evidence by goal
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Cognition in mild cognitive impairment
Promising but limited
Dry Hericium erinaceus powder
30 adults aged 50–80; about 3 g/day for 16 weeks; placebo controlled.
Small clinical population; findings fell after stopping; not directly transferable to concentrated extracts.
Cognition and stress in healthy young adults
Preliminary
Proprietary organic Lion's mane mushroom complex
41 chronic completers; 1.8 g/day for 28 days; double-blind pilot.
Small pilot, multiple outcomes and proprietary preparation; selected findings rather than broad cognitive improvement.
Mood
Preliminary
Fruiting-body-containing cookies
30 women for four weeks in a placebo-controlled trial.
Small, short and population-specific; multiple mood/menopausal endpoints.
Mild Alzheimer's disease
Early clinical evidence for one enriched preparation
Erinacine-A-enriched mycelia
Three 350 mg capsules/day, 5 mg/g erinacine A, for 49 weeks.
Disease population and specialised mycelial preparation; not evidence for generic retail Lion's mane.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Memory and cognition
Small human trials report signals in people with mild cognitive impairment and in selected healthy-adult tests, but preparations, populations and outcomes differ. [3][5][6] This does not establish that every retail Lion's mane product improves memory or focus.
Mood and stress
A small four-week trial in 30 women reported improvements in some depression and complaint scores, and a young-adult pilot found an exploratory stress signal. [4][5] The evidence remains preliminary.
Neurodegenerative disease
An erinacine-A-enriched mycelial preparation has been studied for 49 weeks in mild Alzheimer's disease, but that is a specific clinical preparation and population. [7] It should not be used to market ordinary fruiting-body powder as a treatment.
When to take Lion's mane
No reliable human evidence establishes a universal morning-versus-evening advantage. Follow the product label unless a clinician advises otherwise. Trial schedules differ: the older MCI study divided powder across the day, whereas the 2023 young-adult pilot used three capsules each morning after breakfast. [3][5] Those protocols do not prove that one timing schedule is superior for retail products.
Lion's mane safety and allergy context
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Lion’s Mane - see the full detail below for why.
People with known mushroom allergy or previous reactions to mushroom products
People who develop rash, swelling, wheeze or breathing difficulty after taking a mushroom supplement
Pregnant or breastfeeding people unless a healthcare professional considers the product appropriate
People taking regular prescription medicines or living with a medical condition
People seeking to treat cognitive impairment, dementia, depression or another diagnosed condition
Long-term human safety data are limited and preparation-specific. In the 49-week erinacine-A-enriched mycelial study, four participants discontinued because of abdominal discomfort, nausea or skin rash. [7]
A rare case report described severe acute respiratory distress associated with a Lion's mane extract. [14] One case cannot tell us how common this is, but rash, swelling or breathing symptoms should be taken seriously.
The FSA advises discussing food supplements with a healthcare professional when pregnant, breastfeeding, taking regular medicines or living with a medical condition. [1] No evidence-based universal drug-separation interval for Lion's mane was identified.
Lion's mane blends and co-ingredients
Lion's mane is often combined with ginseng, B vitamins, black pepper or other mushrooms. Record every co-ingredient separately. A benefit supported for vitamin B12, zinc or another ingredient must not be attributed to Lion's mane.
UK food supplements cannot be sold as medicines for preventing, treating or curing disease, and health claims should be checked against the Great Britain claims framework. [1][2]
Who might consider Lion's mane
Adults considering Lion's mane for general cognition, focus or mood should treat the evidence as preliminary and check whether the retail product resembles the preparation actually studied. [8] People seeking treatment for cognitive impairment, dementia, depression or another diagnosed condition should not substitute a supplement comparison for medical care.
How to compare Lion's mane testing evidence
Useful Lion's mane testing goes beyond the phrase 'third-party tested'. Look for evidence tied to the exact product or batch and ask what was measured: species/identity, fruiting body or mycelium, beta-glucans, contaminants and any claimed erinacine/hericenone marker.
Total polysaccharides and beta-glucans are not interchangeable. Mushroom beta-glucan methods separately quantify glucan fractions, and modern supplement matrices can complicate the measurement. [12][13] The site's testing guide explains how claims, manufacturer COAs and independently verifiable evidence are separated. Read the guide
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence2
Manufacturer COA4
Testing claimed14
No public evidence located5
What does lion’s mane cost?
Current UK comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
£0.04Lowest daily cost
£0.12Median daily cost
£1.17Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
Is fruiting body better than mycelium?
The evidence does not support a universal winner. Human studies have used dry mushroom/fruiting-body preparations, proprietary complexes and erinacine-enriched mycelia. [3][5][7] Compare the exact preparation and testing rather than assuming one fungal part is always superior.
What does a 20:1 or 30:1 Lion's mane extract mean?
It is an extraction/raw-material ratio claim, not the actual mass swallowed. One current UK listing provides 600 mg actual extract while stating an 18 g raw-material equivalent. [16] Keep those numbers separate.
Are polysaccharides the same as beta-glucans?
No. Beta-glucans are a specific glucan fraction, while a total-polysaccharide figure is broader. Analytical methods can separate beta-glucan from alpha-glucan/starch-related fractions. [12] Do not convert one label percentage into the other.
Does Lion's mane improve memory and focus?
Small human studies report some positive cognitive findings, but results depend on population, test and preparation and the evidence is not yet strong enough for a universal claim. [3][5][6]
Is there a recommended Lion's mane dose in the UK?
No UK authority recommendation or formal upper limit was located in the sources checked. Follow the product label and do not treat a trial dose or raw-equivalent marketing figure as a government recommendation. [1]