The US version of The Supplement Compare is currently being prepared and will be available soon.
Stronger today. Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options. A healthier you.
Turmeric / Curcumin Supplements
Compare turmeric / curcumin supplements by preparation, actual extract amount, curcuminoids, price and testing evidence. Read the evidence, label guidance and key cautions.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made product page states: "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." The USP registry page for dietary supplements also shows Nature Made turmeric products are part of USP-verified products generally, but I did not find a registry entry for this exact turmeric item; the strongest support found is the product's own USP verification claim plus USP's verification program description.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Recognised certification
Manufacturer statement
Nature Made product page states: "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." The USP registry page for dietary supplements also shows Nature Made turmeric products are part of USP-verified products generally, but I did not find a registry entry for this exact turmeric item; the strongest support found is the product's own USP verification claim plus USP's verification program description.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Compare the actual swallowed root or extract mg first, then total curcuminoids, piperine and any formulation technology. Raw-equivalent numbers are kept separate and enhanced absorption is not treated as automatic superiority. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
Nutrasource registry page states: "IGEN™ Certified" and "This product has PASSED because it does not contain detectable amounts of genetically engineered GMO proteins and genes included in the IGEN™ testing panel."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nature Made product page states: "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." The USP registry page for dietary supplements also shows Nature Made turmeric products are part of USP-verified products generally, but I did not find a registry entry for this exact turmeric item; the strongest support found is the product's own USP verification claim plus USP's verification program description.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NatureWise product page states: "Contents Certified by NSF" and "This supplement is NSF-certified, which means its contents are thoroughly tested for accuracy and purity, and has been confirmed for no harmful levels of contaminants." NSF's own listings page also includes "Naturewise Made with Organic Turmeric Curcumin 2250 mg Plus Organic Ginger" under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Garden of Life product page states: “Certified Gluten Free by NSF, and Certified Kosher” and “Third Party Non-GMO Project Verified is an assurance, through ongoing testing, that the product has been produced according to consensus-based best practices for GMO avoidance.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Youtheory product page says: "USP Verified and third-party tested, it’s a high-potency turmeric supplement you can trust for everyday mobility and wellness.*"
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Thorne product page states: "This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms." NSF's own Certified for Sport listing confirms "Thorne® Curcumin Phytosome" with package size 60, 120 and lot #417186.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "Produced in the UK in a Soil Association–certified and quality-controlled facility" and "CERTIFIED ORGANIC BY THE SOIL ASSOCIATION"; Nutri-Ark site also says its turmeric is made in a "certified organic facility" and the home page mentions "rigorous quality standards." I did not find an independent Soil Association registry page or any product-specific COA/lab report for this turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swanson’s quality-control page says: “Our ingredients are tested at various stages throughout the production process to verify purity and potency. All finished products are inspected by our Quality Control specialists and tested by independent third-party laboratories to ensure that each supplement contains exactly what’s stated on the label.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
USP Verified Products registry lists “Nature Made Turmeric Extra Strength 1000 Mg (950 Mg Curcuminoids) Per Serving Capsules” as a USP Verified product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "USP Verified and third-party tested, it’s a high-potency turmeric supplement you can trust for everyday mobility and wellness.*" and also "Our products are rigorously tested for purity & potency."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
MegaFood’s product page says the turmeric supplement is “Non-GMO Project Verified” and the brand’s certificates page says “Tested for 150+ Pesticides” and “This product is tested to verify it's free from 250+ substances banned by major athletic organizations and that the contents meet what is claimed on the label.” However, I did not find an independently verifiable certification or lab report specifically for this turmeric product beyond the brand’s own claims.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ Quality Assurance page says: “All raw materials and finished products are independently tested for purity and potency by our third-party laboratories.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer states: "our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality" and "Raw materials are tested for identity, potency, microbial contaminants, heavy metals ... 32 solvent residues ... Herbal ingredients are tested for 70 different pesticide compounds."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Life Extension’s product-development page says of Curcumin Elite™: “Ultra-potent curcumin from co-op farms across India, combined with fenugreek fibers to maximize availability. The result: ultra-high free curcuminoid counts and incredible absorption.” The product page also says the formula is “ultra-bioavailable” and “up to 45x more bioavailability,” but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Guaranteed!" and "We put our herbs to the test to ensure exceptional purity and potency"; the site also has an "Access Test Results" page, but I did not find a product-specific COA, lab report, or independent registry confirmation for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Full traceability and testing Every batch has microbiological and heavy metal testing to ensure quality and safety of consumption."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Solaray’s own product/quality pages say the product is "Lab Verified," that Solaray "triple-test[s] every lot," "conduct[s] stringent testing in our ISO-accredited lab," and that its Ogden, Utah lab verifies ingredient potency and purity; however, I did not find an independently verifiable third-party certificate or lab report for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "Laboratory Tested" and "tested in independent laboratories for quality and purity"; Doctor's Best's own product page also says "Science-Based Nutrition" and links a fact sheet, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party certificate or lab report for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Guaranteed!" and "We put our herbs to the test to ensure exceptional purity and potency"; the site also has an "Access Test Results" page, but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "The Prowise Advantage: Rigorous Testing: A rigid procedure to test every product at every stage ensures we meet the highest quality standards for our customers." The product page also says "Quality Control & Premium Ingredients - We take pride in full quality control right from Blending till Follow up testing" and the Amazon listing claims "3RD PARTY LAB TESTED" and "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC," but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or a certifying-body registry page for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NOW’s product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” NOW’s quality page also says it conducts over 31,000 tests each month and partners with third-party labs for independent verification, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certificate/COA for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer/product pages state: "3rd Party Lab Tested for Purity & Quality." and "All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested" / "Lab Tested".
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutrasource registry page states: "IGEN™ Certified" and "This product has PASSED because it does not contain detectable amounts of genetically engineered GMO proteins and genes included in the IGEN™ testing panel."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nature Made product page states: "USP has tested and verified ingredients, potency and manufacturing process." The USP registry page for dietary supplements also shows Nature Made turmeric products are part of USP-verified products generally, but I did not find a registry entry for this exact turmeric item; the strongest support found is the product's own USP verification claim plus USP's verification program description.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
NatureWise product page states: "Contents Certified by NSF" and "This supplement is NSF-certified, which means its contents are thoroughly tested for accuracy and purity, and has been confirmed for no harmful levels of contaminants." NSF's own listings page also includes "Naturewise Made with Organic Turmeric Curcumin 2250 mg Plus Organic Ginger" under NSF/ANSI Standard 173.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Garden of Life product page states: “Certified Gluten Free by NSF, and Certified Kosher” and “Third Party Non-GMO Project Verified is an assurance, through ongoing testing, that the product has been produced according to consensus-based best practices for GMO avoidance.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Youtheory product page says: "USP Verified and third-party tested, it’s a high-potency turmeric supplement you can trust for everyday mobility and wellness.*"
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Thorne product page states: "This product has been third-party tested and certified to verify what's in the package matches what's on the label and to confirm it contains no unsafe levels of contaminants, such as heavy metals, pesticides, and microorganisms." NSF's own Certified for Sport listing confirms "Thorne® Curcumin Phytosome" with package size 60, 120 and lot #417186.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says the product is "Produced in the UK in a Soil Association–certified and quality-controlled facility" and "CERTIFIED ORGANIC BY THE SOIL ASSOCIATION"; Nutri-Ark site also says its turmeric is made in a "certified organic facility" and the home page mentions "rigorous quality standards." I did not find an independent Soil Association registry page or any product-specific COA/lab report for this turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swanson’s quality-control page says: “Our ingredients are tested at various stages throughout the production process to verify purity and potency. All finished products are inspected by our Quality Control specialists and tested by independent third-party laboratories to ensure that each supplement contains exactly what’s stated on the label.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
USP Verified Products registry lists “Nature Made Turmeric Extra Strength 1000 Mg (950 Mg Curcuminoids) Per Serving Capsules” as a USP Verified product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "USP Verified and third-party tested, it’s a high-potency turmeric supplement you can trust for everyday mobility and wellness.*" and also "Our products are rigorously tested for purity & potency."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
MegaFood’s product page says the turmeric supplement is “Non-GMO Project Verified” and the brand’s certificates page says “Tested for 150+ Pesticides” and “This product is tested to verify it's free from 250+ substances banned by major athletic organizations and that the contents meet what is claimed on the label.” However, I did not find an independently verifiable certification or lab report specifically for this turmeric product beyond the brand’s own claims.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ Quality Assurance page says: “All raw materials and finished products are independently tested for purity and potency by our third-party laboratories.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer states: "our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality" and "Raw materials are tested for identity, potency, microbial contaminants, heavy metals ... 32 solvent residues ... Herbal ingredients are tested for 70 different pesticide compounds."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Life Extension’s product-development page says of Curcumin Elite™: “Ultra-potent curcumin from co-op farms across India, combined with fenugreek fibers to maximize availability. The result: ultra-high free curcuminoid counts and incredible absorption.” The product page also says the formula is “ultra-bioavailable” and “up to 45x more bioavailability,” but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Guaranteed!" and "We put our herbs to the test to ensure exceptional purity and potency"; the site also has an "Access Test Results" page, but I did not find a product-specific COA, lab report, or independent registry confirmation for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Full traceability and testing Every batch has microbiological and heavy metal testing to ensure quality and safety of consumption."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Solaray’s own product/quality pages say the product is "Lab Verified," that Solaray "triple-test[s] every lot," "conduct[s] stringent testing in our ISO-accredited lab," and that its Ogden, Utah lab verifies ingredient potency and purity; however, I did not find an independently verifiable third-party certificate or lab report for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says the product is "Laboratory Tested" and "tested in independent laboratories for quality and purity"; Doctor's Best's own product page also says "Science-Based Nutrition" and links a fact sheet, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party certificate or lab report for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says: "CARLYLE MANUFACTURERS: Laboratory Tested, Trusted Ingredients, Superior Quality, 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Guaranteed!" and "We put our herbs to the test to ensure exceptional purity and potency"; the site also has an "Access Test Results" page, but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "The Prowise Advantage: Rigorous Testing: A rigid procedure to test every product at every stage ensures we meet the highest quality standards for our customers." The product page also says "Quality Control & Premium Ingredients - We take pride in full quality control right from Blending till Follow up testing" and the Amazon listing claims "3RD PARTY LAB TESTED" and "SOIL ASSOCIATION CERTIFIED ORGANIC," but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or a certifying-body registry page for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
NOW’s product page says: “Made and quality tested in the USA with globally sourced ingredients.” NOW’s quality page also says it conducts over 31,000 tests each month and partners with third-party labs for independent verification, but I did not find an independently verifiable product-specific certificate/COA for this exact product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer/product pages state: "3rd Party Lab Tested for Purity & Quality." and "All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested" / "Lab Tested".
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Turmeric / curcumin forms and labels explained
Read the Supplement Facts in layers: actual root or extract mass, curcuminoid content, piperine or delivery technology, and any raw-equivalent marketing. Those figures are not interchangeable.
Root-powder mass cannot be converted to curcuminoids unless the product provides a verified concentration.
Standardised extract
Concentrated turmeric extract
Record
Extract mg + standardisation
Calculate
Curcuminoids if unambiguous
A standardised extract can be compared more precisely than an unspecified extract, but higher percentage is not automatically better.
Curcuminoids disclosed
Active-content disclosure
Shows
Total curcuminoids
Not identical to
Pure curcumin
Curcumin, demethoxycurcumin and bisdemethoxycurcumin can contribute to total curcuminoids.
With piperine
Black-pepper bioavailability adjuvant
Record
Piperine mg
Evidence type
Pharmacokinetic
Higher absorption does not automatically prove better clinical outcomes or greater safety.
Phytosome phospholipid
Enhanced-absorption complex
Compare
Complex mass
Do not equate
Complex mg = curcumin mg
Phospholipid formulations have separate pharmacokinetic evidence and need product-specific active-content data.
Other enhanced absorption
Micellar, liposomal, submicron or oil-based
Record
Exact technology
Do not assume
Clinical superiority
Formulation technology can alter exposure; outcome evidence must still match the studied product.
Raw equivalent
Herbal-equivalent marketing value
Keep separate
Raw-equivalent mg
Primary dose
Actual swallowed mg
A 32,000 mg raw-equivalent claim can come from a 500 mg concentrated extract; the two numbers answer different questions.
How to compare turmeric and curcumin doses
No FDA Daily Value, RDA, AI or established Tolerable Upper Intake Level exists for turmeric, curcumin or curcuminoids in the authoritative sources checked. NCCIH gives formulation-specific safety context rather than a numeric daily target. [1]
For comparison, use the actual swallowed preparation. If a label states 800 mg turmeric extract standardised to 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} total curcuminoids, that is 760 mg curcuminoids. A raw/herbal-equivalent number belongs in a separate field and should not replace the 800 mg actual extract amount.
Research amounts vary widely: 1,500 mg/day curcuminoids in one OA study, BCM-95 500 mg twice daily in another, and 2 g curcumin + 20 mg piperine in an acute pharmacokinetic study. [6][7][8] These are not FDA-recommended doses.
What does the turmeric and curcumin evidence show?
NCCIH says available studies are difficult to compare because turmeric/curcumin products vary in curcumin content and often include other ingredients such as piperine. It describes knee-OA evidence as initially positive but not definitive. [1]
A meta-analysis of 16 RCTs found improvements in knee pain and physical function versus placebo but substantial heterogeneity. [5] More recent network meta-analysis also reinforces that turmeric products cannot be treated as one standardised intervention. [4]
Enhanced-bioavailability technologies can increase blood exposure, but pharmacokinetic superiority should not be converted into an automatic clinical-outcome score. [8][9]
Turmeric and curcumin evidence by research question
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Knee osteoarthritis pain and function
Promising but heterogeneous
Multiple turmeric / curcumin extracts and formulations
Meta-analysis of 16 RCTs, 1,810 adults, studies up to 16 weeks.
Very high heterogeneity and moderate risk of bias; products are not dose-equivalent.
High-dose curcuminoid OA trial
Limited single-trial evidence
Curcuminoids 1,500 mg/day
Small randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study over 6 weeks.
Small sample and specific high-dose preparation.
Bioavailable-extract OA trial
Formulation-specific positive evidence
BCM-95 500 mg twice daily
Six-week randomized non-inferiority trial versus paracetamol; 144 completers.
Branded formulation and active comparator; not evidence for all enhanced products.
Increase systemic curcumin exposure
Pharmacokinetic evidence only
Piperine and phospholipid enhancement
Human acute absorption studies show increased systemic curcuminoid exposure.
Blood exposure does not establish superior symptom or disease outcomes.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Knee osteoarthritis
Short-term trials and meta-analyses suggest symptom improvement from some turmeric/curcumin preparations, but products and doses are heterogeneous. [4][5]
Enhanced absorption
Piperine and phospholipid formulations can increase systemic curcuminoid exposure in human pharmacokinetic studies. [8][9] Those studies measure absorption, not a universal improvement in pain, function or disease outcomes.
Other health goals
NCCIH states that evidence is not sufficient to definitively conclude that turmeric or curcumin is beneficial for general health purposes beyond the still-developing condition-specific research. [1]
Timing and label directions
No universal morning or evening timing advantage is established. Follow the exact Supplement Facts directions. Current US labels commonly advise use with food, but that is product-specific rather than proof of a class-wide efficacy advantage. [11][12]
Liver safety, side effects and cautions
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Turmeric / Curcumin - see the full detail below for why.
People with current or previous liver problems
People with gallbladder or biliary conditions
People taking prescription medicines
Pregnant people; supplement-level turmeric use may be unsafe according to NCCIH
Breastfeeding people because safety of amounts greater than food use is not well established
People who develop fatigue, nausea, poor appetite, dark urine or jaundice while using turmeric/curcumin supplements
NCCIH states that conventionally formulated oral turmeric/curcumin is likely safe in recommended amounts for up to 2–3 months, but liver damage has been reported in some people consuming enhanced-bioavailability formulations. [1]
The US DILIN series described ten adjudicated turmeric-associated liver injuries; five patients were hospitalised and one died of acute liver failure. [10] These cases do not establish the absolute risk for ordinary users but justify a clear liver warning.
NCCIH also advises caution in pregnancy and recommends discussing herbal products with healthcare professionals when medicines are used. [1]
Black pepper, piperine and combination formulas
Piperine from black pepper can substantially raise measured curcumin exposure. [8] Record the piperine amount separately and do not assume that higher exposure means a better overall product.
Combination products may also contain ginger, boswellia, oils, vitamins or other actives. Their evidence should remain separate from turmeric/curcumin evidence.
Who might consider turmeric or curcumin?
Adults interested in turmeric/curcumin for joint-related goals can use the comparison to identify the specific preparation, active amount and formulation studied. NCCIH describes OA evidence as initially positive while noting that better-quality research is still needed. [1]
People attempting to treat diagnosed osteoarthritis, liver disease or another medical condition should use healthcare guidance rather than a supplement ranking.
Testing turmeric and curcumin properly
Useful testing should identify the botanical and plant part, measure curcuminoid potency, assess relevant contaminants and match the finished product/batch. Piperine should be measured separately when a quantitative label claim is made.
Natural-origin authenticity is a separate question from potency. Analytical marketplace research has shown that HPLC potency data and origin/authenticity methods answer different questions about turmeric products. [14]
FDA cGMP requirements address identity, purity, quality, strength and composition. [3] That is not the same as an independently accessible batch report or proof of clinical efficacy.
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification3
Verified independent evidence0
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed18
No public evidence located4
What does turmeric / curcumin cost?
Current US comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
$0.05Lowest daily cost
$0.36Median daily cost
$2.23Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
Is turmeric the same as curcumin?
No. Turmeric is the Curcuma longa rhizome; curcumin is one component within its curcuminoid fraction. [1]
Does turmeric or curcumin have an FDA Daily Value?
No FDA Daily Value or RDA was identified for turmeric or curcumin. NCCIH discusses evidence and safety by formulation rather than giving a recommended daily intake. [1][2]
Does black pepper make curcumin work better?
Black-pepper piperine can increase measured curcumin bioavailability. [8] That is a pharmacokinetic finding; it does not prove every piperine-containing supplement produces better clinical outcomes.
What does 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoids mean?
It is a standardisation claim. For example, a current US product declares 800 mg turmeric extract standardised to 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoids and separately states 760 mg curcuminoids. [12] Total curcuminoids should not be relabelled as pure curcumin unless the label supports that.
Can turmeric supplements cause liver injury?
Rare cases have been reported. NCCIH specifically warns that liver damage has occurred in some people using enhanced-bioavailability formulations, and DILIN has published a case series of adjudicated injuries. [1][10]