The US version of The Supplement Compare is currently being prepared and will be available soon.
Stronger today. Brighter tomorrow.Evidence. Options. A healthier you.
Turmeric / Curcumin Supplements
Compare turmeric / curcumin supplements by preparation, actual extract amount, curcuminoids, price and testing evidence. Read the evidence, label guidance and key cautions.
We may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Affiliate relationships never determine our scores or rankings.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says: "Our Turmeric (curcumin) with organic ginger and organic black pepper capsules are independently tested for heavy metals and microbiological safety to ensure quality and purity."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says: "Our Turmeric (curcumin) with organic ginger and organic black pepper capsules are independently tested for heavy metals and microbiological safety to ensure quality and purity."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says "CERTIFIED ORGANIC BY THE SOIL ASSOCIATION" and the product images show a Soil Association Organic logo, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry page for this specific turmeric product.
Compare the actual swallowed root or extract mg first, then total curcuminoids, piperine and any formulation technology. Raw-equivalent numbers are kept separate and enhanced absorption is not treated as automatic superiority. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
Manufacturer product page lists "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for this product and links a report titled "Heavy Metals Testing" / "Microbial Contaminants Testing"; the opened report is "TEST REPORT NO 207605/26/RIG" for "Alpha01 - Organic 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Curcumin Extract Capsules 15,000mg" with batch LC240376/122028.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swiss BioEnergetics’ own site says: “Every batch is third-party tested for purity and potency.” The turmeric product page also says it is “Certified Organic GB-ORG-05 (Soil Association)” and “Manufactured in the UK to GMP Code of Practice and ISO 9001,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or a certifying-body registry entry for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "Our Turmeric (curcumin) with organic ginger and organic black pepper capsules are independently tested for heavy metals and microbiological safety to ensure quality and purity."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and manufacturer page state the product is "Certified by Informed Sport" / "every batch is independently third party tested for banned substances by LGC"; manufacturer page also lists batch certificates.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ own ‘Quality at Our Core’ page says: ‘To ensure that all products meet the highest standards, our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality.’ It also says raw materials are tested for identity, potency, microbial contaminants, heavy metals, 32 solvent residues, and allergens depending on risk, and herbal ingredients are tested for 70 different pesticide compounds.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "CERTIFIED ORGANIC BY THE SOIL ASSOCIATION" and the product images show a Soil Association Organic logo, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry page for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product has "free-from synthetic and chemical additives common in curcumin products" and "provides a guaranteed amount of curcumin in each capsule"; Amazon listing says "clinically studied turmeric extract" and "high-potency turmeric extract standardised to curcuminoids." NSF registry shows Pure Encapsulations has NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP listings, but I did not find a product-specific certification for this curcumin item.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Best Naturals site both state testing claims such as “3rd Part Lab Tested - Our All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested” and “All manufactured products undergo final analytical testing… Final testing includes physical and chemical analyses and microbiological testing,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site states: "Filler free and 3rd party verified" and "Every batch is tested by independent, third-party laboratories. We publish Certificates of Analysis so you can verify purity, potency, and safety for yourself."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says the product is "Vegan-friendly, rigorously tested, and made to Nature’s Best quality standards" and the related article says they use a "comprehensive analytical test procedure" with 13 quality control checks on every batch of turmeric extract.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
VAHDAM UK product page says: "Our extract is standardised so 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of its weight is curcuminoids, tested batch by batch."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Every batch is tested by independent, third-party laboratories. We publish Certificates of Analysis so you can verify purity, potency, and safety for yourself." Product page also says "96.9{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoids 3rd party verified" and "3rd Party Tested Every batch."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer quality page states: "To ensure that all products meet the highest standards, our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
iHerb product page for BioSchwartz Turmeric Curcumin with Bioperine® states "Third Party Tested" and "Non GMO Project Verified" in the overview, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or lab report for this specific BioSchwartz turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site states: “ALWAYS LAB TESTED TWICE… Each Oxford Origins formula is rigorously tested during manufacturing and by the leading third-party lab…” and “3rd Party Lab Tested — Every formula is tested by the leading third party laboratory in the UK.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Quality Assured ✅" and "Our Supplements Are Made With You In Mind." It also says the product page is "Turmeric 2,500mg and Black Pepper 630mg Tablets" with no independently verifiable COA/certification found for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page lists "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for this product and links a report titled "Heavy Metals Testing" / "Microbial Contaminants Testing"; the opened report is "TEST REPORT NO 207605/26/RIG" for "Alpha01 - Organic 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Curcumin Extract Capsules 15,000mg" with batch LC240376/122028.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Swiss BioEnergetics’ own site says: “Every batch is third-party tested for purity and potency.” The turmeric product page also says it is “Certified Organic GB-ORG-05 (Soil Association)” and “Manufactured in the UK to GMP Code of Practice and ISO 9001,” but I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or a certifying-body registry entry for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page says: "Our Turmeric (curcumin) with organic ginger and organic black pepper capsules are independently tested for heavy metals and microbiological safety to ensure quality and purity."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and manufacturer page state the product is "Certified by Informed Sport" / "every batch is independently third party tested for banned substances by LGC"; manufacturer page also lists batch certificates.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ own ‘Quality at Our Core’ page says: ‘To ensure that all products meet the highest standards, our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality.’ It also says raw materials are tested for identity, potency, microbial contaminants, heavy metals, 32 solvent residues, and allergens depending on risk, and herbal ingredients are tested for 70 different pesticide compounds.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says "CERTIFIED ORGANIC BY THE SOIL ASSOCIATION" and the product images show a Soil Association Organic logo, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry page for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product has "free-from synthetic and chemical additives common in curcumin products" and "provides a guaranteed amount of curcumin in each capsule"; Amazon listing says "clinically studied turmeric extract" and "high-potency turmeric extract standardised to curcuminoids." NSF registry shows Pure Encapsulations has NSF/ANSI 455-2 GMP listings, but I did not find a product-specific certification for this curcumin item.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing and Best Naturals site both state testing claims such as “3rd Part Lab Tested - Our All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested” and “All manufactured products undergo final analytical testing… Final testing includes physical and chemical analyses and microbiological testing,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site states: "Filler free and 3rd party verified" and "Every batch is tested by independent, third-party laboratories. We publish Certificates of Analysis so you can verify purity, potency, and safety for yourself."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedTablet
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page says the product is "Vegan-friendly, rigorously tested, and made to Nature’s Best quality standards" and the related article says they use a "comprehensive analytical test procedure" with 13 quality control checks on every batch of turmeric extract.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
VAHDAM UK product page says: "Our extract is standardised so 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} of its weight is curcuminoids, tested batch by batch."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer site says: "Every batch is tested by independent, third-party laboratories. We publish Certificates of Analysis so you can verify purity, potency, and safety for yourself." Product page also says "96.9{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoids 3rd party verified" and "3rd Party Tested Every batch."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer quality page states: "To ensure that all products meet the highest standards, our raw materials are scientifically tested before use, and every formula is tested to confirm its quality."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Preparation / formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
iHerb product page for BioSchwartz Turmeric Curcumin with Bioperine® states "Third Party Tested" and "Non GMO Project Verified" in the overview, but I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or lab report for this specific BioSchwartz turmeric product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site states: “ALWAYS LAB TESTED TWICE… Each Oxford Origins formula is rigorously tested during manufacturing and by the leading third-party lab…” and “3rd Party Lab Tested — Every formula is tested by the leading third party laboratory in the UK.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Quality Assured ✅" and "Our Supplements Are Made With You In Mind." It also says the product page is "Turmeric 2,500mg and Black Pepper 630mg Tablets" with no independently verifiable COA/certification found for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
Turmeric / curcumin forms and labels explained
Read turmeric labels in layers: plant material first, then extract concentration, actual curcuminoids, raw-equivalent marketing and any absorption enhancer. Keeping those figures separate prevents a large headline number from looking like a larger proven active dose.
Root-powder mass cannot be converted to curcuminoids unless the product provides a verified concentration.
Standardised extract
Concentrated turmeric extract
Record
Extract mg + standardisation
Calculate
Curcuminoids if unambiguous
A standardised extract can be compared more precisely than an unspecified extract, but higher percentage is not automatically better.
Curcuminoids disclosed
Active-content disclosure
Shows
Total curcuminoids
Not identical to
Pure curcumin
Curcumin, demethoxycurcumin and bisdemethoxycurcumin can contribute to total curcuminoids.
With piperine
Black-pepper bioavailability adjuvant
Record
Piperine mg
Evidence type
Pharmacokinetic
Higher absorption does not automatically prove better clinical outcomes or greater safety.
Phytosome phospholipid
Enhanced-absorption complex
Compare
Complex mass
Do not equate
Complex mg = curcumin mg
Phospholipid formulations have separate pharmacokinetic evidence and need product-specific active-content data.
Other enhanced absorption
Micellar, liposomal, submicron or oil-based
Record
Exact technology
Do not assume
Clinical superiority
Formulation technology can alter exposure; outcome evidence must still match the studied product.
Raw equivalent
Herbal-equivalent marketing value
Keep separate
Raw-equivalent mg
Primary dose
Actual swallowed mg
A 32,000 mg raw-equivalent claim can come from a 500 mg concentrated extract; the two numbers answer different questions.
How to compare turmeric and curcumin doses
There is no UK RNI or NRV for turmeric, curcumin or curcuminoids. Study doses vary because a root powder, a 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoid extract and a bioavailability-enhanced complex are not dose-equivalent.
The primary comparison should use the actual amount swallowed, not the raw-turmeric-equivalent number. If an extract is explicitly 500 mg and standardised to 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} total curcuminoids, the calculated curcuminoid amount is 475 mg. Do not apply that calculation to plain root powder unless its curcuminoid concentration is disclosed.
The UK COT discusses a 0–3 mg/kg body-weight acceptable daily intake for curcumin as food additive E100, but this is not a universal supplement dose or upper limit. COT also notes rare idiosyncratic liver injury can occur below that exposure. [2][4]
What does the turmeric and curcumin evidence show?
The strongest repeated human evidence is for knee osteoarthritis symptoms, but products differ substantially. A meta-analysis of 16 RCTs found lower pain and better physical function with turmeric extracts versus placebo, while also reporting very high heterogeneity and moderate risk of bias. [6] A newer network meta-analysis likewise treats turmeric products as multiple distinct preparations rather than one interchangeable dose. [5]
Absorption studies show that piperine and other technologies can increase systemic curcumin exposure, but pharmacokinetic improvement is not the same as proving superior pain relief or other clinical outcomes. [3][9]
Turmeric and curcumin evidence by research question
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Knee osteoarthritis pain and function
Promising but heterogeneous
Multiple turmeric extracts and curcumin formulations
Meta-analysis of 16 RCTs and 1,810 adults found pooled pain/function improvement versus placebo, with studies up to 16 weeks.
Very high heterogeneity, moderate risk of bias and differing formulations prevent a universal dose conclusion.
Knee osteoarthritis with high-dose curcuminoids
Limited single-trial evidence
Curcuminoids 1,500 mg/day
Small randomized placebo-controlled trial over 6 weeks.
Small sample and high-dose specific preparation; not directly comparable with root powder or enhanced low-dose products.
Knee osteoarthritis with bioavailable extract
Formulation-specific positive evidence
BCM-95 turmeric extract 500 mg twice daily
Six-week randomized non-inferiority trial versus paracetamol; 144 completers.
Branded formulation and active-comparator design; does not validate every 'high absorption' product.
Increase curcumin systemic exposure
Established pharmacokinetic effect, not clinical efficacy
Curcumin 2 g + piperine 20 mg
Acute human PK comparison with curcumin alone.
Measures blood exposure rather than pain, function or disease outcomes.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Knee osteoarthritis
Short-term trials and meta-analyses suggest some turmeric/curcumin preparations can improve pain and function. [5][6] However, studied formulations range from high-dose curcuminoids to proprietary bioavailable extracts, so the evidence should remain attached to the exact preparation.
Enhanced absorption
A human study using 2 g curcumin plus 20 mg piperine found substantially higher systemic exposure than curcumin alone. [9] This demonstrates pharmacokinetic enhancement, not a universal clinical-effect multiplier.
General health claims
The available evidence does not justify converting an absorption claim, antioxidant mechanism or traditional use into a broad prevention or treatment claim for an ordinary retail supplement.
Timing and label directions
No universal morning-versus-evening rule is established. Use the product's labelled directions. Current UK retail examples commonly instruct use with food, but that is a product direction rather than evidence that every turmeric supplement must be taken with a meal. [11][12]
Liver safety, side effects and cautions
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking Turmeric / Curcumin - see the full detail below for why.
People with current or previous liver problems
People with gallbladder or biliary conditions
People taking regular medicines, particularly where metabolism or bleeding risk may be relevant
Pregnant or breastfeeding people considering concentrated turmeric/curcumin supplements
People who develop jaundice, dark urine, marked fatigue, poor appetite or other possible liver-injury symptoms while using a turmeric/curcumin supplement
UK COT review identifies a real but apparently rare risk of idiosyncratic liver injury from turmeric/curcumin supplements, including at exposures below the food-additive ADI in susceptible people. [2] A US DILIN case series also documented severe cases, including hospitalisation and one death. [10]
Stop use and seek medical advice if symptoms compatible with liver injury develop, such as jaundice or dark urine. People with liver/biliary conditions, pregnancy/breastfeeding considerations or regular medicines should discuss concentrated supplements with a healthcare professional. General FSA advice also recommends professional context where medicines or medical conditions are relevant. [1]
Black pepper, piperine and combination formulas
Black-pepper extract is commonly added for piperine. Piperine can change curcumin pharmacokinetics and inhibits metabolic processes such as glucuronidation. [3] Record the piperine amount separately rather than treating 'with black pepper' as an automatic quality advantage.
Ginger, boswellia, vitamin C and other active ingredients must also be separated. Evidence for a combination formula should not be credited to turmeric alone.
Who might consider turmeric or curcumin?
Adults comparing turmeric or curcumin for joint-related goals can use this page to identify which retail formulations resemble those studied, but the evidence is not strong enough to make every turmeric supplement interchangeable. [5][6]
Anyone using a supplement to manage diagnosed osteoarthritis, liver disease or another medical condition should use clinical advice rather than a retail product score.
Testing turmeric and curcumin properly
Useful turmeric testing should confirm botanical identity, curcuminoid potency, relevant contaminants and the exact finished batch. Piperine should be assayed separately when a quantitative claim is made. The FSA has used separate analyses for curcuminoids, piperine and trace elements in turmeric products. [13]
Authenticity is another question: a potency result does not necessarily establish that curcuminoids are naturally derived from turmeric. A generic 'tested' or GMP claim therefore needs its scope checked. The Supplement Compare testing guide explains how claims, COAs and independently verifiable evidence are separated. Read the guide
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence1
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed14
No public evidence located10
What does turmeric / curcumin cost?
Current UK comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
£0.05Lowest daily cost
£0.17Median daily cost
£1.24Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
Is turmeric the same as curcumin?
No. Turmeric is the Curcuma longa rhizome, while curcumin is one curcuminoid within turmeric. Standardised extracts can contain far more curcuminoids per gram than ordinary root powder. [2]
What does 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} curcuminoids mean?
It means the relevant extract is declared to contain 95{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} total curcuminoids by weight. For an unambiguous 500 mg extract, that corresponds to 475 mg total curcuminoids. It does not automatically mean 475 mg pure curcumin.
Is 32,000 mg turmeric equivalent really a 32,000 mg dose?
No. One current UK listing describes a 500 mg 64:1 extract as equivalent to 32,000 mg raw turmeric. [12] The actual swallowed extract is 500 mg; raw equivalent should be shown separately.
Does black pepper make curcumin better?
Piperine can substantially increase measured curcumin exposure in pharmacokinetic research. [9] That does not prove every piperine product produces better clinical outcomes, and UK safety review also requires caution around bioavailability and interactions.
Can turmeric supplements affect the liver?
Yes, rarely. UK COT has concluded there is reasonable evidence linking turmeric/curcumin supplements with idiosyncratic liver injury in susceptible people. [2] This risk does not translate into a reliable universal safe-dose threshold.