Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Alpha01 product page for the same L-Theanine 400mg product lists 'CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS' and links to batch-specific reports for 'Potency & Active Ingredient Testing', 'Heavy Metals Testing', and 'Microbial Contaminants Testing' for batch LC249531.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Alpha01 product page for the same L-Theanine 400mg product lists 'CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS' and links to batch-specific reports for 'Potency & Active Ingredient Testing', 'Heavy Metals Testing', and 'Microbial Contaminants Testing' for batch LC249531.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Amazon listing says: "Our supplements have been expertly created to the strictest GMP guidelines in our facility here in the UK, meaning we can guarantee the quality and safety of every product." Oxford Vitality product page also says "Quality Assured ✅" and the product description says the company "independently formulated" the product, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party test/certification for this specific product.
Compare actual L-theanine mg per day. Tea extract, caffeine and other actives are kept separate, and a branded-ingredient claim is provenance, not automatic superiority. The amount is what the label states, not a dose-adequacy rating. Where directions give a range, the range is shown and daily cost uses the low end (no directions: one unit a day). Read the dose guide ↓
Alpha01 product page for the same L-Theanine 400mg product lists 'CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS' and links to batch-specific reports for 'Potency & Active Ingredient Testing', 'Heavy Metals Testing', and 'Microbial Contaminants Testing' for batch LC249531.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "Our supplements have been expertly created to the strictest GMP guidelines in our facility here in the UK, meaning we can guarantee the quality and safety of every product." Oxford Vitality product page also says "Quality Assured ✅" and the product description says the company "independently formulated" the product, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party test/certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Nutri Nation site both claim testing/certification: Amazon title says "GMP - Certified, Lab Tested"; product imagery says "Third-party Lab Tested"; Nutri Nation site says "GMP CERTIFIED & THIRD PARTY TESTED" and "Made in the USA in NSF and ISO 17025 certified laboratories and third-party tested." I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or product-specific COA for this exact L-Theanine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page says: "3rd Party Lab Tested for Purity & Quality." Amazon listing also says: "3rd Party Lab Tested - Our All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon image says “Lab Tested” and “Independent Lab Tested”; Nutrivo product page says “Quality You Can Trust” and “carefully crafted to the highest standards,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific L-Theanine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product is "3rd party tested" and the Amazon image says "TESTED FOR PURITY" / "Trusted quality from sourcing to capsule." I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer pages claim the product is "GMP Certified" / made in "GMP-certified facilities" and the Amazon listing claims "99{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f}+ Purity," but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA, lab report, or certification registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page says: "Rigorous Testing: To guarantee the integrity of the product, each batch undergoes independent testing by third-party, ISO accredited laboratories."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
REDWELLS quality page says: "COA Available on Request" and "Certificates of Analysis can be requested for available product batches"; it also lists L-Theanine with a latest batch number (20250605). This is a testing/COA claim, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for the specific Amazon capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and product page claim: "Every batch is lab-tested using HPLC measuring method to ensure purity and potency you can rely on"; product page also shows a "Lab Reports" page, but no specific report for this product was accessible in the page text I read.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "To ensure the highest safety and quality, our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals and unwanted compounds during production to fully comply with global regulations."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer page states: "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for Alpha01 L-Theanine Amino Acid 400mg, with linked reports for "Potency & Active Ingredient Testing," "Heavy Metals Testing," and "Microbial Contaminants Testing" for batch LC249531. The linked reports show the sample description "Alpha01 - L-Theanine Amino Acid Capsules 400mg" and independent lab testing by J.S. Hamilton Baltic / Eurofins Vitamin Testing Denmark A/S.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Our comprehensive, four-stage testing protocol ensures exceptional purity, potency, and safety from ingredients to final products. Every step is meticulously designed to meet the highest industry standards" and "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "3rd Party Tested" and "PhytoSure Certified."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page says: "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" with entries for "Potency & Active Ingredient Testing," "Heavy Metals Testing," and "Microbial Contaminants Testing" for batch LC249531, and the linked reports show testing performed by independent labs (e.g. "Test: Theanine was performed in laboratory EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark" and a separate J.S. Hamilton Baltic report for heavy metals/microbiology).
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nature's Best says on its own site: "Every one of our supplements is crafted, tested, and packaged right here in the UK." The L-Theanine product page also says the capsules are "highly absorbable" and made with "stringent ingredient standards," but I did not find any independently verifiable third-party COA or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing images/text show a generic badge reading "LAB TESTED" for Ambervit L-Theanine 200mg 180 capsules, but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Time Health product page says: "Third Party Test Report" and shows a "Heavy Metal Analysis" section, but I did not find a readable product-specific report for the L-Theanine item itself or an independently verifiable third-party registry entry for this product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site has a specific testing claim for a different product: "5greens Chlorella Tablets 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Chlorella Heavy Metal Tested". For the L-Theanine product itself, the product page only says "No Fillers No Nasty Chemicals 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Active Content" and similar marketing language, with no actual testing/certification claim found for this item.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ Quality Assurance page says: “All raw materials and finished products are independently tested for purity and potency by our third-party laboratories” and the product page for l-Theanine says it is “carefully manufactured and tested to verify their potency and purity.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Focus Supplements says: "Every batch is tested for heavy metals and microbiological organisms. In the name of total transparency, we provide certificates of analysis for every supplement. Drop us a message at support@focussupplements.co.uk to request one."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
WeightWorld’s product page says the capsules are part of its 'Third-Party Tested' range and that 'we send our supplements to accredited third-party laboratories to verify purity and quality without any internal bias.' However, I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific L-Theanine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Alpha01 product page for the same L-Theanine 400mg product lists 'CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS' and links to batch-specific reports for 'Potency & Active Ingredient Testing', 'Heavy Metals Testing', and 'Microbial Contaminants Testing' for batch LC249531.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing says: "Our supplements have been expertly created to the strictest GMP guidelines in our facility here in the UK, meaning we can guarantee the quality and safety of every product." Oxford Vitality product page also says "Quality Assured ✅" and the product description says the company "independently formulated" the product, but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party test/certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and Nutri Nation site both claim testing/certification: Amazon title says "GMP - Certified, Lab Tested"; product imagery says "Third-party Lab Tested"; Nutri Nation site says "GMP CERTIFIED & THIRD PARTY TESTED" and "Made in the USA in NSF and ISO 17025 certified laboratories and third-party tested." I did not find an independently verifiable registry entry or product-specific COA for this exact L-Theanine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer product page says: "3rd Party Lab Tested for Purity & Quality." Amazon listing also says: "3rd Party Lab Tested - Our All Best Naturals Products come with 3rd Party Independent Lab Tested."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon image says “Lab Tested” and “Independent Lab Tested”; Nutrivo product page says “Quality You Can Trust” and “carefully crafted to the highest standards,” but I did not find an independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific L-Theanine product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says the product is "3rd party tested" and the Amazon image says "TESTED FOR PURITY" / "Trusted quality from sourcing to capsule." I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer pages claim the product is "GMP Certified" / made in "GMP-certified facilities" and the Amazon listing claims "99{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f}+ Purity," but I did not find an independently verifiable third-party COA, lab report, or certification registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nutricost product page says: "Rigorous Testing: To guarantee the integrity of the product, each batch undergoes independent testing by third-party, ISO accredited laboratories."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
REDWELLS quality page says: "COA Available on Request" and "Certificates of Analysis can be requested for available product batches"; it also lists L-Theanine with a latest batch number (20250605). This is a testing/COA claim, but I did not find an independently verifiable COA or registry entry for the specific Amazon capsule product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing and product page claim: "Every batch is lab-tested using HPLC measuring method to ensure purity and potency you can rely on"; product page also shows a "Lab Reports" page, but no specific report for this product was accessible in the page text I read.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "To ensure the highest safety and quality, our products undergo rigorous testing for heavy metals and unwanted compounds during production to fully comply with global regulations."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer page states: "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" for Alpha01 L-Theanine Amino Acid 400mg, with linked reports for "Potency & Active Ingredient Testing," "Heavy Metals Testing," and "Microbial Contaminants Testing" for batch LC249531. The linked reports show the sample description "Alpha01 - L-Theanine Amino Acid Capsules 400mg" and independent lab testing by J.S. Hamilton Baltic / Eurofins Vitamin Testing Denmark A/S.
Laboratory
SIA "J.S. HAMILTON Baltic"; EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site says: "Our comprehensive, four-stage testing protocol ensures exceptional purity, potency, and safety from ingredients to final products. Every step is meticulously designed to meet the highest industry standards" and "our products undergo strict testing to qualify purity and stability"; the product page also says "3rd Party Tested" and "PhytoSure Certified."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Verified independent evidence
Manufacturer statement
Manufacturer product page says: "CERTIFICATIONS & LAB TESTS" with entries for "Potency & Active Ingredient Testing," "Heavy Metals Testing," and "Microbial Contaminants Testing" for batch LC249531, and the linked reports show testing performed by independent labs (e.g. "Test: Theanine was performed in laboratory EUROFINS VITAMIN TESTING DENMARK A/S VEJEN Denmark" and a separate J.S. Hamilton Baltic report for heavy metals/microbiology).
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Nature's Best says on its own site: "Every one of our supplements is crafted, tested, and packaged right here in the UK." The L-Theanine product page also says the capsules are "highly absorbable" and made with "stringent ingredient standards," but I did not find any independently verifiable third-party COA or certification for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Amazon listing images/text show a generic badge reading "LAB TESTED" for Ambervit L-Theanine 200mg 180 capsules, but I did not find any independently verifiable COA, lab report, or certifying-body registry entry for this specific product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Time Health product page says: "Third Party Test Report" and shows a "Heavy Metal Analysis" section, but I did not find a readable product-specific report for the L-Theanine item itself or an independently verifiable third-party registry entry for this product.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Manufacturer site has a specific testing claim for a different product: "5greens Chlorella Tablets 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Chlorella Heavy Metal Tested". For the L-Theanine product itself, the product page only says "No Fillers No Nasty Chemicals 100{3683f0b818e4e7eac3a25ad8212965194ab09621a23bd0189e97e17dfedff11f} Active Content" and similar marketing language, with no actual testing/certification claim found for this item.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Pure Encapsulations’ Quality Assurance page says: “All raw materials and finished products are independently tested for purity and potency by our third-party laboratories” and the product page for l-Theanine says it is “carefully manufactured and tested to verify their potency and purity.”
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
Focus Supplements says: "Every batch is tested for heavy metals and microbiological organisms. In the name of total transparency, we provide certificates of analysis for every supplement. Drop us a message at support@focussupplements.co.uk to request one."
Displayed points and weights are rounded; the total uses unrounded weights. Pending dimensions are excluded. Provisional scores may change after review.
Formulation
Not disclosedCapsule
Daily dose
Amount not stated
Testing evidence
Evidence status
Testing claimed
Manufacturer statement
WeightWorld’s product page says the capsules are part of its 'Third-Party Tested' range and that 'we send our supplements to accredited third-party laboratories to verify purity and quality without any internal bias.' However, I did not find an independently verifiable lab report or certification for this specific L-Theanine product.
One-time purchase prices; delivery and conditional discounts excluded. Daily cost uses the recorded label serving. Comparison amounts are not personal dose recommendations. Unknown Prime eligibility is not treated as confirmed.
L-theanine forms and labels explained
L-theanine products differ mainly by dose, whether the ingredient is isolated or tea-derived, and whether caffeine or other actives are present. Compare the measured L-theanine first.
L-theanine alone
Single-active formulation
Compare
L-theanine mg
Caffeine
None declared
Best match for trials designed to test L-theanine without stimulant co-actives.
L-theanine from tea extract
Tea-derived source
Main dose
Actual L-theanine
Keep separate
Tea-extract weight
A large tea-extract or leaf-equivalent number does not replace the quantified L-theanine amount.
L-theanine plus caffeine
Combination formulation
Record
Both active doses
Evidence
Combination-specific
Acute attention evidence should not be transferred to caffeine-free L-theanine products.
Named L-theanine ingredient
Trademarked raw material
Usefulness
Study traceability
Not automatic
Higher quality
A branded ingredient may match a trial, but the finished product still needs its own quality evidence.
Multi-ingredient blend
Sleep, calm or nootropic blend
Compare
Every active separately
Avoid
Blend-mass dosing
Do not attribute effects of magnesium, herbs, caffeine or vitamins to L-theanine.
L-theanine dose: study amounts, not a universal target
No NHS/FSA L-theanine RNI, NRV or formal upper limit was identified in the official UK sources checked. The FSA's general advice is to follow the product's labelled directions and not exceed them. [1]
Research amounts vary by outcome and design. Standalone studies have used 200 mg/day for four weeks and 200 mg/day of a named ingredient for 28 days, while acute cognition studies have used 250 mg alone. [3][4][6] A 2025 sleep review included standalone doses from 50 to 900 mg/day and described 200–450 mg/day as promising in adults, but this is a research synthesis rather than a UK recommendation. [8]
What the L-theanine evidence shows
Evidence is clearest when L-theanine alone and caffeine combinations are kept separate. Short standalone trials suggest possible improvements in stress-related symptoms, selected sleep outcomes and some attention measures, but samples are small and durations are short. [3][4][10]
For acute attention, several studies show benefits from L-theanine plus caffeine. A 44-person study using 97 mg L-theanine with 40 mg caffeine improved selected task-switching and alertness outcomes. [5] That result should not be presented as proof that caffeine-free L-theanine has the same effect.
L-theanine evidence by goal
Evidence by goal
Goal
Evidence strength
What was assessed
Typical study context
Main limitation
Stress-related symptoms
Promising but limited
Standalone L-theanine
Small adult trials around 200 mg/day for 4 weeks.
Short duration, modest samples and multiple outcomes.
Sleep
Promising, not definitive
Standalone L-theanine across 13 trials
Systematic review: 550 participants; 50–900 mg/day across studies.
Heterogeneous designs, two open-label studies and limited clinical-insomnia evidence.
Acute focus/attention
Better supported for caffeine combination than L-theanine alone
L-theanine + caffeine
One trial used 97 mg L-theanine + 40 mg caffeine in 44 young adults.
Combination effect cannot be assigned to L-theanine alone.
Attention/working memory without caffeine
Limited
Standalone L-theanine
Small controlled studies report selected attention/working-memory effects.
Population/test-specific, small studies and not a broad nootropic effect.
Read the full evidence-by-goal detail
Stress and calm
Standalone 200 mg/day studies report improvements in selected stress-related outcomes over roughly four weeks, but evidence is not large or long-term. [3][4]
Sleep
A 2025 systematic review identified 13 standalone L-theanine sleep trials involving 550 participants. Results were promising across several objective and self-reported measures, but more high-quality trials are needed, particularly in clinical insomnia. [8]
Focus and attention
Some attention evidence involves L-theanine alone, but much of the acute cognitive literature uses caffeine combinations. [5][6][7] These formulations should be compared separately.
When to take L-theanine
No universal morning or evening timing rule is established. Acute attention studies dose L-theanine before cognitive testing, while sleep studies use different schedules. Follow the product label unless a healthcare professional advises otherwise. [8]
If a product contains caffeine, its caffeine amount and timing matter independently from L-theanine.
L-theanine safety and interaction context
Who should be cautious?If any of the following apply to you, speak to a healthcare professional before taking L-Theanine - see the full detail below for why.
Pregnant or breastfeeding people
People taking regular prescription medicines
People with medical conditions where sedative, stimulant or blood-pressure effects could matter
People using caffeine-containing L-theanine combinations who are sensitive to caffeine
Short adult trials generally report good tolerability, but longer-term evidence is limited. [4][8][9] No formal UK L-theanine upper limit was identified.
The FSA advises people who are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking regular medicines or living with medical conditions to discuss supplements with a healthcare professional. [1] No authoritative universal drug-separation interval for L-theanine was identified.
L-theanine with caffeine and other ingredients
L-theanine is often paired with caffeine, green-tea extract, vitamin B6, magnesium or calming herbs. Record each active separately. Evidence from an L-theanine + caffeine trial cannot be used as if it tested L-theanine alone. [5][7]
The current GB claims register also means concentration/attention marketing should not be treated as an authorised L-theanine health claim merely because a study exists. [2]
Who might consider L-theanine
Adults interested in stress, sleep or attention can use this comparison to see which products match the formulations actually studied, but the evidence remains modest and short-term. [3][8] People seeking treatment for anxiety disorders, insomnia or another diagnosed condition should not use a retail comparison as a substitute for care.
How to compare L-theanine testing evidence
Useful testing evidence confirms L-theanine identity and potency in the finished product, not merely the weight of a tea extract or blend. Caffeine should also be measured or clearly disclosed where it is part of the formulation or where a caffeine-free claim matters.
Named raw materials can improve traceability to a study, but a trademark is not itself independent testing or proof of superiority. The Supplement Compare testing guide explains how testing claims, COAs and stronger independent evidence are separated. Read the guide
Testing evidence in this comparison
A testing claim is not the same as a verified report. No public evidence located does not mean a product has not been tested.
Testing review pending0
Recognised certification0
Verified independent evidence3
Manufacturer COA0
Testing claimed18
No public evidence located4
What does l-theanine cost?
Current UK comparison set, based on the daily serving shown on each label.
£0.03Lowest daily cost
£0.11Median daily cost
£0.86Highest daily cost
Your questions, answered
What is a typical L-theanine dose?
There is no official UK recommended L-theanine dose. Human studies commonly test 200 mg or other study-specific amounts, and a recent sleep review included 50–900 mg/day. [3][8] Those are research exposures, not a universal recommendation.
Is L-theanine better with caffeine?
For acute attention, several studies found benefits from the combination. One used 97 mg L-theanine with 40 mg caffeine. [5] That does not mean everyone should add caffeine, and combination evidence should not be credited to caffeine-free products.
Does L-theanine help sleep?
A 2025 systematic review found promising results across 13 standalone L-theanine trials, but the authors also called for more high-quality objective studies and research in clinical insomnia. [8]
Is 400 mg L-theanine too much?
No formal UK upper limit was identified. Some commercial products supply 400 mg per serving and short-term research has used doses in this range, but that is not the same as proving 400 mg is appropriate or safe for everyone. [12][9]
Is tea extract the same as L-theanine?
No. A tea extract can contain L-theanine plus other tea compounds. Use the amount specifically declared as L-theanine. One current UK product separately lists 200 mg L-theanine and green-tea-derived components. [11]